We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)

Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)
1380 Sherbrooke W, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1J5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))
+1 514-285-2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 480 things to do in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Founded in 1860 as the Art Association of Montreal by a group of Montreal art collectors and patrons, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA) was one of the first museums in North America to build up an encyclopedic collection worthy of the name. It now numbers over 41,000 works from Antiquity to today, making it unique in Canada. It comprises paintings, sculptures, graphic arts, photographs and decorative art objects displayed in four pavilions: the Jean-Noel Desmarais Pavilion (international art), the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion (world cultures), the Liliane and David M. Stewart Pavilion (decorative arts and design) and the Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion (Quebec and Canadian art). The latter, which was inaugurated in September 2011, includes a 444-seat concert hall - Bourgie Hall - featuring an important group of Tiffany stained glass windows. A fifth wing, the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion for Peace devoted to international art and education, will open in late 2016 to launch Montreal's 375th anniversary celebrations.
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I could have spent a whole day wandering through this museum, perhaps even two. There are three sections and we only had the opportunity to visit two. The art varied from Mesopotamian artifacts to Picasso. Whatever art you are interested in, it's in there. The most amazing part of this museum is that it is FREE, minus the Peru exhibit which we also attended. I would highly recommend attending this museum. Be sure and pick up a map at the gate in order to plan your tour.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    862
    422
    88
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Really enjoyed the Peru exhibit this weekend. Nice display of artefacts, anticipate @ 2-3 hrs just this part. Had a lovely leisure morning wandering through the musuem

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Peru exhibit is really well done”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Not much more to say about it. We went specifically for the Peru exhibit, and it was well worth it. The exhibit was organized chronologically, and brought us through the different cultures that eventually led to the Incas and then the Spanish invasion. My only criticism is that the audio guides are way too wordy. There isn't enough time to listen to everything, unless you plan on spending a whole day. I found I was cutting each description short, just to be sure I could get through the whole exhibit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Peru exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Sunning exhibit. Large collection of masks, potteries. Many videos but limited sitting space. Very busy on the week ends so plan to go early in the day, opens at 10h. Very inspiring, makes you want to travel to Peru to discover more of this fascinating culture.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Art you glad you came to Montreal?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The art is divided nicely by style and period. The permanent exhibits are free of charge and they have a lovely coat check. We only wish we would have had more time to spend here. Be sure to check out the Museum Store- very nice!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts) also viewed

 

Been to Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (Musee des Beaux-Arts), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.