We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It came down to the Creme Brulee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Duo.D

Bistro Duo.D
1380 Rue Notre-Dame O, Montreal, Quebec H3C 1K8, Canada
514-657-7144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 4,561 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Authentique bistro de quartier. Ambiance conviviale. Des produits vrais et fais maison. Votre meilleur ami epicurien et sa femme vous recoivent chez eux pour une bonne bouffe.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“It came down to the Creme Brulee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Expectations were high, given the reviews on TA. The escargots were excellent. The mains of confit de canard and steak frites were good but nothing to really rave about. Limited wine list. However, we both ordered Creme Brulee for desert and that was very disappointing. It was uneven in the caramalization on top and starting to soften, runny - almost liquid in middle and temperature was very uneven. Warm at top and very cold in some spots. Maybe just a bad batch.

Overall just average in quality and value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    40
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Laytonsville, Maryland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An absolutely wonderful evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary by having dinner at this wonderful neighborhood bistro in Montreal. Catherine, one of the owners, emailed me directly confirming our reservation. We arrived a bit early for our reservation so we got to speak with the owners one on one. They both, as it turns out, do EVERYTHING themselves including washing the dishes. The menu was all in French but Catherine was eager to translate each item and make recommendations. We chose the escargot and the home made foie gras - both we're amazing. Then we selected the duck and the filet of veal, also great choices. We were impressed with how they were able to give each table personal attention while at the same time, managing all of the duties of a restaurant. We absolutely loved our dinner and the whole experience - we would definitely recommend venturing out to this lovely bistro while in Montreal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic neighborhood restaurant that we stumbled upon one night during our trip in Montreal. We didn't have reservations but were kindly given seats anyway. Do make reservations and try out the menu... It's worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“OMG SQUARED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the kind of restaurant that we want to keep a secret. It has it all - charm, ambiance,friendly staff and most importantly fantastic food at reasonable prices. Do not miss it if you are in Montreal! Kasta and Jed

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kfar Shmaryahu, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

very nice food, excellent, attentive service. a very pleasant and tasty neighborhood bistro. highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Duo.D also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Duo.D? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Duo.D, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.