We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super 3 nights at the Auberge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Auberge du Vieux-Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
San Juan, Puerto Rico
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Super 3 nights at the Auberge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Recently arrived from 3 nights at the Auberge du Vieux Port, April 21 to 24. The Rooms quiet, lot of room and the bed very comfortable. The area full of restaurants, easy to walk around old Montreal.The breakfast included great way to start the day! The personnel very friendly and eager to meet your needs. 5 stars!
William Mulinelli

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Monsieur William Mulinelli,
Thank you for the 5 Stars, it is our pleasure to meet your needs for you to have an excellent memory of your stay.
The entire team looks forward to have you stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    207
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
69
593
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here during the second week of April for the first time. It was his first time in Montreal and my first time not staying with family in the city. The decor of the place was very European and warm. But the best thing about the place was the absolutely amazing service. Everyone was extremely helpful and kind. They gave us maps and advice for our stay. The breakfast was really good (although slightly small portions and you have to pay extra for eggs benedict). The waitress was super at her job and obviously loved working there.

The room was a Queen Deluxe and although the room was a bit petite, it had a lot of charm and the feel of a real high end place. White linen, brick walls, and a rainfall showerhead definitely added to the appeal if our room. The only "con" i would mention would be that the walls are pretty darn thin. It was easy to hear your neighbors talking or having some "intimate" time haha. And the doors slam if you aren't careful. I definitely recommend paying a little extra to get a top floor because they have wooden floors there where you can really hear your above floor neighbor stomping around in heels.

All in all though, totally worth the money for a great place in a perfect location. I have honestly never stayed at a friendlier hotel (they literally jump up to press the elevator button for you and everything Haha). And it was great to be treated respectfully even though we're a really young couple( early 20's).

Stay here!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Auberge du Vieux Port as your first hotel to stay in when not staying with your family.
No matter how old you are, we want you to feel like this is your second home and we're your second family.
You've discovered us and we look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 15 years ago and loved it and my feelings have not changed. The hotel is bigger and a new restaurant has been added-breakfast in the mornings was great. The staff is so nice, the maid service was great and the waiters/waitress were wonderful. The rooms are charming with exposed brick and big windows. The floors are not straight as it's an old building but it was charming. Our bathroom was beautiful and great toiletries for our use. It is also so close to so many tourist attractions, bars and restaurants. That however is a pro and con. It did get loud on the street at night from groups leaving the bars but it didn't bother us much.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Robin M,
On behalf of the entire family at the Auberge du Vieux Port, we thank you for coming back after 15 years. We're sincerely grateful for that.
We're also glad to hear that everything went wonderfully and the people leaving the bars late at night, did not bother you. For you next stay, soon we hope, try the port view rooms if you are coming on the weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Auberge a Saturday night, and we went to see the Montreal Canadiens play at the aBell Center.
The staff was just great! Valet parking, assistance with our luggage, and great service included in your stay.
The loft we got was amazing. Two stories, kitchen, living room, and bedroom takes up entire second floor...high ceilings....it was defintely memorable.
Thank you everyone at Auberge du Vieux Port for helping make our weekend unforgettable.
Rachel and Rita

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Rachel & Rita,
The staff is like family, we’re here for you during your stay to assure you have and unforgettable time with us.
We hope that we will always be the place of choice for your next stay in the Old Montreal and for the next Montreal Canadian game at the Bell Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simcoe, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This inn is conveniently located on the waterfront of Old Montreal. One minute from Place Jacques Cartier and not ten minutes walk to the stunning Basillica du Notre Dame. The staff are very attentive, helpful and efficient. Breakfast is included with your stay and is served in the restaurant adjoining the inn "Gaspar Tavern". Their wait staff are also excellent and accommodating. Rooms are large, spacious and well appointed. This was out second stay at the auberge and were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Room 206 and 306 over look Rue St Paul very picturesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Ron446,
We’re thankful that you took the time to share your experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
I will let everyone know that you had an excellent time with us and appreciated the service provided.
We look forward to welcome you back for your third stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Love this charming hotel. The staff was amazing to us. Everything was perfect. The food, the staff, the room. As our first visit to Montreal, this is as good as it can get. Wonderful experience from the first day to the last of our time spent in this beautiful city. Worth visiting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Guest,
We’re glad to hear that everything was up to you standards and left you with a wonderful memory of your experience at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We do hope that you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff were incredible, the building itself was amazing and gorgeous, and the location couldn't be beat. I would easily stay here again: the bed, the room, the ambience, the view... all amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Monsieur Guido S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on here.
We’re glad to that you’ll easily stay with us again at the Auberge du Vieux Port, for your next visit to Montreal.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#20 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.