We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here ...Terrible Customer Service and Bad Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Montreal Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Montreal Center to your Saves list
Novotel Montreal Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1180 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G1Z1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get our Winter offer!
Ranked #54 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Stay Here ...Terrible Customer Service and Bad Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in mid-October of 2012 for two nights. We liked the hotel and for the price that we paid we did not expect any luxury and got a decent room and service. This all changed when I realized (after we checked out) that I had forgotten my suit hanging in the closet of the hotel room. So as soon as we remembered we called the front desk and explained the situation and they transferred us to the lost and found department. No one picked up at the lost and found department so we left a voice mail. We called again and again (over the next 24 hours) until someone picked up and simply told us that the suit is not there. I asked to speak to management to get a better understanding of the situation. This has been a nightmare ... Trying to get a hold of any management at this hotel is completely impossible. We called the corporate office for the Novotel in Toronto and it took them a week to get back to me and tell that they even were having a hard time getting a hold of the GM in Montreal Mr.Thomas Deegan. I called Mr. Deegan and left him a voice mail and still no reply. This is the worst customer service I’ve ever experienced and it is no longer about the suit, it is just common sense... if you are in the hospitality business you need to learn how to be hospitable. Do not stay at this hotel ... it is simple... They will not give you a good service when you need it most.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, General Manager at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience and for bringing out the points you would like us to work on to improve our customer service.
From my conversation with Miss Bertoli, our Front Office Manager, I believe you were able to speak to her the very next day after your departure. Unfortunately, she informed you that we couldn’t find your suit.
I also apologize for not being able to return your phone call earlier as I had to deal with health problems. I completely understand that losing a personal item can be frustrated. I hope that the lost and found department of the train station will give you positive news.
I hope that this incident will not prevent you from coming back to our property,
Kind regards
Thomas Deegan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    466
    202
    51
    34
See reviews for
217
300
89
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Quite good hotel, the only issue I had is that they was under the lobby rennovation, so the checking area and the looby was kindda messy. Room was great, nothing really to complain about it.

It`s very close to the subway station, which is under the Bell Centre.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xichveho, Director of Sales at Novotel Montreal Center, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Novotel Montreal Centre.
When you stayed at our property last year, our lobby was indeed under renovation: it had become a necessity to renovate the entire space to meet our client expectations.
We apologize for the inconvenience , and hope that you will soon come back to see the great results, as the hotel is now free of renovations .
Kind regards

Xich-Vê
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We really liked this hotel. It was our first stay in a Novotel. The room was smaller than standard American hotels, but it was very comfortable, and the decor was very nice, and different than what we are used to. The staff were very nice and helpful. The location is great - only a block from Rue Crescent with lots of shopping and dining options.

Room Tip: We were on the street side, which was a little noisy; but we were high enough that it wasn't a p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

First off, I tend to be a bit fo a miser when giving out stars so don't let the 3 stars turn you off. This is a nice hotel, clean and with the basics. Nothing fancy here but the price is right and the location is excellent. There are several very good restaurants right on this street and you are only a 2-3 minute walk from excellent shopping on St. Catherines street. I didn't review the restaurants as they hav all been done to death. However, if you are looking for a good pub with very good food, you cannot go wrong with the "Olde Orchard" pub right across the street from the hotel. Cheap drinks, cheap food but mostly all their food is home made with no processed crap that you usually get in these pubs. And I actually ordered and received a home-made ground sirloin hamburger cooked as I want it!!! (Medium was my order and it was delic). Of course, with home fries on top. Hmmm....mmmm good. Back to the hotel. It is modern downstairs but the rooms are an odd misture of newer designs and furniture with old school TV, bath/shower and towels. They are definitely watching their budget as the towels and mattress are OK at best. But again, good value, great staff and overall, yes, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found the Novotel to be a very average hotel in Montreal the lobby and hallways suggested the hotel had a refurb however the rooms I don't think had been refurbed.
The wi-fi was at an additional cost which was disappointing, the cost for parking was reasonable.
One thing that I disliked was you couldn't use the fridge as it was set up with a mini-bar that had those darn buzzer things
I found the bathroom to feel quite dirty & the carpet a bit grimy.
The location was great, nice & close to St Catherine and there were plenty of places to eat there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Located in downtown Montreal, walking distance to Bell Centre, St-Catherine Street, shopping, and many good places to eat. I found their restaurant
a bit pricy and preferred to eat elsewhere. My only disappointment with this hotel is the $10.00 fee for wifi in the room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Montreal Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Montreal Center

Address: 1180 Rue de la Montagne, Montreal, Quebec H3G1Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Montreal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#44 Business Hotel in Montreal
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Montreal Center 4*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Montreal Centre hotel is located the the heart of the business centre of downtown Montreal. The hotel is walking distance from shopping, restaurants and Old Montreal. The hotel boasts newly renovated executive rooms, all hallways, carpets, wallpaper and fitness centre for end of 2010, as well as the reception area in 2012. Restaurant lounge bar, multimedia meeting rooms for seminars and conferences. Underground parking is available at a charge. Wired and WiFi internet access is available in all guest rooms as well as well as WiFi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Montreal Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Montreal Hotel Montreal
Accor Montreal Center
Montreal Novotel
Hotel Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Montreal Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.