We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance & romance in the heart of Old Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Save Saved
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Elegance & romance in the heart of Old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 days at this lovely hotel 17 -21 December. We had the suite and enjoyed every minute of our stay. The bar And restaurant downstairs were an added bonus, being that we visited in the middle of winter and it was snowing quite often,, the welcoming warm restaurant was far too tempting for us! A great location for sightseeing just around the corner from Notre Dame Basilica which ran a laser light history's show in the evenings, and the Montreal Sympony performed there also during our stay. The staff very very helpful, the food excellent. We enjoyed wonderful breakfasts which are included in the room rate, and tried most of the extensive menu during our visit. A charming traditional venue in a beautiful romantic city.

Room Tip: We had the suite and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    114
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
70
281
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the lovely Auberge Bonaparte for 2 nights before our Canadian cruise last June. It was perfect. The room was lovely, with an exposed brick wall overlooking the garden and of course, the Notre Dame was just around the corner. We found this to be a great location for exploring Vieux Montreal on foot.

Breakfast was wonderful, unhurried and European. We sat at the table in the window which is perfect for people watching while we planned our morning in Vieux Montreal. And the service was impeccable. If you enjoy boutique hotels with character and charm, this is the place for you.

I would definitely recommend this to friends

Room Tip: overlooking the garden on the back of the inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhinebeck, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Booked it as a Christmas present, a few hours drive north. Stayed three days. The city is covered in snow; traffic is crawling and it is freezing (12F)--but still lovely. The Bonaparte location is superb: around the corner to Notre Dame Cathedral; a short walk down the hill to Rue St. Paul and which winds through all of the Old City landmarks and shops. Our room is small, as expected, but charming, with a comfortable shower/bath and one wall of exposed brick. The large windows provided a welcome flood of afternoon winter sun when we returned from a long walk in the bitter cold. As many have noted, the room price includes breakfast--which has been delicious. The hotel restaurant is well rated and cozy. The staff has been as helpful as any we have experienced. Every time we came back from a walk, my wife would say: “We’ve got to come back here in the spring.” It’s that good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in Spring. They had unseasonal snow, which just made eating in the breakfast dining room extra special. The little bay windows are the perfect place to look out onto this gorgeous street while eating very good croissants. The room was spacious and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Top Contributor
427 reviews 427 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A super little gem in the old part of the city. This is a very good value full service hotel. The stay includes a breakfast which is served in their excellent restaurant. The rooms were modern and well appointed and the hotel has a very good restaurant and bar. The service was super and the staff went out of their way to make the stay pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Montreal and want to stay in the old city. Parking was available at a staffed lot just acroos the street.

Room Tip: Either take a room high up or at the back of the hotel. I believe the rooms at the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in November. I knew the location would be perfect for someone who has only a little time but wants to do as much as possible. The great service began even before I got there because I asked for bookings to nearby attractions. Sabrina at reception was especially helpful. Although a boutique establishment, the hotel provides the concierge services of a big five-star. Room and bath was very clean and well appointed. Bed was comfortable. The rooms all have wi fi, which is great, but you'll prefer to be out and about or hang out in the excellent restaurant. The restaurant connected to the hotel (Restaurant Bonaparte, which I also reviewed) offers guests a good complimentary breakfast, and is open for lunch, dinner, after theatre dessert or nightcap, whatever you fancy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Auberge Bonaparte from November 14-19. The location is in charming Vieux Montreal. The rooms, although a bit spare, are clean, bright and spacious. The included breakfast is plentiful, well-prepared and a delicious way to begin the day. The staff is most accommodating and the restaurant is at the upper echelon of the city's already great dining scene.
Would not hesitate to stay there when we return.

Room Tip: Views to the courtyard behind Notre Dame Basilica may be preferred and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.