We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little find.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toroli

Toroli
421 Marie-Anne Est, Montreal, Quebec H2J 1Z9, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
514 289-9292
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 5,064 Restaurants in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $65
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Charlotte, Vermont
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful little find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very small restaurant highly rated by Trip Advisor, for good reason. Food was amazing and tasty. Service superb. The cod appetizer was flaky and delicious as was the salmon entree. My husband got the special appetizer that was lick-the-plate terrific, and the duck, which he loved. The dessert was weird; the dumplings. Not my cup of tea. But everything else easily made up for it!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank abbyvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything fusion should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Do not let the appearance fool you. This tiny two person operation is all about the food. Chef Sakurai has created a blend of French and Japanese cuisine that captures what fusion should be. Both the French and Japanese based dishes were prepared to a standard that one would expect in a top shelf restaurant with the use of ingedients from the other cuisine that add to the original. Service was great and the food was fabulous. Wine selection was small but adequate. The place is very small, so make a reservation. Our favourites were the duck with fois gras and the lamb. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The food is not only innovative and sublimely delicious but every plate is a little work of art. My wife and I both composed a three-course meal from different dishes. A bottle of chilled sake complemented and enhanced this flawless culinary experience. And the delightful hostess kept us company and provided the most excellent service.
Rating: not a tenth of a point less than 5.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SweXpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We love to travel and discover good restaurants in different cities around the world.
Toroli is one of the best experiences we have had so far.
Japanese/french fusion cuisine.
We had a 5 course menu for around $50 each person.
The entrees and main plats were very creative and delicious.
Prices were ok, but Wine carte overpriced (around 50 a bottle).
We strongly recommend this restaurant...One of the best in Montreal!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Viajeromundial007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vraiment super!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It's like the chef's receiving us in his kitchen/dining room. Had the tasting menu...great food, great time, the chef knew what he was doing. I was kinda shocked by the atypical look of the restaurant but we truly had a great time. Every plate left the table empty. A true gem!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 514Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toroli also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Toroli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing