We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but left me disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal to your Saves list
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel but left me disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I selected this hotel because some rooms offered a panoramic view and I thought that would be lovely. However, being on the sixth floor didn't exactly give me the city views I had hoped for. Mostly I could see into the offices in the building across the street. Also, at night, the blinds did not prevent the city lights from seeping in so the room was never particularly dark. We were also surprised to find only two pillows on the bed (aside from the decorative ones). On the plus side, the Metro was across the street so that made it easy to get around; the hotel and room were nicely decorated; the bed was comfortable; and the bathroom was large with both a shower and a separate soaking tub. Also, there were two complimentary bottles of water in the bathroom (not to be confused with the water in the mini-fridge, which will cost you.) On the minus side, housekeeping did not clean our room even though we were gone between noon and almost 5 p.m. and had left the "please clean our room" sign on the door. I have had better service in less expensive hotels. And the pool was incredibly small. So, in short, there are many nice things about this hotel, but the next time I want to splurge on a hotel, I think I will find a different hotel and give that hotel a chance to wow me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    193
    46
    25
    15
See reviews for
78
335
19
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference at the Montreal Convention Center. There were lot of events going on that particular weekend and the hotel was very busy and would not let us check in early. Our room was nice and clean but on the smaller side. We had an electric fireplace which was an added bonus. There were some issues with getting the coffee pods and bottled water, but that was mostly taken care of by the end of the day. Overall the stay was nice and a metro stop just opposite made it easier for us to travel. The neighborhood is very safe and vibrant. Would have liked it more if it was not such a busy weekend.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the higher floors to avoid noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbells Bay
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Over all this hotel is a 10. We as arrived early so room was not ready they gave us an upgrade instead of making us wait, so very nice. Clean hotel, friendly staff only one complaint. We were only allowed 1 coffee each in our room, I thought with the price of this hotel I could get at least 2 more but when I called down they said one per day........I found that odd any other place we have stayed always gave us extra if we asked. Other than that I will stay there again and just bring some extra pods.

Room Tip: Bring coffee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through a third party site so got a good deal on the room. We upgraded to the deluxe for a minimal amount more per night. Possibly the nicest room I've ever stayed in! We stayed two nights. The room was clean and just beautiful. They come around to all rooms late afternoon with free drinks (non alcoholic) and snacks. That bag of almonds came in handy while climbing Mt Royal. Lots of eateries in easy walk as was Metro, shopping on St. Catherines and McGill. f you are looking for a couples getaway to Montreal, stay here. It was wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is a modern boutique hotel located in the center of the city. About 10 minute walk from the old city. The room was spectacular with a wrap around window, king sized bed, beautiful bathroom with a huge soaking tub. The front desk was always friendly and helpful. They have a small pool which is beautiful, outside on a terrace. The bed was comfortable, sheets nice quality.
The only negative I could say was the towels were rough. Felt like they don't use softeners, so they felt rough on the skin.
Otherwise, would totally recommend it.

Room Tip: we stayed in 404 which has a nice big wrap around window. so would think 504, 604, etc will be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This hotel is amazing. The location is ideal. Right in the heart of all activities. St.Catherines, Le metro, restaurants.. c'était super!. Initially, my partner was a bit skeptical about the hotel but when we checked in,,,, everything was amazing. The room is wonderful. The room is huge and very spacious. I believe we had an Executive King. The room had a Huge Bath tub and a shower as well. His and Her sinks, Well laid out decor, mirrors, coffee. Very convenient.
The only advisory: MINIBAR-Don't take anything from the minibar. The prices are quite high. Also, out in the open is chocolate, red wine etc which looks complimentary but it really is not. :(
The prices are a bit too high really.
The hotel also has lovely tasty pears available everyday laid out around the hotel.
Everyone speaks French and English so no worries if you do not speak french.
My partner speaks English. I taught him some french words as we went along but he was very comfortable all along.
Overall. Lovely hotel. We will stay there again next time we visit Montréal. :)

Room Tip: High Floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This modern boutique hotel is really beautiful and in a great location in downtown Montreal. I stayed here with friends for two nights at the end of July. Upon arrival, the staff was very helpful. They helped hook us up to the Wifi because our room wasn't ready (we were early), and they gave us directions to the local attractions we wanted to see. We had free valet parking through AAA as well.

Our room was so nice and it fit four of us comfortably. The bathroom was huge and had very nice toiletries. There were two shower heads and two sinks. Our room was cleaned nicely too. We tipped the maid, as we typically do in American hotels, and she left a note to thank us but told us the tip was already included in the price of the hotel. I appreciated her honesty.

We asked concierge if he knew of a place to get ice cream late at night, but he couldn't think of anywhere. We thanked him and began to walk around and look for somewhere to go. After walking about 2 blocks from the hotel, the concierge came running to catch up with us so he could tell us a recommendation that he thought of. He totally went out of his way to help us.

If you're looking for a wonderful place to stay with an excellent staff and in a great location, you should definitely stay here. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.