We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Save Saved
You added Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 164 hotels in Montreal
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed at the Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal with my partner over the weekend, and I must say it was a dynamic experience. The hotel itself is gorgeous. It is located in the heart of downtown near various restaurants and great stores. The receptionist was very warm, welcoming and helpful. I had originally booked the Classic King but when we arrived at the hotel, we decided to upgrade to the Verriere Suite. We were upgraded for a minimal fee and I don't regret it! The room was very nice and clean. It had a fireplace and the bathroom contained a hot tub and a stand up shower. My guy and I slept comfortably in the king size bed in the room and we had a wonderful view as well. I have no complaints about this hotel and they will definitely see me again when I visit Montreal. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to someone else! :-)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    315
    160
    38
    23
    12
See reviews for
60
285
17
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the St-Martin Hotel in November. It was a great central location to enjoy the sights and experiences of Montreal. It is located within reasonable walking distance to old Montreal, the Rue St-Denis, Rue St-Catherine and Mount Royal Parc. In fact, if I had realized how close to Mount Royal Parc we were located I would have brought my outdoor running gear instead of using the small, but well equipped gym at the hotel. We didn't try the outdoor pool as it was a little nippy outside, but it looked inviting. The service was prompt and friendly delivered in English or French. The room was very comfortable with microwave and coffee machine. During the evening hotel staff came by to make sure we had enough complimentary bottled water, coffee and usually offered us a snack from the cart. The beds were extremely comfortable and the black out curtains allowed for a comfortable sleep in if wanted. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val d'Or, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This nice hotel is well located downtown Montreal. The service is fast, and very good. Tou can leave your car at the entrance, and they're preatty fast to get it when you nedd it back. The romms are very comfortable and you must need the key to acces the elevetor to go to your room. The restaurant beside it is OK, the breakfast aren't expensive.

It's a very good hotel...but I prefer Le Germain wich is at walking distance of that one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor .
I am very happy to read you enjoyed your time, and found that Le St-Martin meet your expectations both in terms of rooms and service.

I also understand you still prefer Le Germain, which is certainly a beautiful option.
That being said, I certainly believe we have more to offer since we are the brand new property, with a more central location and offer a more hip/modern guest experience!
Did you have the chance to take a look at our outdoor heated pool? Its a unique feature in the city!

Hopefuly we get the chance to host you again in the future, and have become a loyal guest of Le St-Martin Hotels!

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent 5 nights at Le St-Martin and it was the perfect central location for business and leisure alike. The hotel is close to all shopping and terrific dining options. My room was comfortable: large work desk, quiet, charming décor, amazing shower (glass between the shower and the bedroom). However the lighting in the bathroom was not that great. I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful -especially the valet staff they were SO fantastic! I wouldn’t recommend the restaurant at the hotel; I had breakfast and lunch there and both times I had horribly rude and slow service and it is incredibly overpriced, especially for the plethora of amazing restaurants surrounding the hotel. All in all a lovely hotel and I would stay again on my next trip to Montreal!

Room Tip: Stay away from the restaurant at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Absolutely an amazing Hotel, excellent quality, service and decor. Great location, the nicest pool outdoor-very clean and amazing staff.
The Bistro Restaurant was the Worst experience, the food was not great.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after our return from Quebec city. The only good thing that this hotel had was great location. The service was awful. There was an Indian Manager at the front desk when we first came in and he did not have the manners and courtesy of even greeting us. We feel he should take some courses in hospitality. The bell boy was very good and gave us great tips about good restaurants around the area. The beds were comfortable. The shower was awful as it did not have any place to put the soap or shampoo and we had to put in on the floor and worse of all the water would pool in the shower less than a minute. We called the front desk and told them of the situation and they said they will look into this but all they did was come and clean the area and the next day it pooled again. We stayed for only 2 nights but I don't think we will choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community.
As you might imagine, I am saddened to hear your stay was not to the standards you had expected from Le St-Martin.
If I am happy to read you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of the city, I want to make a moment to apologize if you received subpar service during your time amongst us.
We typically ensure all our guests have a great individualized experience, and it seems we dropped the ball that time.
Rest assured we will revisit training & procedures with our staff and make certain such situations do not happen again.

We also apologize about the small shower issue, and greatly appreciate you bringing it to our attention. We actually identified the maintenance problem and fixed it soon after your departure.

Please do not hesitate to contact me privately should you want to discuss this further.

Frederic Aouad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just stayed here for the weekend for a special occasion and it was perfect! I contacted them ahead to request a room with a view and an upgrade if possible and they did both! Great service. We loved the location, very central. Great restaurants close by. Their outdoor lap pool with jets was amazing. Not very big but intimate and because we were the only people in it, it was perfect. Oh, the heated floors surrounding the pool was a nice touch.
Our room on the 15th floor was the King Foyer with Fireplace and was tastefully decorated, very clean and we especially loved the bathroom and fireplace. The whole hotel has a great vibe and decor. We went to the restaurant for a drink and then again for dessert. It was excellent as well.

We will go back to this hotel for sure next time and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.