We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel in excellent location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Auberge du Vieux-Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Torquay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in excellent location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and couldn't have found anywhere in a better location. It is situated on the port side with some lovely views, particularly from the roof top terrace, but if you exit from the rear you are in the heart of the old town. There are numerous restaurants, shops etc. all on your doorstep and the overall atmosphere is charming.
The hotel is in an old converted building which was originally a leather manufacturer. Our room had a high ceiling, exposed stone walls and metal beams and girders giving it a quirky feel. It was well furnished in a modern style with good bathroom facilities. The queen size bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in!
Breakfast is served in the adjoining Taverne Gaspar by friendly staff. It consists of a small buffet, bread, toast, fruit etc. and then a hot choice from the menu served to your table, well cooked and presented.
Would definitely stay again at this hotel, all the staff are so welcoming and friendly, couldn't walk into the hotel or past reception without someone speaking to you, the concierge even remembered our name.
The only parking available at the hotel is valet parking at 30$ a day, we parked in the multi storey opposite the hotel, few minutes walk away, for 24$ a day, still expensive we felt and actually because of the situation of the hotel you really do not need a car. Our only small gripe was that there were no facilities in the room to make hot drinks, however there is always free coffee available in reception.
Overall though a good choice in old Montreal!

Room Tip: Higher rooms on the front have better port side views, rooms on the back overlook historic Rue St. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
From our roof top to the shops around, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed everything during the time you stayed with us.
We try as much as possible to always remember the Guests by their names and it is a pleasure for us to do so.
Come back and see us when you are in Montreal and please don’t hesitate to ask us anything you would like to have in your room prior to your arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    216
    54
    20
    16
See reviews for
72
639
33
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My husband and I just spent two nights, three day in lovely Montreal! We stayed at the Auberge du Vieux-Port and we can't say enough good things about the hotel and staff!! Michael and Frederick were great, as was all the staff. The room was fabulous, and the bathroom shower amazing! Great roof deck for a before or after dinner drink, perfect location to walk all over the city. Highly recommend this hotel and we can't. Wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We’re glad to hear that you that we all left you with an excellent memory and good things to say about your experience.
Thank you and we look forward to have you stay with us again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verbank, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Have been there many times and have never been disappointed. Staff does everything to please and accommodate whatever you need. There are certain rooms that are far superior (I'm keeping that info to myself!), but all the facilities are always clean and attended to. I love the old section of Montreal so this hotel is a perfect spot, if you feel the same way about location. The place has expanded into the adjoining space so there is now an on-site bar/restaurant where one can have a full breakfast (included in the price of the room), or a very good dinner if you choose not to go out after a long day in the city. My kudos to Michael--desk manager--and all the car valets, who bring your car to the door when you request it. looking forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: I love the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Bonjour smithie59,
Thank you for being a loyal Guest at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We are very happy to hear that everything was excellent and that you, once again, had a memorable time with us.
We also look forward for your return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

What a lovely boutique hotel...right in the heart of Old Montreal...old world charm...we had room 402...view of the port...windows that open...cloud like bed...lovely faux fireplace...open and airy space and that bathroom!...mere words can not describe that shower!...service from check-in...concierge (Veronique)...housekeeping...wait staff in Gaspar at breakfast and for cocktails were all outstanding!...we felt like welcomed family and we will never forget our experience!...you know what you are doing and hopefully we will be back...if you are researching Old Montreal hotels...DO NOT pass Auberge de Vieux-Port Hotel by...you will not be disappointed...we are grateful!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for our kind words and thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We’re glad you felt like family and family is what you are to us.
We hope that you will come back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel had a charming location in old montreal which made it very convenient to walk to most places. It was also not far from the Metro. The staff was very friendly and genuinely excited for our visit to their city. The hotel included wifi and breakfast in the stay. We would definitely return and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
We feel your excitement to visit city of Montreal and it’s a sincere pleasure to make sure that you get to see everything during your time with us.
Thank you for sharing your experience and we will be seeing you very soon hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deux-Montagnes, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My gf and I recently celebrated our 8th year anniversary and I wanted to spoil her with a little get away.
I heard that this was a nice and romantic place but i must say it truly exceeded my expectations.
The location is close to everything! The staff were so nice and helpful I barely had to do any planning at all! Special thank you to mikael for the excellent restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of everyone here, a big congratulation on your 8th anniversary and we all wish you more years to come.
We mean when we say that we’re here for you and it's sincerely a pleasure for us to answer any questions you may have.
We’re glad to hear that everything exceeded your expectations and we look forward to welcome you back at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just spent a long weekend at this hotel. This place is perfect. It's beautifully decorated without being too much. Every touch is tasteful and stylish. Bed was super comfortable and the shower was heaven. The staff is helpful, nice and very professional. I didn't want to leave. It's a great place to stay if you really want to feel the history of Old Montreal. Part of the magic is the old building which means some stairs and a slow elevator.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Bonjour,
We appreciate you takingthe time to share your experience with other travelers.
The building was built in the 1800’s and we’ve been lucky to work with amazing interior decorators to keep the historical charm and update the amenities with style.
It makes everyone very happy to hear that you will always have a memorable and tasteful memory of the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#21 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.