We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming hotel, wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Save Saved
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Bay Area, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“charming hotel, wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Auberge Bonaparte is a small 30 room hotel centrally located in the old section of Montreal. The rooms either look out onto the street side or out onto the courtyard. We were able to experience a room on both sides and either side is great. My daughter and I were at Auberge Bonaparte at the end of September 2012, and chose this hotel because of its location in the old section. It's no wonder that this historic hotel is listed as #2 on TripAdvisor. We agree with all of the positive remarks already mentioned about this hotel. It was refreshing to know that we were able to open the windows in our room for fresh air. Once the windows are closed the room is completely soundproof. We had good internet access in our room. Breakfast in the restaurant connected to the hotel comes with the room rate and is very elegant, tasty and filling and kept us going until dinner time. Be sure to see the view from the rooftop terrace on the 6th floor of the hotel. As previously mentioned numerous times on this list, the front desk people are outstanding. Everyone we had contact with at the front desk was very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Anne-Marie at the front desk bent over backwards helping us with our very frustrating problems with Enterprise Car Rental. Thank you again!! Sophie was so accommodating in scheduling an early morning taxi pick-up to the airport and ordering a continental breakfast to be delivered to our room at 4:45 am! We would recommend having a dinner at the restaurant. Reservations are needed. The night we ate there a TV star was also having dinner which caused some excitement.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    118
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
72
283
14
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here for three nites after disembarking from a cruise ship. The hotel is in a wonderful location, around the corner from the Notre Dame Basilica---we could see the top of it from our window, which faced the grassy courtyard area and was very quiet. We were on the 4th floor. (I had requested a higher floor and a quiet room away from the street). My husband walked to a gym which was included. And we had free WiFi. The breakfast was delicious, and the staff was excellent, and the room and bathroom were larger than average, with an old brick wall. The original place was built in 1886, which was kind of scary since we had an earthquake around midnight our last nite! but being from California: no big deal! All in all, I highly recommend this hotel. Can't wait to return to the marvelous city of Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Recently spent three days in Montreal at this terrific hotel. It's location is perfect for exploring old Montreal. We arrived around 8:30 pm after a very long and tiring train ride and the hotel desk clerk couldn't have been nicer. We ate at the the restaurant that night - it's top notch and the service welcoming and friendly. Room was quite large and the bathroom was enormous! This is not a chain hotel - you carry your own bags and there is limited room service.Breakfast is included in the cost of staying and it was very good, including both hot and cold items ordered from a menu. When we came back after a a cold and rainy day wandering around Montreal, the cheerful sight of this hotel was so welcoming. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Our room faced the street - more noise and traffic there - ask for a back room instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel in October. We arrived in Montreal by train about 6:30p.m. The lady who checked us in was very friendly and helpful. After checking in we tried to eat in the restaurant, but were told that we needed to have reservations so we went to our room and just snacked on crackers we had with us. The next morning the breakfast was fantastic and the waitress excellent. The location is in walking distance of everything.
The main problem we had was it was difficult to sleep and get any rest at night. Our room was on the street side and it sounded like cars and trucks were coming through our room all night. At 5:00 a.m. on the first morning there were workmen outside on the street talking and laughing. We requested to change rooms, but none was available. The front desk was difficult to communicate with in the morning. They would talk to us in English and then to each other in French which we could not understand. This change back and forth was unneccesary, since they both understood and spoke excellent English.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This hotel offers so much charm and value, plus a delicious breakfast. Perfect location for walking around the old and very charming areas of Montréal and down to the wharf. A lovely helpful staff who are highly knowledgeable. And a hotel restaurant that serves excellent French bistro food. Comfortable spacious room with a view of the tree foliage that were changing to autumn colors. And the attention to cleanliness and making up the room by the attendant was superb. A splendid choice for our first visit to Montréal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Spent a week at this hotel and loved every thing about it. Location is fantastic and the restaurant is wonderful. The staff of this hotel are absolutely wonderful. From booking our day trips to having a chilled bottle of champaigne in the room on arrival, they took care of us splendidly. The Concierge team of Anne-Sophie, Anne-Marie and En-nouar Mohamed were fabulous and made us feel at home.
If you plan on traveling to Montreal and want to stay in Vieux-Montreal, this is the place to stay. We definitely will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the building offer excellent view of cathedral and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Shore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Perfect location for walking around Montreal, Nice to have parking.nearby. The staff were friendly and helpful.Breakfast was very good, nice selection. The restaurant was the very best,excellent service and wonderful food.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#41 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.