We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreamy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added M Montreal to your Saves list
M Montreal
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1245 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir des Alpes) (The Village (Gay Village))   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Dreamy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Best location, right off Catherine St. supr close to everything you need in Montreal
If you go in the summer time, 2 bixie bike stops within 5min walking
Greyhound station also 5 minutes away, same with Berri metro station
Amazing staff
Hostel is new, everything super clean, neat, modern interior design
Vey well equipped ktichen
absolutely perfect for a short or long term stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    40
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
23
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Seriously this place is a Dump. Shower was dirty and the noise is terrible. They have a bar in the basement where people drink their life away until 3 AM. Next time I want a similar experience Ill try to sleep under the bar in a night club or maybe a bench in a park. we left after our first night and went to the Westin. Unless you are seriously drunk there is no way can fall asleep in there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I will have to say I was skeptical to bring my Aunt and my Dad to stay here but THEY LOVED IT!! I loved and enjoyed staying there. Will definitely reccomend to friends and hopefully return in the very near future. The facility is clean!!!!!! Love the communal kitchen, the lounge/breakfast area, and the fun events happening downstairs. Really enjoyed the atmosphere, and how good humored/professional the staff was to us. They were very helpful and really knew their stuff about Montreal. My family really appreciated their enthusiasm and patience when helping them find places of interest.


Loved trivia night, stand up comedy night, and the live music. It's a great place to meet new people and enjoy Montreal. It's central to everything, it's like a minute walk to the berri-UQAM metro station and a nice walk to different sites around Montreal (about like a 10 walk to St. Laurent/china town/shopping/much more). The musuems, markets are only a few stops away.

Try and be there around middle of June. There's the Francophollie music festival and all along St Catherine is an art walk. Our rooms were cleaned daily, the showers are incredible. That's one thing I'll take away; the showers were the nicest of all hostels I've been to around the world.

Room Tip: Great place to meet new faces and friends. Will reccomend booking a room on the upper levels if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown ny
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had not stayed at a hostel before, and found M Montreal a great place to stay. The rooms were very clean, the bathrooms modern, and the staff ready to help in any way possible. Excellent location within walking distance to Old Montreal and Waterfront. Near to Metro. lovely breakfast with fresh baked croissants,eggs and access to the kitchen. Large lockers with locks and keys are secure. Very happy with whole experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location in the middle of The Village, right next to Berri UQAM Metro station. Staff is very friendly and ready to help you in any way. Breakfast consists of massive croissants and the rooms were clean. Comedy night and other activities happen in the bar downstairs. I found it easy enough to sleep, but if you're a light sleeper, bring earplugs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Been to a fair few hostels around the world and this would be up there with the best. Stayed in a 6 bed female dorm with ensuite. Was very clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff, good continental breakfast and tasty coffee! didnt get to experience the bar downstairs but from what I had been told it seemed like fun. Really great area as well. I travelled by myself as a young female and felt really safe walking back to the hostel late at night. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: 6 bed female dorm was great with the private ensuite and a fridge as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a very nice hostel and I really enjoyed my stay. Clean, bright, friendly and professional staff, nice common room and tidy kitchen. Breakfast is good, but nothing fancy. Would stay there again. I also met funny and interesting people in the lobby, but probably that's more a matter of luck.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to M Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Montreal

Address: 1245 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir des Alpes)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Expedia so you can book your M Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Alpes Montreal
Manoir Des Alpes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.