We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Save Saved
You added Auberge du Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #8 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Absolutely hands down a must stay here. Stayed three nights. Staff incredibly helpful and nice. Great location. Rooms fantastic and bathroom gorgeous! I will no doubt go back again. FYI valet brought my cell phone up to room that i forgot in car. Concierge ran to corner to catch us a cab and bellman handed us umbrellas on way out in the rain!
Eat at their gastro pub for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    176
    48
    19
    16
See reviews for
63
509
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My wife and I just returned from our 30th Anniversary trip, and we cannot get over how fantastic our experience was at the Auberge du Vieux-Port. The room was perfect, with an utterly lovely view of the river, and was outstripped only by the view from the Terrace Bar. Most of all, however, the staff was exceptional - all went above and beyond to make our stay what it was, and never once did it feel forced or fake. Finally, the accompanying pub, Gaspar's, was also excellent, both in terms of the food and ambience; again, the waitstaff and bartenders were exceptional. I would unhesitatingly recommend this hotel to anyone - we can hardly wait to return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are certainly worth it, if a bit noisy during busy times of the early evening; ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Central Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice accommodations. The staff is attentive and friendly. Taverne Gaspar was wonderful for cocktails and dinner. View fireworks from the 5th Floor on Wednesdays. The rear entrance places you on Rue Saint-Paul EST near Jacque Cartier Plaza. So beautiful. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in room 203 (king suite facing the river). My girlfriend was so surprised at how beautiful the room was. Brick walls, wooden ceiling beams and neatly decorated with antique furnishings. It was a bit pricey, $300+ per night, but the location and service was unbeatable. Great, friendly and helpful staff, and quick valet car retrieval. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Bonjour,
At the Auberge du Vieux Port, all of the rooms are different when it comes to brick, stone...
We’re glad to hear that you liked yours and that you appreciated the service provided by the staff.
We definitely would love to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay at the Auberge du Vieux-Port. Stayed in one of the rooms facing the water with exposed brick. It was spacious, luxurious, and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. We liked that it was a small hotel, and got to know the staff. It felt very personalized. Since it is such a small hotel, they have limited staff. The first day it took a bit to check in, and then to get our car. I just had to remember I was on vacation, and there to relax...and hanging out in the lobby was relaxing.

Room Tip: Grab a room in the old part of the hotel. From talking with other hotel guests, those seem to be nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,
We’re glad that you had an excellent time with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We do apologize for the delay upon your arrival and when asking for the car.
We hope to have you stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeastern Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My family and I typically visit Old Montreal every summer. I must say that we were more than impressed with the overall level of customer service offered by the staff at this hotel. The hotel is obviously quite historic and charming, and the rooms were quite unique, spacious and nicely appointed. Food was excellent at the main floor restaurant and the roof-top restaurant offers a very nice view of the waterfront. Only area of possible improvement relating to the restaurants would be the timing of service (could be a bit quicker). The location is in the heart of Old Montreal and the hotel. We will be absolutely planning to return to this hotel next summer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Situated on the waterfront in the middle of the old town, this has the charm of a French auberge, but with spacious rooms that are stylish and modern. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast included was very tasty (we liked the eggs benedict).

Our room was one of the 'loft' rooms, with exposed beams and girders and it looked out over a pedestrian street to the rear of the hotel which had several bars and restaurants situated on it.

Top tip: make sure you go to the top floor terrace bar for a drink and nibbles; it overlooks the city and on Weds and Sats you get a good view of the fireworks (sadly we missed these as we were only there for 2 days).

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#32 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old Montreal, Auberge du Vieux-Port is a cozy and elegant boutique hotel with 45 rooms. Some are overlooking the St. Lawrence River and other the historical Saint Paul Street. Combining the architectural patrimony with a contemporary design, the Auberge kept the authentic feel of historic establishments, while offering features and services of a modern hotel that leaves you with a feeling of home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.