We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for Expoloring Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Save Saved
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Expoloring Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We've stayed here twice and have not been disappointed. A welcoming and efficient staff, a good location in Old Montreal near the Notre Dame Cathedral, and a very good adjoining restaurant make for a nice stay. The rooms are very nice, although the bathroom in ours might be considered a little small by some. We really enjoyed the included breakfasts which are delicious. You're about three-four blocks from a subway station at Place de Armes.

Room Tip: If you head up to the sixth floor, you'll discover a small stairway leading out to a rooftop dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    109
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
269
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel was beautiful. I loved the window ledges but that just my own personal preference. Breakfast was nicer and is provided. It is a beautiful French resturants. The reason that it only got a four is because we missed our train and thus a night in Montreal. But we called to let them know we were going to miss the first day but to charge it and hold the room for the next day. They agreed, when we got there the guy said no one had called about our room and that we were Luckythe held it.......apparently it was him and a girl that worked the night we called....boyfriend check his number to make sure it was the right number and it was.....hotel needs better communication with each other. Friendly other than that

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The location is great and having requested a room to the rear of the hotel it was nice and quiet. Whilst the bed was small for a room of this size it was adequate and the room itself was clean and well appointed. What really lets the hotel down is the minimalist breakfast and surly waiting staff. For a hotel of this standing using Kraft portion control conserves isn't great.
The chap from Bordeaux on reception was very friendly and deserves a mention.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel is located right in the heart of Old Montreal which is a great location. There are lots of nice bars and restaurants really close by. You're also very close to a pick up/drop off point for the horse drawn carriages. The hotel itself was great. The rooms are simple but elegant and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant, assuming breakfast is typical, was great. The service is wonderful from the front desk people to the restaurant staff. I'd highly recommend and we will be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Using Trip Advisor as our guide we chose Auberge Bonaparte as our hotel. It was perfect. Close to Old Town or the metro so once you parked your car you didn't need it as you explored the city and all the attractions. The staff of the hotel was especially helpful and appreciated the guidance of Nicholas. It was also great they all the staff spoke good English and were so willing to assist. Room was very comfortable and breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We recently stayed here for a weekend in July. For a first trip to Montreal in 30 years it was the perfect place to stay. The history and the narrow cobble streets definitely make it feel like older European cities. The hotel was quiet, the room large,clean and all you needed was available. Staff were friendly and spoke English with ease. All were bilingual. The restaurant was beautifully decorated and the breakfast(included) is delicious. We did have one dinner there as well and it was sooooo yummy. . This a great spot for couples. It is close to the harbour and all the hot spots in Old Montreal. We would stay there again. Montreal is a great city and we will go back for sure. We should have gone much sooner than we did. Enjoy

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We are a family of 4 (2 kids aged 17 & 13) and wanted to stay in one room to cut costs as we were spending a month touring Quebec. Room was lovely and spacious with a view of Notre Dame. Hotel was immaculately clean and breakfast was excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great to access Old Montreal. Great stay, would return.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Notre Dame
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#39 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.