We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time at Le St-Martin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal to your Saves list
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“First Time at Le St-Martin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at Le St-Martin. The room was lovely, albeit somewhat small. I'd like to stay again in the winter to enjoy the in-room fireplace. There are many pluses to this hotel including the free wi-fi, complimentary snacks, (small) pool and deck, comfortable beds, a great restaurant and reasonable rates.

As others have noted, I wasn't impressed with the front desk staff. I did find them to be frosty and thus my rating of four stars instead of five. One actually argued with me when I asked if we could get a bath mat to lay on the floor outside of the shower. I told her that the woman who cleaned our room took ours and didn't replace it. The lady insisted that the hotel did not have bath mats. I asked what patrons used when leaving the shower so they don't slip and her reply was to lay towels on the floor.

The staff at the restaurant, valet and house cleaning staff were all pleasant. The front desk staff could use some lessons in customer service from the staff at Loew's Le Vogue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Le St-Martin Montreal and sgaring your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted to read that, overall, you greatly enjoyed your stay amongst us. From the quality of our rooms to our complimentary snacks its seems you indeed took full advantage of what Le St-Martin has to offer!

That being said, I am saddened that the service you received from our Front Desk staff was not up to par to the rest of the experiences. Being a small luxury hotel we typically pride ourselves on a high-end personalized service and, by your comments, it would appear we did not deliver this to you.
Rest assured we wil re-visit procedures and staff training to ensure these situation do not happen again.

Thanks again for choosing Le St-Martin, and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    204
    47
    26
    16
See reviews for
82
352
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ont
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This lovely boutique hotel was just perfect for our girls getaway. This small hotel is beautifully decorated and a great location in downtown Montreal. A 10 minute walk to the Bell Center and less than that to find some great shopping and delictable eats.
The rooms are normal in size, tastefully decorated, with a small mini bar with free coffee and bottled water. The beds were extremely comfortable and a good night's sleep was had by all.
Having someone deliver pop, water, fruit and snacks thru the day was appreciated. No need to go to the lobby for coffee or tea!
The Hotel staff were always very pleasant, informative and willing to help.
Valet parking is expensive, but worth well worth the headaches of trying to locate a parking garage close by and haul luggage back to the hotel.
We were will taken care of and would definately be back!
PS the concert was fantastic - would go to see Bruno anyday!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is very nice: the decor is nice location in the central part of Montreal.
However, The Front desk staff need to learn how to make their guests feel welcome.. they were not pleasant .I agree with the other guest who said- It simply felt like we were "read our rights" when it comes to "terms and conditions" of staying at their hotel. Also, whats with the Credit card $150 HOLD per day!!! I stayed in Montreal several times and I was never asked for this.
Also the elevators are slow and you have to use the room key to activate them! WTH! I wouldnt complain but the scanner is very picky .. you would have to scan multiple times before it works .. not just me this was happing to anyone was in the elevator.
also $29+tax per day to park? wow .. parking on the street was free 6pm to 9am.. but we choose to park indoors couple blocks (blue sign parking) $21(tax in) for 24h next day much better deal.
anyways I wouldnt stay at this hotel unless I have no other choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le St-Martin Montreal and sharig your experience with the TripAdvisor community.

On behalf of everyone at our establishment, we would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay. We try to make every guest stay memorable and clearly we were not able to deliver this time around.

Regarding the pre-authorization (hold on your credit card) upon arrival at the hotel it truly is a regular industry standard from hotels to cover for any additional incidentals charges guests might have (mini-bar, restaurant, movies etc...), though during my career I've noticed most hotels do not show you the pre-authorization slip and we do. That might be why it surprised you so.

Pertaining to the elevator system, if I understand having to swipe the key to access your floor might prove a inconvenience for you please keep in mind we do this for the security of all our guests. More often than not we get rave reviews on the system by most of travelers that say it offers them a piece of mind knowing there floor is only accessible to those that have a room on it.

Thanks again for choosing Le St-Martin, and hopefuly we get the chance to host you again and change your perception of the experiences we offer.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Great location with lovely updated rooms. Staff was helpful. Small rooftop pool area with waterfall. Turndown service with free snacks was a hit with the kids. Outdoor restaurant was perfect for people watching and a cocktail. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is elegant and classy without being stuffy. We stayed in the Grand Lux room, which had a large bathroom with an oversized soaking tub and glassed-in shower. The bed was comfortable and came with the usual assortment several extra-large pillows. Furnishings were modern but homey, and the room overall was sophisticated and welcoming.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the bathroom is separated from the sleeping area by sliding louvered doors. You can close the louvers so you can't see through them, but they are not exactly soundproof. It's a nice touch design-wise and we had no issue with it, but logistically it's probably not for everyone.

We used the pool several times and loved it. It's just big enough to swim in a was always warm. Not much of a view, but the deck has plenty of loungers, tables, plantings, and a waterfall. Again, a very elegant and sophisticated space, but not stuffy (or "too cool," for that matter).

Staff was helpful and appreciative of my limited, bumbling French. The valets in particular were very welcoming. There's free coffee (from a machine) in the lobby. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked trendy and was generally busy.

The location is good--we walked to the waterfront in about 20 minutes, and taxi rides to Vieux Montreal and the St. Denis area were each about $11. St. Catherine's is two blocks away.

Overall we would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: Just from looking at the website, I'd say the Grand Lux room is a good value. The bathroom is ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Recently stayed at Le St. Martin on my bachelor weekend and couldn't be happier with the accommodations. The few hours spent sleeping were well received in the plush queen size beds. The roof top pool was small but heated and the perfect way to unwind with a few beers upon our arrival.
The hotel is located in the heart of all the action and the concierge gave us some great suggestions for food and nightlife. I would definitely return with my future wife for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Loved the location of this hotel in downtown Montreal. It was a 20 min walk to Mount Royale, 2 min to shopping at the underground mall/Simons/St Catherine St, 10 min walk to Francolies Music Festival and right next to a metro stop. All our cab fares to anywhere we wanted to go was $15 CAD and less. The rooms were spacious and clean. Will definitely come back again if I am visiting Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.