We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Auberge du Vieux-Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Good location, nice room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I like this Auberge- it's my second stay here- and again I stayed for 3 nights. The greeting is great on arrival. Fred, the smiling and helpful, has been here both years as I arrive and he's a real gem. My room was not ready when I arrived and it literally was not available until the stroke of 3:00pm even though I was told the people had checked out at 11:30 am. Except for Fred, the other hotel staff were polite but not terribly warm. Definite change from last year when I felt truly welcomed across the board. My room was one floor below last year's-- a river view- but I have to say the room looked a little worn out. Still great post and beam ceiling, lovely view, but the walls needed paint, the bathroom needed a little updating, the amenities were okay but not nearly as nice as what I'd just experienced in Quebec City. However, maybe I'm being picky. At the end of the day, the location is terrific, the bed is comfortable and clean, and the TV worked. Taverne Gaspar, their restaurant, serves breakfast which is included with your room charge. Wait staff is not great in the morning- either understaffed so service is slow, or they are fooling around giggling with each other and not really paying attention. My server this morning asked me THREE TIMES (not kidding) what my room number was. The hotel needs a little $ and attention- still nice- but it's getting dated and shown up by other hotels in Quebec.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Bonjour Madame,
I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to share your experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
The front desk Staff is always willing to have or assign a room that is ready earlier then the time it’s guaranteed; rest assured that it was not done intentionally.
As for the restaurant Staff, I will pass the information to the Manager because something like that is not acceptable and it is not something that often happens.
We do hope to welcome you for a third time very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    208
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
69
594
32
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had reserved a room at Le Petit Hotel for our 3rd night in Montreal, but were asked to move to Auberge (their sister hotel). We were glad we did. The staff were very nice. The room itself (201) was absolutely beautiful with wood floors, stone walls, old beams and 2 parisian-style windows that opened to a view of the river. The bathroom was very modern with a stand-up shower and waterfall shower head. The bed was very comfortable if you like a soft mattress. It was worth it to use the valet service rather than try to find parking. The hotel elevator tends to be a little slow, but we didn't mind using the stairs, being on the second floor. Also, the location couldn't be better, with the main square just around the corner, and everything else in Old Montreal within walking distance. We really enjoyed it here and will return on future visits.

Room Tip: International travelers can get a refund on certain taxes, such as those charged for lodging in Cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
As we all say, everything happens for a reason and we’re glad that everything was excellent during the time you spent with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at the Auberge du Viex-Port for 3 nights, it was a very good experience, the staff was very polite, organized and willing to do anything to make their clients happy. The room was impecable and it was close to everything. I recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in the middle of the old Montreal which has the best restaurants and bars in town!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Monsieur Pietro R,
We’re glad to see that your three night stay bat the Auberge du Vieux Port was excellent.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

3 nights at this charming hotel with a great location, very comfortable bed, great bar the Gaspar where they serve your delicious breakfast that is included, including coffee and fresh squeezed orange and grapefruit juice. Also a microbrewery and oyster bar! Roof top Terrace fantastic but they only open it if no rain in the forcast. Ask for Veronica at the front desk, she is awesome!!! Made great recommendations for restaurants and booked them all for us!! Let's you choose and happy to help. Matthieu the valet guy over the top friendly and he remembers your name and room number on site! Minor problems with our room, shelf in shower broken, chain lock on door broken, toilet chain too short and toilet was running, but I was able to fix that myself. In fairness I told them about it at check out and the manager was writing it all down so I have to believe they will fix it all. Personally we were very happy with our stay!

Room Tip: We treated ourselves to room 502, a riverside deluxe King, with lots of room, separate bath and show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of Mathieu, Veronica and everyone here at the Auberge du Vieux Port, we thank you for staying with us.
Everything mentioned during or after your stay that is maintenance related will definitively be taken care of. That is how we perfect the service we provide for you to be happy with your experience.
Thank you again and we look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohawk, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Auberge on a recent trip to Montreal. The room was absolutely beautiful. The staff was attentive to our every need. Walking distance to everything in Old Montreal. Charming! Do NOT miss a stay at this picturesque hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Bonjour Madame Anne E,
Thank you for taking the time to rate and share your experience.
We hope that you will come back soon for more picturesque moments with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I stayed at the Auberge du Vieux-Port with my mom at the end of April. The staff are lovely and accommodating (and didn't mock my terribly out-of-practice French language skills), the location is great, and we enjoyed the restaurant. However, this is one of those rare hotels where you walk into your room and say "wow". Our room was large, light and charming. The beds were comfortable, and you could hold a dinner party for 8 in the enormous bathroom. For the price, this was a tremendous value. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

Room Tip: We did not choose a room with a river view. Our view was of Rue St. Paul behind the hotel. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are glad that you treated yourselves to a Premium River King room and we’re glad that you enjoyed the extra amenities that come with it.
We hope that we impressed you both for you to come back and stay with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and couldn't have found anywhere in a better location. It is situated on the port side with some lovely views, particularly from the roof top terrace, but if you exit from the rear you are in the heart of the old town. There are numerous restaurants, shops etc. all on your doorstep and the overall atmosphere is charming.
The hotel is in an old converted building which was originally a leather manufacturer. Our room had a high ceiling, exposed stone walls and metal beams and girders giving it a quirky feel. It was well furnished in a modern style with good bathroom facilities. The queen size bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in!
Breakfast is served in the adjoining Taverne Gaspar by friendly staff. It consists of a small buffet, bread, toast, fruit etc. and then a hot choice from the menu served to your table, well cooked and presented.
Would definitely stay again at this hotel, all the staff are so welcoming and friendly, couldn't walk into the hotel or past reception without someone speaking to you, the concierge even remembered our name.
The only parking available at the hotel is valet parking at 30$ a day, we parked in the multi storey opposite the hotel, few minutes walk away, for 24$ a day, still expensive we felt and actually because of the situation of the hotel you really do not need a car. Our only small gripe was that there were no facilities in the room to make hot drinks, however there is always free coffee available in reception.
Overall though a good choice in old Montreal!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the front have better port side views, rooms on the back overlook historic Rue St. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
From our roof top to the shops around, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed everything during the time you stayed with us.
We try as much as possible to always remember the Guests by their names and it is a pleasure for us to do so.
Come back and see us when you are in Montreal and please don’t hesitate to ask us anything you would like to have in your room prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#20 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.