We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine....impecable....a must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Auberge du Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Auberge du Vieux-Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #6 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Divine....impecable....a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Indeed, Auberge du Vieux Port deserves top billing. The location, staff, décor, comfort and well…overall experience (!) were outstanding.

We booked a King premier room…wow. Big exposed beams, hardwood floors, beautiful furnishings and a sleek, modern bathroom. AND….completely spotless (if you’ve read any of my reviews you know what a clean freak I am!).

The bed was huge with divine white bedding, the towels and bathrobes were fluffy and generous. In the bathroom we had a big walk in shower with multiple settings and spray options, but the best was the huge tub with jets. Although we were in Montreal in April we still managed to hit a big snow storm and being able to hit that huge soaker tub with a the bath salts provided was a great way to end the day and get ready for a night on the town.

The staff were amazing….friendly, bilingual, knowledgeable and all had a great sense of humor too!

Breakfast (provided as a hotel guest) was no ordinary “free breakfast” we were able to eat continental or order off the menu….I highly advice the crepes and Quebec maple syrup.

The location was fantastic, shops and restaurants within a stones throw and the ambiance and quaintness of Vieux Montreal were at our door step.

This gem of a hotel is a must for travelers who enjoy the “good things in life”! 5 stars…two thumbs up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    203
    51
    19
    16
See reviews for
68
588
30
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful hotel for one night and loved every minute of it. From the moment we arrived, the staff greeted us with a warm welcome and this welcoming feeling was extended until the moment we departed.
The room was gorgeous, the bed was very comfortable - - we each had a wonderful sleep, and the shower was fantastic! The location is superb; there are numerous restaurants, shops, etc. all within walking distance surrounding the hotel.
The staff are the real gem of this establishment; they are all absolutely remarkable!!! We cannot speak enough praise about Michael, Claude, Fred and Fred (yes, there are 2 of them). Breakfast was included in our stay (it was delicious!) and was served next door at the Taverne Gaspar.
I would not hesitate to recommend Auberge du Vieux-Port to everyone I know thinking of visiting Montreal, and I know that all of our future visits to Montreal will be spent at this hotel. Overall, we were more than satisfied with our stay as all of our expectations were surpassed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Auberge de Vieux-Port was a small, five-story hotel that was managed by a warm, caring, unpretentious concierge staff. While the façade was not terribly impressive, the entrance lobby was attractively designed. It provided a computer for guests, as well as coffee and tea 24/7 gratis, along with a bowl full of apples to quell that midnight craving. Multiple newspapers were also provided. Given the inclusive social climate of Montreal and how main-stream gay travelers have become, I was surprised that the hotel did not provide guides for the LGBT community.

Room #506 faced rue Saint-Paul, and was located on the top floor. It was very large: the loft-like dimensions were approximately 30’ x 15’ including the entrance area, and comfortably fit a desk, a table, and three sizable chairs. The full size beds had attractive, iron head and foot-boards. Two exterior walls were composed of rustic looking exposed brick, while the inner walls were composed of rather thin wall board. Although the hardwood floors were attractive, they did nothing for sound insulation: footsteps in nearby rooms were too easily heard. I would recommend, at the very least, that area rugs be placed in areas of high foot traffic.

An armoire concealed the television and well-stocked refrigerator so they were not a visual focus and did not detract from the charm of the attractive room.

The very large, striking bathroom held ladder-like shelving that displayed a generous supply of amenities such as soap, shampoo, body lotion, towels, and a gleaming, small ice bucket. The piece de resistance in the bathroom was the sophisticated, modern, stainless steel shower mechanism that offered a rain shower with the option of using additional spigots that spewed water from three different points, or a hand-held shower head. It transformed the routine of showering into an event! While the ambient lighting was attractive, it was not practical for shaving or inserting contact lenses. This is an example where function over form should preside.

An iron was stored in the closet along with a safe and umbrella. Terry cloth robes were also provided with slippers – a nice amenity. In summary, this was a well-managed, personable, comfortable hotel that was located near many popular historic sites and a short distance from the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Your description and comments are greatly appreciated by the entire team and it is a pleasure to hear that you had an excellent stay.
A personalised service is what we try our best to give to all of the Guests.
We want everyone to get to know us; to come and see us for any information or questions they may have regarding any type of requests. We do not display any general information at the front desk because we want to get to know all of the Guests staying with us.
Rest assured that we cater to all groups of people and the Auberge du Vieux Port welcomes everyone with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I have a soft spot for stone buildings so when I saw the pics online for the lofts, I knew I had to stay here. It was the perfect location behind my reason for visiting ... plus it is a quick walk to the métro (either champ de mars or place d'armes on the orange line) and very close to the VIA station (bonaventure station).

The staff were very kind and easy going yet professional. They were attentive & accommodating to what makes a stay go from good to great. Very bilingual which helps when you lose the word in French.

My "mini condo" was fantastic! I took advantage of the kitchen perks and visited Montreal's Jean Talon market. Thank goodness for the fridge (kept my crétons & other Quebec exclusives perfectly). Oven was great for a snowy night in - who knew Pizzédélic had freezer versions?!

Now, some may argue that being above a jazz bar is a problem but when the mini condo is that great, who cares? It's jazz - not rock and roll. Besides, If you are not tired enough to fall asleep to the melody, you did not walk enough. Montreal is a great walking city - enjoy it!

Room Tip: Request that the room have an iPhone docking station if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Beautiful botique hotel in the middle of Old Montreal. Came here for New Years as a couple and had a wonderful trip. Staff is awesome, espically Trifon- made us feel at home the entire trip. He always had great advice and went above and beyond to make sure we were as comfortable as possible
Historic, industrial feel, mixed with excellent decor and extremely clean ammenities make you feel as if you're a houseguest of well traveled friend, not a hotel patron. We will definitely be back soon, hopefully in warmer weather to enjoy the roof top!

Good to know that the Tarverne Gaspar is connected to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lovely room with exposed brick, view of the harbour, bath robes, glass shower, clean comfy bed - 'nuff said! Staff were super friendly, great restaurant recommendation based on our preference. We liked the back exit to the cobble stone street to walk to the restaurant. Breakfast in the hotel pub was excellent. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I spent 3 days/2 nights at the Auberge du Vieux-Port recently and was very pleased with the visit. I had found it on Trip Advisor. Its along the port, in the heart of Old Montreal with much of this area of the city accessible on foot.

The service - from the concierge/valet who took my car and bags, to the front desk, to the breakfast service, to the housekeepers, we fantastic. Friendly, helpful, smiling, helpful, courteous, helpful (do you detect a theme here?).

The room - large, very comfortable, well appointed, immaculate, very large bathroom with a two-person sized pool/bath to a great shower (with multiple sprays and settings). Free WiFi worked well.

The sitting space in the reception of the hotel is a comfortable place to read the paper, have a drink, regroup after a day of walking, relax or meet friends; and the WiFi worked well. So many large hotels have abandoned comfortable vestibules (to cut down on loitering??) and so few small hotels can afford the space.

Breakfast - Plentiful, included in the room, quickly served (including omelettes, crepes and pancakes.

I didn't eat at the attached pub, Gaspar's, except for the breakfast (when it is closed to non-hotel clients), so can't rate it. This is right off the lobby of the hotel, but only open in the evenings - not at lunch.

In any case, there are 50 hotels within 500m of the hotel - some of them are even good! Try Les Pyrenees or Stash Cafe - two of my favorites.

Room rate was a little high (with taxes ca $200 US), but with the wifi, good breakfast breakfast, quality of the rooms, excellent service, and the room amenities, certainly competitive for this area of town. I would strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: The elevator is excruciatingly slow, so a room on the 1st or 2nd floor might be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was great reading your comment because we felt that you appreciated and enjoyed your stay at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
It is a pleasure for us to give you the best service, leaving you with an excellent memory of the time you spent with us.
Always keep in mind that our rates are based on the occupancy and do change from day to day.
We do hope to have you stay with us again very soon and for the next time, you will have to try the Gaspar Tavern for their excellent comfort food dining experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.