We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed not to get inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Olympic Stadium

Olympic Stadium
4545 Pierre-de-Coubertin Ave., Montreal, Quebec H1V 3N7, Canada (Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa))
+1 514-252-4141
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Olympic Stadium like an insider
Top Rated
$19*
and up
Montreal Tower Observatory Admission plus...
Ranked #8 of 39 Fun & Games in Montreal
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The brainchild of French architect Roger Taillibert, this impressive concrete sculpture houses state-of-the-art facilities that delight promoters of the trade shows, sports events, exhibitions and other special events held within its walls. Join our guides for a tour of this grand complex, and uncover its secrets an its history.
Oswego, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointed not to get inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

I returned to the Olympic stadium for the first time in 38 years. I was here for the 1976 Olympics and spent a significant amount of time in the stadium. However, I wasn't able to go inside and relive any past memories. There was a lot of remodeling going on now as the facility is showing its age. There is now a cover to the stadium that wasn't there in 1976 and an elevator going up to the observation room at the top. I believe they provide tours at a cost, but couldn't see where they were located. Guess I will have to come back for a football game to see the interior again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    46
    42
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CARTWRIGHT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great building too bad it isn't open”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

this is an amazing looking building but i rate it 3 stars because we were unable to tour the interior of the building. I would have loved a look at the ball field but unforunately that isn't possible.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Lousy Stadium But a Sight to Behold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We came here for the two exhibition baseball games, and wow, we were shocked that the Expos lasted that long with a park like this. Limited concessions, bad views, few escalators, inadequate toilet facilities, useless space and vertigo-inducing architecture made our days at the ballpark a labor of love. Some of our party found the seats impossibly uncomfortable, but they were OK for me. The Metro does have a stop (Pie-IX) attached to the stadium, so at least it's convenient to get to via public transportation.

Architecturally, for better or for worse, it's an interesting piece. Sure, it's concrete on top of concrete and the roof is cheaply filled in, but the tower and the stadium as it was originally envisioned was a striking concept. Yet, I had a hard time seeing how it was a viable baseball stadium at any juncture of its history.

They do tours of the stadium (I took one four years ago) and if you're a diehard baseball fan, it's not the worst way to spend an hour. However, unless you're going to a baseball game, the Biodome or the planetarium, it's not worth a stop on its own merits.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Marvel of architecture?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Though one would assume that it's structure is outdated back to the 70s, it remains a landmark in Montreal. Couple the visit with a visit to the Biodome and the stadium tower and you can make a day of it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Falling piece of concrete”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

this building is very impressive far off, but upclose it looks like garbage. It's falling apart and the grounds looks so depressing. There are weeds growing everywhere and the building it not well maintained at all. I didn't feel like I was in a terrible neighborhood, but it certainly wasn't the best. I'd say skip this part all together and go straight to the botanical gardens.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olympic Stadium also viewed

 

Been to Olympic Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olympic Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.