We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cobblestones, waterfront, shops, restaurants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Montreal

Old Montreal
Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3B2, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Old Montreal like an insider
Top Rated
$17*
and up
Walking Tour of Old Montreal
Ranked #4 of 479 things to do in Montreal
Activities: Dining, Shopping, City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Stroll, bicycle or take a horse-drawn carriage through the narrow cobblestone streets of Montreal's famous Parisian-style historic district, filled with cultural landmarks, museums, boutiques, sidewalk cafes and restaurants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cobblestones, waterfront, shops, restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Typical old town, not as quaint as some but still a must see in Montreal. Prime wandering zone - check out Clock tower waterfront park, pedestrian/artist square and historic buildings. Two MUST choices for lunch at corner of St Paul/St Pierre, Marche Le Villette or Gourmand & Olive!!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,013 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,384
    1,268
    308
    39
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westmount, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My history,my roots,, for you to see , hear, and feel. Take a guide even if it is for an hour so you can experiment the emotion that Old Montreal has to offer.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great,any time of the year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

What's great about Montreal is it's unique port: it is accessible to people and lovely to walk in, which is a pretty rare phenomenon in cities. Old Montreal is great in the summer with its artists quarters and live performances on Jacques Cartier Plaza, which is surrounded with great terraces, including Les Jardins Nelson, a restaurant where they play live jazz during the evening. During the winter, the sights are also gorgeous, and there is access to a skating rink, though it is a bit small. Definitely a place to visit, a must in Montreal!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“A bit run-down and not many people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We last visited Montreal in 1996 and were pleased to see that Stash Café is still in business. The whole place seems a lot quieter than then, but there are still lots of interesting shops and restaurants. I managed to buy two pieces of Inuit art at last but I have still failed in my quest to eat wild goose – my own personal Wild Goose Chase. I wish that I had bought the T-shirt that said ‘Stay Calm and eat Poutine’.
There are quite a lot of beggars round, like the rest of Montreal. I was very shocked to see the state of some of the horses pulling the carriages. Several of them were lame and had sores on their bodies – the owners would be prosecuted in the UK. The city authorities really must do something about this!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome architecture and photography opportunities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Loved walking around checking out the architecture. There are some great shops around if you take the time to look for them. Easily spent half a day walking and photographing.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Old Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.