We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Red Deer, AB
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

Whenever we go to Montreal, whether for business or pleasure, this is where we stay. It is quiet and the staff are very friendly and helpful. It is close to the Palais de Congress and to all the sights of old Montreal. To go further afield it is close to the Metro. It is not an uncomfortable walk to 'down town'.
The included breakfast is one of the best anywhere. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    131
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
80
322
15
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
507 reviews 507 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 260 cities Reviews in 260 cities
477 helpful votes 477 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed here a couple weeks ago. I had one of the more elaborate rooms. There was a really nice jacuzzi tub with jets and a separate shower. The beds were very comfortable. The hotel was around the corner from the Basilica Notre Dame and about 4 blocks from Jacques Cartier Square. Parking was down the street and you had to leave your keys with the car so I would not leave valuables in the car. You had to pay $15 for the day to park. Breakfast was included in the morning and had very good croissonts. Staff was very helpful and bilingual.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed here for 4 nights over Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. Chose this hotel for a romantic weekend away based on all the glowing reviews on his site. The hotel did not disappoint! We were in a courtyard room which was extremely quiet and spotless. The housekeeping staff were extremely thorough and cleaned the room beautifully every day. The room itself is nice but not anything extraordinary. Some spots are starting to look a little worn with chipping paint and cracked tiles, but nothing serious. Loved the hardwood floors! Service was superb with lots of friendly helpful suggestions and assistance. Breakfast every morning was lovely and tasty, albeit a bit slow on two of the four mornings. Location is perfect for exploring the city, with only a five min walk to the metro. Overall extremely happy with our stay here and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Located in a wonderful area of Montreal's "Old City." The service was top notch from the desk staff to the waiters at the restaurant. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and were very impressed with the superb food and excellent service.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Stayed 2 nights in a lovely room in old town. Close walk to subway, very near harbor, restaurants everywhere around. Excellent breakfast with white table cloths in beautiful Bonaparte Restaurant included. Everything was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Auberge Bonaparte for a weekend anniversary trip to Montreal and very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a great location in the old town part of Montreal with easy access to downtown shopping and the Metro. The staff at Auberge Bonaparte were very friendly and helpful with any and all of our needs and made our stay very pleasant.

The room we stayed in faced the street and while not anything to write home about with regards to amenities, was still spotlessly clean with a TV, good size bathroom and very comfortable bed that had extra pillows. The restaurant in the Bonaparte is very well regarded and served up a very good breakfast with superb, friendly service.

If I had to complain about anything, it would have to be the late night noise from the street. Not really Bonaparte's fault, but with a street facing room, Friday and Saturday nights can be noisy on the street with late night carousers and the older style windows not providing much sound insulation. Not a big deal for us as we've had the same experience in London Hotels, but one might try a garden facing room if noise is a big concern.

All in all we had a wonderful stay at the Bonaparte and if we returned to Montreal would certainly stay here again. A charming choice in the old city of Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

This hotel was a fantastic way to end our holiday, all the staff at the Bonaparte were very helpful and went out of their way to make you feel welcome. The room was very comfortable and spacious and tastefully decorated. We also highly recommend the restaurant, which has a lovely choice of dishes, served in a relaxing environment.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.