We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best choice in Vieux Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Save Saved
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best choice in Vieux Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in Spring. They had unseasonal snow, which just made eating in the breakfast dining room extra special. The little bay windows are the perfect place to look out onto this gorgeous street while eating very good croissants. The room was spacious and the staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    125
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
289
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Top Contributor
436 reviews 436 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

A super little gem in the old part of the city. This is a very good value full service hotel. The stay includes a breakfast which is served in their excellent restaurant. The rooms were modern and well appointed and the hotel has a very good restaurant and bar. The service was super and the staff went out of their way to make the stay pleasant. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Montreal and want to stay in the old city. Parking was available at a staffed lot just acroos the street.

Room Tip: Either take a room high up or at the back of the hotel. I believe the rooms at the rear of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in November. I knew the location would be perfect for someone who has only a little time but wants to do as much as possible. The great service began even before I got there because I asked for bookings to nearby attractions. Sabrina at reception was especially helpful. Although a boutique establishment, the hotel provides the concierge services of a big five-star. Room and bath was very clean and well appointed. Bed was comfortable. The rooms all have wi fi, which is great, but you'll prefer to be out and about or hang out in the excellent restaurant. The restaurant connected to the hotel (Restaurant Bonaparte, which I also reviewed) offers guests a good complimentary breakfast, and is open for lunch, dinner, after theatre dessert or nightcap, whatever you fancy. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Auberge Bonaparte from November 14-19. The location is in charming Vieux Montreal. The rooms, although a bit spare, are clean, bright and spacious. The included breakfast is plentiful, well-prepared and a delicious way to begin the day. The staff is most accommodating and the restaurant is at the upper echelon of the city's already great dining scene.
Would not hesitate to stay there when we return.

Room Tip: Views to the courtyard behind Notre Dame Basilica may be preferred and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very nice place with very nice employees--at the front desk, and at the bar & restaurant, and the housekeepers. But they really don't have a manager, and they need one. I had requested a very quiet and top floor room. I initially got a room facing the busy street, and it had a large bug in it, as well as torn furniture. I changed rooms and there sat a cockroach in it. It also had the buzzing ventilation shaft in the wall, so I got no sleep at all that night. I asked to speak with the manager, and a gentleman whose business card identified him as the marketing person came to see me. He said the bugs were there because of humidity and that he would get me a third room..... he did not apologize. He said that the furniture was all being replaced soon. This third room faced the gardens behind the building, and was nice and quiet. But all rooms had marked up walls and mold in the showers. The place, apparently, is about to be cleaned up, but meanwhile, at least warn people and lower your rates! Finally, the wonderful concierge comped me one of my four nights, for the bug and noise problems, and let me use the office printer for my boarding passes (the guest computer printer had been stolen). The icing on the sour cake was when the "manager" informed me that the third course of the breakfast (3 were advertised as part of the room stay) was the bread that came with the omelet. That was funny.

Room Tip: face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, AB
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at this Auberge on a number of occasions and are never disappointed. The included breakfasts are wonderful and it is very handy to Old Montreal and the Palais de Congress. Staff are extremely helpful and the restaurant has recently opened a small lounge area that is very nice.
While the rooms are large and comfortable, there does need to be a bit of cosmetic work done, especially in the bathrooms. Some of the towels were getting a bit past their best but it is certainly very clean. Value for money a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Best to pick a room on the back so you are not right over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A very well located hotel especially with no car. We walked most places from here and were always delighted to return to the quiet of our room at the end of the day. One of the best places we have stayed over the years.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet and overlook a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.