We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of M Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added M Montreal to your Saves list
M Montreal
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   1245 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir des Alpes) (The Village (Gay Village))   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice spot, nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Clean room. Safe place. Very friendly and concerned staff. Free WiFi works properly over all. Parking lot behind the hotel. Cool bar at the basement. Breakfast is well for a first bite.

Located near the center of Montreal. Places for shopping and where the nightlife is going are just a few steps away. Also to the harbor it is just a short walk.

Room Tip: Be aware it is a shared hotel/hostel and it can become quite noisy if party people come back at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    40
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
5
23
69
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. The atmosphere was great, the bar and reception was simple but very friendly, the bedrooms were very new/comfortable and the location was great, close to St. Catherine's Street and right near Berri-UQAM train station. I stayed there in July for three nights with a friend and loved it. Met great people from all over staying at the hostel, so we all got together and went out during the night. The bar was also always open for a late night drink, loved that! There was a sister hostel that organized events as the club wasn't complete when I went. Wish the club was complete but its all for next time! Definitely staying here the next time I'm in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

2 students, early-mid 20's, shared a double room, good price, clean, friendly, private, not soundproof, great breakfast buffet, modern decor, were given extra towels without hesitation, had stayed at the hotel next door (St Andre) several times before and never will again after finding this gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spent a week at this place in March 2013. On the bright side, I find it very clean, calm and quiet. It is a great place to land if you want to visit Montreal on a budget. Located on the Saint-Andre one-way street, 5-minute walking distance from the Berri-Uqam subway station, this place looks renovated. The ambiance is very good and the staff is helpful. I pay about $27 for a bed in a 6-bed mixed dorm on a weekday and $36 in a 4-bed dormitory on weekend. I have been told that the weekend bed rates are a bit higher. The reception area is simple but well staffed 24 hours a day. So you always have someone to talk with during the night. The breakfast is good and made of muffins, croissant, chocolate breads, butter, strawberry jams, wafers and maple syrup, coffee and orange juice.
I happened to drop by late in the night, but was pleased to be offered a bed here. The room equipments are new and well maintained with tables, ottoman chair, lamps, small fridge, individual lockers and a flat panel TV set. The bar is ok. No restaurant on site though. You have many good restaurants nearby on the famous Saint-Catherine Street. They even sell beers on tap at the reception without going to the basement bar. The beer named "la fin du monde" meaning (the end of the World) is awesome but expensive at $8 dollars a pint.

On the flip side, It is inconvenient to have to pay a parking fee of about 11 dollars per night if you have a car. Moreover, you have to pay about $3 a day for each piece of luggage you left behind at this hostel. They keep your luggage for free for a couple hours only on the same day you depart.

Eventually, you can rent a car nearby at the Enterprise Rent-a-car company at the Montreal Greyhound bus station, on Berri Street, if you like.

Room Tip: Ask for a mixed 6-bed dormitory to meet more people and chat. On Saint-Catherine street, go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A great hostel! Staff were very welcoming and helpful and a 24 hr reception is great! There is a Club/bar on site which was a little noisy and other residents were a bit noisy in the night but it was not unbearable. Breakfast was yummy!! Croissants, toast, waffles and hrs boiled eggs - only bad bit was no milk for coffee. Rooms a good size (private room) and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friend and I stayed at M Montreal Hostel for 3 nights during a trip to Montreal. We are used to staying in hostels from our past travels in Europe. We weren't sure what to expect from a Canadian hostel as we had never stayed in one. This hostel certainly exceeds expectations.

We stayed in a 6 bed mixed dorm and were lucky enough to only have the room filled with 6 people on our last night (we stayed during the weekdays).

The rooms are cleaned everyday and we were provided with a fresh towel each day as well.

The lockers in the rooms are small so don't expect to lock up your luggage but small bags and purses will fit just fine (provided you bring a lock).

The wifi reception was the best I have experienced at a hostel. Well done!

This hostel has a beautiful bar/lounge downstairs with a pool table and fooseball table. Each night the hostel offered a fun event that encouraged a good time and meeting new people.

Finally, I loved breakfast (which is included)! Eggs, croissants, eggos, muffins, tea, coffee...

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hostel was really nice. More like a hotel than a hostel. The free breakfast was really good, but I didn't find the people staying there particularly friendly, so hostel atmosphere was lacking, it was more like a hotel atmosphere where people only really congregate in the lobby for breakfast.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to M Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Montreal

Address: 1245 rue St-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Manoir des Alpes)
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 Specialty Lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Expedia and HostelBookers so you can book your M Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir Des Alpes Montreal
Manoir Des Alpes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.