We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Save Saved
You added Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cute Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Spent two nights and it was a wonderful location. I walked to the hotel from the train station. Lots of neat things around the property. Staff was fairly accommodating. Rooms were clean. I had a nice fireplace that encouraged me to relax after a long business day. Big cozy couch in the lobby was too good to be true. Shopping near by was good also. A little on the pricey side but enjoyable just the same. I was there on a Sunday, Monday and there was little or no lines for the elevators or front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    142
    37
    21
    11
See reviews for
53
252
16
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We loved this hotel. The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable, we stayed here for 3 nights. Tried to book on our return trip to Montreal but it was booked out unfortunately. The foyer has a beautiful fireplace where you can relax in a comfortable lounge. Cafe breakfast was amazing - a la carte and more than you could ever eat. Would definitely recommend this hotel and the rates were very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I spent two nights here in october, it is in a great location near lots of different restaurants, pubs and bakeries. lots and lots of shopping, in he underground city if you are a hockey fan the Arena is with in walking distance. there are a couple of different metro stops and the grayline tour office is right on peel two blocks away. this could not be better situated. two down points of the hotel is the restaurant is very high end food so don't take your kids and the parking sucks, especially if you want to check out and leave your car for a couple of hours for some last minute shopping or a late breakfast. they will charge you 17$ for late check out of your car. the is on top of the 29$ per day that they charge per day. but other thank that its a very good boutique hotel.

Room Tip: if you aren't' going to need your car park on peel the rates are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Small hotel trying to be big, cannot cope with guest arriving in bulk, had to carry own hand luggage up the stairs as a very long queue for the lifts. Breakfast, well what a shamble, we stayed at this hotel after a cruise, so part of a package, so we were given a special menu, if we chose two eggs for example we were not entitled to cereal or juice unless we paid extra and they cannot make a cup of tea. The staff were run off their feet and were not happy , when I asked for tea bags I was told , only two allowed per day per room, a fellow guest found they bathroom loo had been left in a dreadful state and had not been cleaned on their arrival and the staff have up to seven in the evening to clean rooms , not good

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Responsable commercial at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us at Le St-Martin Montreal, and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
We are terribly sorry to read that, overall, you were dissapointed with your stay amongst us.

If we are indeed a boutique style hotel of limited size, we also remember your group arrival and agree that there were may things we (and the third party partner thant handled your group) could have done differently to better please you, our common client.

There was a miscommunication at the moment of the group check-in that resulted a bit of a chaoctic arrival experience and, for this we deeply apologize.
To briefly go in details, we hadplanned for your whole group to arrive in smaller buses that would allow us to manage bags and room allocation better, but, due to a change of plas by the third party in question you all arrived at the same time.

You are correct in stating we have a small lobby, and only two elevators so we sadly could not cope with over 100 guests arriving at the same time and manage the luggages as efficiently as we would have hoped. Once again, our apologies for not meeting your expectations.
Rest assured we have learned alot from this experience and will ensure such a situation does not happen again.

Regarding the breakfast, I sympathise and understand your frustration. That being said, due to size of your group (over 100 guests) our restaurant had to offer fixed menus (the Full American Breakfast offered) and that same menu was requested by the third party.

In respect to the dirty bathroom, we had pre-registered the group and given the keys to the tour leader along with a list of rooms that were ready right away and some that were not fully inspected yet. Sadly the tour leader immediately distributed the room keys to all the guests and, as everyone whent to their room, its possible a few of them were not fully cleaned.
From a guest standpoint, its certainly unacceptable and I also offer my apologies for this.

We, at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier, specialize in offering unique and personalized guest experiencce thus I agree we might not have been a perfect fit for your large group.

Once again, I thank you for staying with us and apogize of behalf of our entire staff if you were dissapointed with the experience.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, New Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This hotel is very nice and centrally located.

When i checked in around 8:00 pm, the fist key they gave me opened the door to a room which already had suitcases on the beds. So I went back down to the check-in area and they blamed the mix-up on a new employee. They then gave me a key to another room and assured me that it was vacant. However when I opened the door, a woman who was brushing her teeth in the bathroom screamed at me. After apologizing for the intrusion, down I go again to the check-in area.

When they saw me coming back with my luggage, they could tell that I was not impressed. I told (not asked) them that they were now going to upgrade me to their best room, which they immediately agreed to without argument.

I have to say that this room was wonderful and very quiet. It's a shame I was only there for one night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longueuil, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in October/13. We left our luggage at the front desk as we were early and our room was not yet ready. It was tagged by front dest staff and we were told someone would come and store it until our return. After 10 minutes, it was still right there in the lobby and we wouldn't leave it there. I was again told someone would come store it. It would be foolish to walk away and leave the bags there so I insisted that she at least put them behind the front desk, which she did with an air like I was bothering her. Obviously no one came to pick them up as they were still right where she put them behind the front when we returned hours later.

We had to call the front desk a few times for missing room provisions and also to report that the TV in the bathroom was not working. It might have been just a dead battery in the remote. We called twice and no one responded to the repair call.

At breakfast, we found the food delightful. One drawback was a waitresses had her pens clipped and hanging out of the armpit of her sleeveless dress. Even though we always use our own pens when signing in public, we found this quite distasteful to see in a restaurant.

The hotel location is wonderful for downtown and the metro is right next door. The "verriere" room was fine, the windows are great but the curtains do not close over the blinds to darken the room for sleep from outside light fixtures and morning sun.

Valet parking staff was professional and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mostafa B, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Witheachother,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced in respect to your arrival to the hotel

We at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your or our own expectations. As a testament to strive for perfection, we have taken steps to ensure that there will be no recurrence.

I assure you that we are on the right track and continue to learn about our guests needs.
We are absolutely dedicated in assuring that all our staff be trained with the philosophy of personalized service.

Once again, please accept our apologies for this, and I hope you will understand our predicament and will return to Le St-Martin. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance,

Best Regards,

El Mostafa Boudraa
Directeur d`hébergement – Room Division Manager

elmostafa.boudraa@lestmartin.com
Téléphone – Phone 514 843 3000 ex. 3403
Télécopieur – Fax 514 843 3099
Sans frais – Toll free 877 843 3003
Le St-Martin Hôtel Particulier Centre-ville, 980, boul. de Maisonneuve Ouest, Montréal, Québec H3A 1M5
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We were passing through Montreal and stayed here for just one night, could have stayed far longer. The staff is among the most helpful staff we have encountered in our travels, the hotels is a recently renovated little gem, and you are right in the center of Montreal.

The only slight negative was the parking situation, valet only, so no access to your car during your stay, unless you have it pulled out for you. We chose to park at a nearby garage, problem solved.

For business or pleasure in Montreal, I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.