We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vieux-Montreal expérience, but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Auberge du Vieux-Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
fw, wa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Vieux-Montreal expérience, but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We splurged on this hotel for our anniversary. We stayed in the older section (it is kind of split into two parts) with the old brick interior walls. If you're looking for that Old World vibe, make sure you ask for these rooms.

The room was gorgeous, definitely lived up to photos. We looked out onto the alley, which is also picturesque - cobblestones & brick. Everything was clean, comfortable & perfect for a romantic getaway, & the staff was always friendly. There is a nice breakfast buffet in the attached bar as well.

Location is as much a plus as the room; there is lots to see in Old Montreal, and for everything else you can use public transportation.

The only downside is that there are several bars around the hotel, and closing time is 2 am. The windows aren't insulated, and the crowds can get rowdy. If you want to sleep before the pubcrawlers are all sent home, this may not be your first choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    208
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
69
594
31
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitehall, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We just spent 5 days in Montreal and the Auberge du Vieux-Port was absolutely fantastic. I highly recommend this hotel. Location is perfect for site seeing. The architecture is beautiful and the beds are wonderful. We very much enjoyed the rooftop bar. The view is excellent! I can't say enough about the staff. They are truly wonderful and incredibly helpful. We look forward to staying here again next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was perfect. The atmosphere of our room was warm with its natural materials and the a/c kept us comfortable as it was hot outside. The location offered great walkabouts on the cobblestone, pedestrian friendly streets with shops and restaurants. The staff, in particular Michael, Oliver and Matthew (MOM) were fantastic. Breakfast in the restaurant Gaspar was included and made for a good start to each day. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have just finished a very nice stay here. Comfy bed, nice room with lots of charm and rustic interior architectural features like stone walls and steel girders. Both the rooftop bar and the street level bar are lovely and worth a visit. Service was excellent, we got many good recommendations, help with dinner reservations, etc. The location is super, right in the middle of old town and an easy walk to shops, restaurants and the river. Five minute walk gets you to the Metro station. The one issue we had was privacy, we had a second story room overlooking a busy old town street, and facing offices directly across. The only curtains that were hung were heavy drapes, meaning either we had to leave ourselves exposed with the curtains open, or close them and have all of our light blocked out. It would be nice if they got some sheer curtains that provided some privacy while letting in some light. So get an upper level room if you can.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Auberge du Vieux-Port is a nice little boutique hotel in Montreals old city. Lovely located it is a great start for your Montreal sightseeing trip.

The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are nice, indiviuell and still very convenient furnished with the ones to the riverside having great views - the view to the back side we got wasn´t that shabby either

You also get a good, fresh made breakfast at the Taverne Gaspar, that you even can eat al fresco on a sunny day - not much traffic on the rue e la commune in the morning! And the roof terrace is abolutly lovely, also I think is ridiculous to charge an extra 25$, if you want to see the fireworks of Canada Day there. But perhaps this is the only way, to keep the crowds away.

The only think which anoyed us a little was the noise from inside - if the windows were closed the noises of the street were kept totally outside- the hotel. In our rooms you could hear anyone on the floor talking. Specially the closing of the doors of the adjacent rooms were very disturbing. A better noise insulation is needed here and is the only thing, the Auberge missed to get a 5 point rating from me.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakefield, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I very much enjoyed staying at the Auberge du Vieu-Port for two nights in June. The location in Old Montreal was perfect for walking to everything including the Montreal Jazz fest Concerts. Also just a short cab ride to the Via Rail station for our trip home. . I have to compliment all the staff but especially Veronique who is at the top of the class for Hospitality employees. with her outgoing personality and excellent customer service.
Oliver went above and beyond for us making a reservation at a Concert we thoroughly enjoyed and recommending things we could do during our stay. Our room was so charming and upscale with a window view of the River and port. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the old town in Montreal.We also had an awesome dinner at Nelson gardens just around the corner

Room Tip: We were in room 411 that had a nice window view of the river & port
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and it was so good. From the moment we arrived the service was first class. I have never stayed anywhere that the staff were so helpful and cheerful. Nothing was too much trouble. Our room was spacious, beautifully maintained with a lovely bathroom. The hotel is in a great location so everything is on the doorstep.
If you could have a perfect boutique hotel, in my view, this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#20 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.