We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I might not know art, but I know what I like.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)

Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)
1380 Sherbrooke W, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1J5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))
+1 514-285-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 480 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1860 as the Art Association of Montreal by a group of Montreal art collectors and patrons, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA) was one of the first museums in North America to build up an encyclopedic collection worthy of the name. It now numbers over 41,000 works from Antiquity to today, making it unique in Canada. It comprises paintings, sculptures, graphic arts, photographs and decorative art objects displayed in four pavilions: the Jean-Noel Desmarais Pavilion (international art), the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion (world cultures), the Liliane and David M. Stewart Pavilion (decorative arts and design) and the Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion (Quebec and Canadian art). The latter, which was inaugurated in September 2011, includes a 444-seat concert hall - Bourgie Hall - featuring an important group of Tiffany stained glass windows. A fifth wing, the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion for Peace devoted to international art and education, will open in late 2016 to launch Montreal's 375th anniversary celebrations.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“I might not know art, but I know what I like.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This is a national treasure and one of the large art galleries n Canada. We usually come to the Museum once or twice a year for special exhibitions and spend some time exploring another part of the extensive complex and have never been disappointed by the quality of the works shown there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    422
    88
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Glass expo striking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Saw the presentation on glass sculptures and was blown away. The surrounding street was imaginatively decorated which added to the experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed museum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ok I admit I'm a VIP member and can go whenever I want. The temporary exhibits are always unique and worth the visit. Try to visit temporary exhibits before the last weekend as there's too many people sometimes. There's also much to see that is free. It takes several hours if you want to see everything there is. I just can't do it in one afternoon. Nice gift boutique if you wish to get a souvenir of your visit.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful if you have all the time in the world!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

An eclectic mix of art spread across several floors of several buildings. Navigating wasn't easy and it all seemed to be a bit muddled.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“nice museum with special exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice little museum with frequent special exhibitions very interesting. Went to see "spendeur à venise" and it was a beautiful afternoon. Nice boutique and café. Do not miss it when you come to Montréal.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts) also viewed

 

Been to Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.