We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Hotel - Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Charming Hotel - Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My husband & I had a really enjoyable 2 night stay at Auberge Bonaparte. The reception staff were most helpful and friendly. Our room was the one in the photo and was just as it appears - large, well-appointed, comfortable king size bed, large bathroom, good shower and free wi-fi. Parking is available at a parking lot across the road for a small daily charge. A real bonus was the fantastic hotel restaurant. A wonderful, freshly prepared breakfast is included in the rate. We dined at the hotel one evening and chose the Table d'Hote menu which was reasonably priced at $35 for 3 courses. The location of the Auberge is fantastic being located in the old town close to shops & restaurants. I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    144
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
93
368
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This property is located in the middle of Old Town but a bit tricky to find since we found driving in Montreal to be a nightmare. We were a bit disappointed with the 'Old Town" Montreal thinking it would be seperated and not run right into the busy downtown area. The hotel though was very European, typical of places we have stayed in England and Scotland. Excellent front desk and staff. Rooms look exactly as photograph on Trip Advisor. No paper here, only glass cups/glasses/saucers, etc.. Excellent breakfast in their attached restaurant which was included and consisted of coffee, juice, croissants, toast, muffins, eggs of your choice, meat of your choice, fresh fruit or yogurt, etc. Was a nice change after all the chain hotels we had stayed all week with continental breakfast. It was a bit noisy at night with our onstreet room location. Only con to this is the parking. You must use the parking lot which is just steps up the street but they charge $15 per day, not per night which means an overnite stay adds an additional $30 to your stay. They also park the lot so that there are cars in front of and back of yours making it difficult to move when you want to. However, it worked for us since we found that parking the car and walking was the only way to see this town. There are some steep taxes attached to your bill so our $179 room total ending up being $249.40 plus international tax fees on my credit card that accrue interest daily if not paid off immediately on return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are going to Montreal for a romantic vacation. The location is so nice, right in old Montreal. Cobblestone streets: check. Wine bar within a block: check. Wine store within a block: check. It's fantastic. Furthermore, the staff is incredibly helpful and friendly, speak flawless English, and are always there 24.7. I would stay here again in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: It was a little noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Auberge Bonaparte is a small 30 room hotel centrally located in the old section of Montreal. The rooms either look out onto the street side or out onto the courtyard. We were able to experience a room on both sides and either side is great. My daughter and I were at Auberge Bonaparte at the end of September 2012, and chose this hotel because of its location in the old section. It's no wonder that this historic hotel is listed as #2 on TripAdvisor. We agree with all of the positive remarks already mentioned about this hotel. It was refreshing to know that we were able to open the windows in our room for fresh air. Once the windows are closed the room is completely soundproof. We had good internet access in our room. Breakfast in the restaurant connected to the hotel comes with the room rate and is very elegant, tasty and filling and kept us going until dinner time. Be sure to see the view from the rooftop terrace on the 6th floor of the hotel. As previously mentioned numerous times on this list, the front desk people are outstanding. Everyone we had contact with at the front desk was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Anne-Marie at the front desk bent over backwards helping us with our very frustrating problems with Enterprise Car Rental. Thank you again!! Sophie was so accommodating in scheduling an early morning taxi pick-up to the airport and ordering a continental breakfast to be delivered to our room at 4:45 am! We would recommend having a dinner at the restaurant. Reservations are needed. The night we ate there a TV star was also having dinner which caused some excitement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for three nites after disembarking from a cruise ship. The hotel is in a wonderful location, around the corner from the Notre Dame Basilica---we could see the top of it from our window, which faced the grassy courtyard area and was very quiet. We were on the 4th floor. (I had requested a higher floor and a quiet room away from the street). My husband walked to a gym which was included. And we had free WiFi. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff was excellent, and the room and bathroom were larger than average, with an old brick wall. The original place was built in 1886, which was kind of scary since we had an earthquake around midnight our last nite! but being from California: no big deal! All in all, I highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to return to the marvelous city of Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently spent three days in Montreal at this terrific hotel. It's location is perfect for exploring old Montreal. We arrived around 8:30 pm after a very long and tiring train ride and the hotel desk clerk couldn't have been nicer. We ate at the the restaurant that night - it's top notch and the service welcoming and friendly. Room was quite large and the bathroom was enormous! This is not a chain hotel - you carry your own bags and there is limited room service.Breakfast is included in the cost of staying and it was very good, including both hot and cold items ordered from a menu. When we came back after a a cold and rainy day wandering around Montreal, the cheerful sight of this hotel was so welcoming. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street - more noise and traffic there - ask for a back room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in October. We arrived in Montreal by train about 6:30p.m. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. After checking in we tried to eat in the restaurant, but were told that we needed to have reservations so we went to our room and just snacked on crackers we had with us. The next morning the breakfast was fantastic and the waitress excellent. The location is in walking distance of everything.
The main problem we had was it was difficult to sleep and get any rest at night. Our room was on the street side and it sounded like cars and trucks were coming through our room all night. At 5:00 a.m. on the first morning there were workmen outside on the street talking and laughing. We requested to change rooms, but none was available. The front desk was difficult to communicate with in the morning. They would talk to us in English and then to each other in French which we could not understand. This change back and forth was unneccesary, since they both understood and spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#28 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.