We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bonaparte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge Bonaparte to your Saves list
Auberge Bonaparte
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Not much to say: excellent location, excellent room and excellent service. Price reasonable for the type of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    129
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
74
309
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

The hotel is very well located and we found it perfect to spend our last night in Montreal there as we would like to explore the Old City. The bedroom was comfortable and charming, but somehow I did not find it very cosy.... perhaps one of the facts is that there was no single rug/mat on the wood floor.

The great surprise was breakfast, which was included in the room rate.
Their breakfast was simply delicious, I can definitely say that it was the best breakfast I ever had in a hotel. I would definitely come back for the fresh croissants! if you decided to stay in other hotel, try the breakfast, as you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were in Montreal for 4 days and staying at the Auberge Bonaparte made it a perfect vacation. The hotel has a great location in Old Montreal. We were able to walk to museums, restaurants and other attractions. The hotel staff was great and Michael was always available to answer questions. Our room was always clean, big bathroom, free water! The breakfast was delicious with nice choices, omelettes, french toast, pancakes, etc. We enjoyed it all ! Highly recommend Auberge Bonaparte !

Room Tip: Room facing the back court yard was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Based on the TripAdvisor reviews we were disappointed upon checking into our room .The room appeared dated and a bit on the shabby side. The red bedspread looked as if it had been there for decades and the furniture might be called shabby chic or thrift store antique.. I requested an extra top sheet to cover the motley looking blanket. All of the staff were very efficient and accommodating and the breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Forge
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed at the Auberge Bonaparte when were in Montreal for Gran Prix weekend in June. We traveled with some friends who had been to the city before and had stayed at the Auberge Bonaparte - they said we would not be disappointed. We arrived a few hours before our friends and were greeted at the door by Michael and Anna Sophie who got us checked in and our bags to our room. We were directed to the parking area just across the street where we could safely park our car. Our room faced the street with a nice view from the two large windows. The room was a good size, clean, with a nice bathroom. The hotel is very centrally located near shops, galleries, restaurants and the Metro.

All of the hotel staff was courteous and extremely helpful. Michael and Ann Marie made sure we had everything we needed and were there to recommended great restaurants and things to do. At our friends' request Michael was also able to get us into some clubs that we would not have found on our own. Breakfast was included in the room price and was always delicious and the service was professional. We especially like the croissants! Though we did not dine in the restaurant we did order box lunches on race day - one of the best ham and cheese sandwiches we ever had!

We will definitely stay again at the Bonaparte on our next trip to Montreal. Thanks again Michael and Ann Marie for a wonderful trip to your beautiful city!

Room Tip: Room 404 facing the street or 501 which has it's own patio facing the back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My partner and I were in Montreal for a vacation for the first time and were lucky enough to snag one of the rooms at this hotel. It was amazing! We loved that it was a smaller hotel and the reception staff were fantastic. They helped us find restaurants that would accommodate my allergies, plan transit routes with us, and had drycleaning done for the following morning. Everyone was extremely friendly!

We stayed on the 5th floor and only heard a tiny bit of noise on Friday night with some inebriated youths stumbling down the street in the wee hours. We barely heard anything aside from that and that was 15 minutes out of our entire trip. The only other thing is that I wish we could have had a small fridge in the unit but that was a minor detail.

What a great place! We loved it :D

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was a perfect hotel for us! The room was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, the location was central to everything we wanted to do, and the personnel throughout the hotel and restaurant were excellent. The girls at the front desk were friendly and so helpful in arranging reservations, tours, and directions. Because of the Bonaparte we are planning a return visit to Montreal at Christmas time. I can't think of a single way that our experience could be any better!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street so we could open the windows and see the world go by on a pretty day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#36 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Bonaparte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Auberge Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bonaparte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.