We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winning Architecture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde

Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde
1085 de la Cathedrale | (René-Lévesque W. and Mansfield), Montreal, Quebec H3B 2V3, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))
514 866 1661
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 479 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Catholic church dedicated to Mary, Queen of the World, was modeled after Rome's St. Peter's Church.
Santa Ynez, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Winning Architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I enjoyed visiting the St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome and I am a fan of Baroque architecture. The columns, the thirteen surmounting statues, the large dome, the interior design which leads to the centre and is surmounted by a dome, the decoration of its vault, the baroque canopy and lateral chapels, stained glass ornate detail all added to my enjoyment.
Night view is gorgeous.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    111
    32
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent church”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The church was located a few steps from our hotel. I attended a service there and stayed afterwards to see the beautiful surrondings. What a beautiful church!!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
136 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Impressive cathedral...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Like I found lately, the Cathedral Marie-Reine-du-Monde is the third largest church in Quebec after St. Joseph's Oratory and the Basilica of Sainte-Anne-de-Beaupré east of Quebec City. I was lucky to see the other two so I made my own image about it. Beautiful sculptures. I listened beautiful organ music. A great and peaceful place for recollection and prayers.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you like catholic monuments, this one is a must see, especially the ceiling art and chapels. The gift shop has good options for souvenirs.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The OC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Quiet alternative to Notre Dame”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Sit and contemplate. This is a nice stop, and nearby is cenotaph, the hotel where John and Yoko did the bed in for peace, etc.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde also viewed

 

Been to Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cathedral of Marie-Reine-du-Monde, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.