We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such charm and character” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Montreal

Old Montreal
St-Antoine St South to the St Lawrence River | Bleury St East to St-Denis St, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3B2, Canada (Ville-Marie)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$70*
and up
Montreal Half-Day Bike Tour
Ranked #7 of 202 Attractions in Montreal
Type: Cultural
Activities: Dining, Shopping, City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stroll, bicycle or take a horse-drawn carriage through the narrow cobblestone streets of Montreal's famous Parisian-style historic district, filled with cultural landmarks, museums, boutiques, sidewalk cafes and restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Such charm and character”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Old Montreal has so many little shops and buildings with character, it is great for a stroll, night or day. The public spaces to sit by the water are restful and welcoming. Every time I visit I feel comfortable to walk through the streets with no concerns for safety and it beats the rush of the downtown shopping area - feels good to just take in the charm at a slower pace.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,180
    1,160
    290
    37
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
177 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Delightful, even in the drizzle”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I do like wandering Vieux-Montreal. It is a small walk from one of several Metro stops, and the approach can seem very unatmospheric, but the area is completely delightful.

I should say I am not a shopper, so I'm not inclined to stop into the shops (except the F1 shop for my boys). I am a foodie, so I do like stopping in for treats (and there are plenty of places) and I'll gladly pay a bit (or a lot) more for a good meal in a beautiful place. And I LOVE stopping in to historic buildings and small museums. These can all be accomplished in Vieux-Montreal.

The cobbles and low-slung stone buildings feel like small town Europe to some, but admittedly, to me the effect is more that of colonial North America -- a sandstone counterpart to the red brick of Alexandria, Virginia.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Reminds me of old Quebec City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Was there for the first time with my husband and we really enjoyed walking around, admiring the old buildings, the cobble stone roads. Stopped for a beer and watch the people come and go, then later on for a lovely dinner at a nice restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A MUST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Brilliant day out, lovely big open skys and fresh air, stroll along the harbour and take in all the wonderful views.Walk the cobbled streets and take in the street scene.Go into the lovely little shops and browse take lunch at one of the many Cafe bars

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Quaint, pretty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I had a nice time walking around the old port. It's smaller than Quebec's but a must-visit just the same. Try to take a lunch and sit outside in front of the cathedral...good people watching!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.