We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious retreat in Old Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Save Saved
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 168 hotels in Montreal
baltimore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Spacious retreat in Old Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Auberge Bonaparte from November 14-19. The location is in charming Vieux Montreal. The rooms, although a bit spare, are clean, bright and spacious. The included breakfast is plentiful, well-prepared and a delicious way to begin the day. The staff is most accommodating and the restaurant is at the upper echelon of the city's already great dining scene.
Would not hesitate to stay there when we return.

Room Tip: Views to the courtyard behind Notre Dame Basilica may be preferred and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    336
    109
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
268
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very nice place with very nice employees--at the front desk, and at the bar & restaurant, and the housekeepers. But they really don't have a manager, and they need one. I had requested a very quiet and top floor room. I initially got a room facing the busy street, and it had a large bug in it, as well as torn furniture. I changed rooms and there sat a cockroach in it. It also had the buzzing ventilation shaft in the wall, so I got no sleep at all that night. I asked to speak with the manager, and a gentleman whose business card identified him as the marketing person came to see me. He said the bugs were there because of humidity and that he would get me a third room..... he did not apologize. He said that the furniture was all being replaced soon. This third room faced the gardens behind the building, and was nice and quiet. But all rooms had marked up walls and mold in the showers. The place, apparently, is about to be cleaned up, but meanwhile, at least warn people and lower your rates! Finally, the wonderful concierge comped me one of my four nights, for the bug and noise problems, and let me use the office printer for my boarding passes (the guest computer printer had been stolen). The icing on the sour cake was when the "manager" informed me that the third course of the breakfast (3 were advertised as part of the room stay) was the bread that came with the omelet. That was funny.

Room Tip: face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, AB
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at this Auberge on a number of occasions and are never disappointed. The included breakfasts are wonderful and it is very handy to Old Montreal and the Palais de Congress. Staff are extremely helpful and the restaurant has recently opened a small lounge area that is very nice.
While the rooms are large and comfortable, there does need to be a bit of cosmetic work done, especially in the bathrooms. Some of the towels were getting a bit past their best but it is certainly very clean. Value for money a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Best to pick a room on the back so you are not right over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A very well located hotel especially with no car. We walked most places from here and were always delighted to return to the quiet of our room at the end of the day. One of the best places we have stayed over the years.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet and overlook a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I had a really enjoyable 2 night stay at Auberge Bonaparte. The reception staff were most helpful and friendly. Our room was the one in the photo and was just as it appears - large, well-appointed, comfortable king size bed, large bathroom, good shower and free wi-fi. Parking is available at a parking lot across the road for a small daily charge. A real bonus was the fantastic hotel restaurant. A wonderful, freshly prepared breakfast is included in the rate. We dined at the hotel one evening and chose the Table d'Hote menu which was reasonably priced at $35 for 3 courses. The location of the Auberge is fantastic being located in the old town close to shops & restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This property is located in the middle of Old Town but a bit tricky to find since we found driving in Montreal to be a nightmare. We were a bit disappointed with the 'Old Town" Montreal thinking it would be seperated and not run right into the busy downtown area. The hotel though was very European, typical of places we have stayed in England and Scotland. Excellent front desk and staff. Rooms look exactly as photograph on Trip Advisor. No paper here, only glass cups/glasses/saucers, etc.. Excellent breakfast in their attached restaurant which was included and consisted of coffee, juice, croissants, toast, muffins, eggs of your choice, meat of your choice, fresh fruit or yogurt, etc. Was a nice change after all the chain hotels we had stayed all week with continental breakfast. It was a bit noisy at night with our onstreet room location. Only con to this is the parking. You must use the parking lot which is just steps up the street but they charge $15 per day, not per night which means an overnite stay adds an additional $30 to your stay. They also park the lot so that there are cars in front of and back of yours making it difficult to move when you want to. However, it worked for us since we found that parking the car and walking was the only way to see this town. There are some steep taxes attached to your bill so our $179 room total ending up being $249.40 plus international tax fees on my credit card that accrue interest daily if not paid off immediately on return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Montreal for a romantic vacation. The location is so nice, right in old Montreal. Cobblestone streets: check. Wine bar within a block: check. Wine store within a block: check. It's fantastic. Furthermore, the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, speak flawless English, and are always there 24.7. I would stay here again in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: It was a little noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#39 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.