We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Old Montreal Canada!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Save Saved
You added Auberge du Vieux-Port to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #7 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Lake Wales, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Old Montreal Canada!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Our great experience with the Auberge du Vieux Port started before we even got there. Mylene from the hotel called my cell the night before we arrived to let us know they were all ready for us and was there anything she could do to help! Wow that was a first for me in all my travels and it totally made me feel great about my choice. Once we arrived which was an easy cab ride of only $40 from the airport we greeted with really nice cheerful staff that greeted you in French which by the way I love and then as soon as you spoke they immediately start talking to you in English. The room was amazing! The decor, large wooden beams and windows looking over the streets of old Montreal made you feel like you were in a really cool loft or studio apartment. The 2 person jacuzzi was great and being 6 ft I totally was able to stretch out and the shower was awesome with lots of room. The bed was super comfortable and slept great! The restaurant had awesome breakfast we had amazing chocolate croissants and eggs Benedict was great! We also at there for dinner a couple nights and everything was great! The staff at this hotel are all awesome! Very friendly very helpful! The hotel is located perfectly along the water and streets of Old Montreal. We walked to Notre Dame, Museum to see cool Samurai exhibit , good shopping and lots of good pubs and restaurants ! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    572
    193
    50
    19
    16
See reviews for
66
546
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at the Auberge, the hotel is charming and the ambiance is fantastic, the service was great. Once we arrived they parked the car and we didn't see it again until we left on Sunday, the location is perfect for those who love to walk, the brick walls and wood floors make this boutique hotel one of the best in old Montreal, I would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a great mini-break to Montreal and had the best time staying at this hotel. Perfect for getting around Old Montreal and so easy with its great restaurant attached and pleasant bar. Overall it was sophisticated yet laid back and the concierge couldn't have been nicer or more accommodating. We will be back. There were very helpful with our kids too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After staying at Hotel Gault and Hotel Neligan for many of our past trips in Montreal, we were crowded out to having to choose a new lodging in Old Montreal. The review of this hotel was so good that we decided to take a chance. I have to say it is a nice hotel but much to be desired for more discerned travelers who have experienced more unique hotels such as Hotel Gault.
The service was nice and personable and we booked a delux king with water view. The bathroom was very oversized however the toilet seat was so close to the sharp corner of the shower stall that one cannot sit straight without bumping into the glass. Husband rose from the loo too fast one time and hit his head hard on the glass and still nurturing a scar right now.
The breakfast was fairly limited in choice and same thing everyday day after day. We couldn't help but comparing it to the breakfast at hotel Gault. Basic is the word du jour. the hot entries are also rudimentary in taste. If this is somewhere Midwest in the US, tolerable, but in the old town Montreal, a tad disappointing. On a Sunday morning, the poor waitress girl was alone waiting on more than 10 tables. That process could have been optimized.
Wireless Internet was very good, though when the hotel lost power that first afternoon we got there, all went dark and room temp plunged fast as well.
Nespresso machine is a fantastic touch but they provide only simbolically few pods. We had to go to front desk to ask for more, which after the first day, it became an annoying chore, and we had to go out to buy a few tubes of pods on our own.
If you are new explorjng Montreal and enjoyed the charm of old town historical look and feel and not a diehard gourmet seeker, this is a good hotel, but for those of us whose expeirence and expectations have been shaped and influenced by better boutique loft hotels, this auberge lags on some fronts.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

If you want the total feeling of being welcomed as if you were with family, then look no further than the Auberge du Vieux Port. Mylene and Michael welcome you at the front desk and Matthieu and Fred will look after you like they are brothers. The hotel is full of charm and the rooms a delightful with exposed brick, the most comfortable beds, huge wooden beams and lovely hardwood flooring. The bathrooms are tremendous with rain showers that really wake you up in the morning. The hotel boasts an excellent restaurant, Gaspar, that servers an excellent breakfast and superb evening meals. The Gaspar has a great selection of wine and spirits to satisfy the discerning drinker. Old Montreal awaits just steps away with loads of restaurants, bars, shops and a short walk to downtown Montreal. The experience is always good but great in the summer.

Room Tip: Look for special deals at various times of the year to enhance you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My Hubby and I spent the first night of our honeymoon here and it was amazing!!! We loved the room and all the extra touches, not to mention the wonderful customer service, the beautiful and comfy lobby and the delicious food!!! We live close and drive to Montreal often and have eaten dinner many time since (can't wait to go back again for breakfast!). We will definitely stay at the Auberge again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I recently returned from a last minute trip to Montreal (11/19-21). Having never been there before I spent quite a bit of time with online research looking for the right hotel. I decided that the perfect location for me would be he Old Port (Vieux Port) of Montreal. Based on the reviews that I read through Trip Advisor "Auberge du Vieux Port" had some great reviews. The hotel pictures on-line looked very warm and quaint with it's exposed brick walls and ceiling beams. Exactly the charm that I was looking for. I booked my room online taking advantage of their special Autumn Sweet Deal Package which included breakfast and a 50% discount on your 2nd night stay (I was staying for 2nts) as well as other discounts to Montreal attractions and 4 metro tickets. I was not disappointed!!

Arriving after a 7 hour drive it was nice to be greeted warmly by Maria who quickly got us settled into our room (although we arrived before the normal 3pm check-in). The English and French language comes easily. The room was just as it was in the picture except better. We had 2 rooms (301 and 501) and both offered unobstructed Port Views. Bathrooms were nicely appointed with great a Shower. You had 3 options in the shower, the Overhead Rain Shower, Handheld Shower or Body Sprays. It certainly made it tough getting out shower after a day of sightseeing. The pillows on the bed and the down comforter were also fantastic.

Breakfast during our stay was fine with a nice selection of Continental Breakfast items set buffet style along with an a la Carte menu for entrees offering Omelets, Crepes and Traditional Eggs. It definitely met our needs. Unfortunately we did not get to experience their restaurant for any other meals during our stay.

The day we checked out we planned on leaving Montreal around 4pm. Although check-out was at noon they allowed us to leave our car with them an hour longer than the 3pm maximum without an additional charge. When we requested to store our luggage Michael at guest reception (another warm and friendly individual) told us no problem and to just leave our bags in our room when we checked out. He would take care of being sure that our bags would be in the car and ready for us when we returned. Now I have stayed in a number of hotels (as well as work for one myself) in my life and many times things are not always communicated. Well not at "Auberge du Vieux Port". We returned at 4:00pm and found our car already out front of the hotel with our luggage placed in the trunk! I was impressed! This certainly left an impression on me to come back and write this review.

If your looking for a great, charming, quaint hotel with character "Auberge du Vieux Port" is an obvious choice. With their guest service levels I will certainly be returning when back in Montreal!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere and Otel so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge du Vieux-Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.