We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble in Threes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Save Saved
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Trouble in Threes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A very nice place with very nice employees--at the front desk, and at the bar & restaurant, and the housekeepers. But they really don't have a manager, and they need one. I had requested a very quiet and top floor room. I initially got a room facing the busy street, and it had a large bug in it, as well as torn furniture. I changed rooms and there sat a cockroach in it. It also had the buzzing ventilation shaft in the wall, so I got no sleep at all that night. I asked to speak with the manager, and a gentleman whose business card identified him as the marketing person came to see me. He said the bugs were there because of humidity and that he would get me a third room..... he did not apologize. He said that the furniture was all being replaced soon. This third room faced the gardens behind the building, and was nice and quiet. But all rooms had marked up walls and mold in the showers. The place, apparently, is about to be cleaned up, but meanwhile, at least warn people and lower your rates! Finally, the wonderful concierge comped me one of my four nights, for the bug and noise problems, and let me use the office printer for my boarding passes (the guest computer printer had been stolen). The icing on the sour cake was when the "manager" informed me that the third course of the breakfast (3 were advertised as part of the room stay) was the bread that came with the omelet. That was funny.

Room Tip: face the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    125
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
294
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, AB
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at this Auberge on a number of occasions and are never disappointed. The included breakfasts are wonderful and it is very handy to Old Montreal and the Palais de Congress. Staff are extremely helpful and the restaurant has recently opened a small lounge area that is very nice.
While the rooms are large and comfortable, there does need to be a bit of cosmetic work done, especially in the bathrooms. Some of the towels were getting a bit past their best but it is certainly very clean. Value for money a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Best to pick a room on the back so you are not right over the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A very well located hotel especially with no car. We walked most places from here and were always delighted to return to the quiet of our room at the end of the day. One of the best places we have stayed over the years.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet and overlook a garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I had a really enjoyable 2 night stay at Auberge Bonaparte. The reception staff were most helpful and friendly. Our room was the one in the photo and was just as it appears - large, well-appointed, comfortable king size bed, large bathroom, good shower and free wi-fi. Parking is available at a parking lot across the road for a small daily charge. A real bonus was the fantastic hotel restaurant. A wonderful, freshly prepared breakfast is included in the rate. We dined at the hotel one evening and chose the Table d'Hote menu which was reasonably priced at $35 for 3 courses. The location of the Auberge is fantastic being located in the old town close to shops & restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This property is located in the middle of Old Town but a bit tricky to find since we found driving in Montreal to be a nightmare. We were a bit disappointed with the 'Old Town" Montreal thinking it would be seperated and not run right into the busy downtown area. The hotel though was very European, typical of places we have stayed in England and Scotland. Excellent front desk and staff. Rooms look exactly as photograph on Trip Advisor. No paper here, only glass cups/glasses/saucers, etc.. Excellent breakfast in their attached restaurant which was included and consisted of coffee, juice, croissants, toast, muffins, eggs of your choice, meat of your choice, fresh fruit or yogurt, etc. Was a nice change after all the chain hotels we had stayed all week with continental breakfast. It was a bit noisy at night with our onstreet room location. Only con to this is the parking. You must use the parking lot which is just steps up the street but they charge $15 per day, not per night which means an overnite stay adds an additional $30 to your stay. They also park the lot so that there are cars in front of and back of yours making it difficult to move when you want to. However, it worked for us since we found that parking the car and walking was the only way to see this town. There are some steep taxes attached to your bill so our $179 room total ending up being $249.40 plus international tax fees on my credit card that accrue interest daily if not paid off immediately on return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Montreal for a romantic vacation. The location is so nice, right in old Montreal. Cobblestone streets: check. Wine bar within a block: check. Wine store within a block: check. It's fantastic. Furthermore, the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, speak flawless English, and are always there 24.7. I would stay here again in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: It was a little noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Auberge Bonaparte is a small 30 room hotel centrally located in the old section of Montreal. The rooms either look out onto the street side or out onto the courtyard. We were able to experience a room on both sides and either side is great. My daughter and I were at Auberge Bonaparte at the end of September 2012, and chose this hotel because of its location in the old section. It's no wonder that this historic hotel is listed as #2 on TripAdvisor. We agree with all of the positive remarks already mentioned about this hotel. It was refreshing to know that we were able to open the windows in our room for fresh air. Once the windows are closed the room is completely soundproof. We had good internet access in our room. Breakfast in the restaurant connected to the hotel comes with the room rate and is very elegant, tasty and filling and kept us going until dinner time. Be sure to see the view from the rooftop terrace on the 6th floor of the hotel. As previously mentioned numerous times on this list, the front desk people are outstanding. Everyone we had contact with at the front desk was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Anne-Marie at the front desk bent over backwards helping us with our very frustrating problems with Enterprise Car Rental. Thank you again!! Sophie was so accommodating in scheduling an early morning taxi pick-up to the airport and ordering a continental breakfast to be delivered to our room at 4:45 am! We would recommend having a dinner at the restaurant. Reservations are needed. The night we ate there a TV star was also having dinner which caused some excitement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.