We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Say Enough Good Things” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cannot Say Enough Good Things”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I chose this hotel based on reviews here, as well as a glowing review in both Frommers and Fodors. I am glad that we did. I contacted them a little late (1 month before our trip) and initially they didnt have a room for the whole 4 nights of our stay. They offered two different rooms to patch it together. But a couple of days later they had a cancellation and she e-mailed us that one was open the whole time. We have a 3 month old, and they provided a crib (pack and play) for us at no charge. It was waiting in the room for us when we got there.

The room itself is not all that large, but it is well lit and comfortable. Very clean and nicely decorated. I don't expect a large room in a historic building in old Montreal. The location is amazing. Just around the corner from the Basilica, an easy walk from the river and from the Metro station. You are in the middle of it all there. The breakfast is included and very nice.

What really makes the difference is the staff. The front desk staff is absolutely amazing. They have great suggestions for where to go to eat, and then they will call ahead for you, so there is a table reserved when you get to the restaurant. They really went above and beyond for us. Like I said, we have a 3 month old. We brought her crib soother (box that makes lights and music and movement) because that is what seems to work to calm her down. However, we did not bring some back up batteries. They found 4 C batteries for us in the basement, and then there was an issue getting the battery compartment open (it required a phillips head screw driver). We were on our way out to get dinner, so they said leave it with us and we will fix it. When we got back, the soother was all re-batteried and in our room. The staff was so helpful and nice, they really put a good place over the top to great. If we are lucky enough to come back to Montreal, we will be staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    129
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
309
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicottville NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I have been staying here every Grand Prix weekend for the last 6 years and could not be happier with my choice. The room is always spotless and well-appointed, the staff are courteous, friendly and helpful; and, you get a lot of bang for your buck. There's wi-fi and the hotel has undergone a new bar renovation with a beautiful granite-topped bar with fine wood (mahogany?) below, over all, a very nice place to have a drink, relax and chat with fellow travelers. Parking is 100' away in a surface level lot at an additional charge. You don't need a vehicle in Montreal as the mass transit and taxi system are easy to navigate. Walking is easy in this city anyway. I took my wife for the first time to the hotel last weekend and while she is not easily pleased, she had nothing but nice things to say about "my little hotel." You can spend more (I have) and get less (I have) but I would give this place serious consideration if you intend on staying in a very quiet and nice hotel. Breakfast is included and is served in the pretty restaurant just beyond the bar area. I consider it a positive mark to have the same staff aboard year after year, the Auberge has done just that.

Room Tip: Room 308 overlooks St. Francois Xavier and if you like to hear the clip-clop of horses' hooves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We did a driving across Canada thing from Regina SK to Quebec City and this was one hotel recommended by Trip Advisor. Number four I believe. Out of the tops this one had room when we were passing through.

Having a navigation system in the truck helped. It's a bit awkward to find. We were driving an F350 Crew Cab so the old city can be a bit difficult to navigate tight corners. Can be done though. Patience is a plus whilst driving in Montreal and Quebec in general. Not what you're used to if you're from out west. Nobody is being rude with their driving. You just have to keep up to an all around different way. Quite liberating in some ways. Anyhow...

Got to the hotel on a tight street...Old Montreal. Small door that leads you into a small lobby. Friendly folks. Very French. Gives YOU a chance to try out yours. They smiled and worked with us. So kind.

Got keys to the lovely room. Overlooking the Basilica (not sure what the view is for other rooms, but it's impossible to have a bad room...only 43 this hotel...I recall) Lovely room. Nice big room. Tasteful. Older as you would expect. Sweetie loved the tub.

There is a killer restaurant downstairs that we didn't have time to check out, but THAT restaurant from what I read is supposed to be over the top food and drinks. It looked really ON when we were passing through. Wish we had more time for that . Geeze. Can't do it all....

Only thing...We left a sweater in the closet (never use closets unless you're staying long term. You are going to forget your stuff!!) and have requested twice to recover and send us back the sweater (promising full cost of doing so) to us. No reply at all. Our fault for forgetting, not Bonaparte's. But sure wish we could get that sweater back :( Our forgetfulness, not theirs, again)

Overall...Very nice. If you are Anglo Canadian....Revisit what you learned in high school French. Don't be shy. It comes back and it get's you further than practising your English. And I know the further you get into Quebec (eastern townships) the more you are appreciated for your efforts.

Hotel Bonaparte...Merci!

Room Tip: Practise your French. They are not being standoffish. It's very French. As things should be!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Having stayed at the lovely Auberge Le Vincent in Quebec City (A Tripadvisor reader award winner) we had high expectations for our stay at another highly rated hotel - Auberge Bonaparte - while in Montreal. We were bitterly disappointed. The room (210) at $240 a night was large but spartan. No tea/coffee facilities. No robes. Majority of cable TV channels unavailable. View depressing. Old fashioned bathroom in need of a serious refurbishment with mould all around the shower.

Breakfast included was barely adequate. I don't think stale coffee, a pot of supermarket yogurt, scrambled eggs and a dry croissant qualifies as a "3 course breakfast experience". My wife is diabetic and there was little on the breakfast menu that was appropriate for her. As we told that they would not serve cereals, we brought our own Weetabix and they provided a bowl.

We tried the Auberge restaurant on Friday night and although the food was OK, the ambiance was decidedly stuffy. The headwaiter was not impressed that we chose a wine with a screw top. $154 for the table d'hote meal with the screw-top wine..

Having seen what other hotels can offer, I do think the TA community is over-rating this place. I agree that it is in a great location, but I don't think you need to compromise on quality because of that

Room Tip: 2nd floor at rear faces onto restaurant skylights, so higher floor the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Location: excellent. It's in the heart of old montreal. Everything is walking distance for old montreal and the metro for farther places is very close also.
Service: excellent. It was unsually cold and rainy in late May. I like to just hot water: unusual request but they got to know that when I come in through the front door, they just get me some from the adjoining restaurant. the concierge also got us our metro pass; it was convenient.
Food: breakfast was generous; served in the adjoining restaurant, on tables with white linen: nice for breakfast! i felt like i was back in paris! of course, i never ate breakfast at restaurants with white linen table in paris. :-)
Room: roomy. comfortable. tall windows. a lot of light. we were on the street side but noise was not a problem. there is a terrace on the top floor; go, enjoy. great views of the basilica.
Places to go: Marche Jean Talon is a metro ride away. for the foodies, definitely go. it's the biggest market in north america. it's my favorite part of montreal. the produce was excellent.

Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madisonville, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location for seeing the city. It is right in the heart of the old city and close to a subway station if you want to tour outside of the old city. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the courtyard side of the hotel. It was large with a large bathroom. It was very quiet , comfortable and had a great view into the courtyard. The included breakfast was excellent and the wait staff was very attentive. We were so impressed with the restaurant we had dinner twice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard side are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Staff were accommodating and room upgraded at no additional charge. Room was spacious but a little sparse however that's loads better than too tight. Hard wood floors are beautiful, great for someone with dust allergies from carpets! Enjoyed an evening meal at their restaurant and it was fantastic! Breakfast was just okay, have had better. Love the location in Old Montreal, lots of views and close to downtown core as well. Parking is a bit expansive but for one night, what the heck!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#36 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.