We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pointe a Calliere = Fun and learning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pointe-a-Calliere Museum

Pointe-a-Calliere Museum
350 Place Royale, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3Y5, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
+1 514-872-9150
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 480 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Birthplace of Montreal and an authentic archaeological site, Pointe-a-Calliere, Montreal Museum of Archaeology and History leads visitors through six centuries of history, from Indian days to the present. Don’t miss the multimedia show, Yours Truly, Montreal and the two permanent exhibitions, Where Montreal Was Born and Montreal Love Stories. The Museum also presents two national or international temporary exhibitions every year on historical or archaeological themes, as well as many cultural activities. In 2013, the temporary exhibitions are The Beatles in Montreal and The Tea Roads.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pointe a Calliere = Fun and learning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Wow! This past weekend, I re-discovers this place and was truely impressed with their improvements. I hadn`t been in years and it wowed me.

The ticket counter staff was super informative when i getting tickets for the museum. I get one senior ticket - I child ticket and me an adult. Based on the ages... She informed me what was available and would be Fun/Age appropriate for us.
My ten year old became an archioligist for about 45 minutes... This hands on interactive activity with a guide was awesome. Kids (they were between 3 and 10 in this group) just loved digging in the sand to find relics.

For the senoir in our group - A wonderful Blast from the past with the Temporary Exhibit of the Beatles. All ages of people were milling around the Exhibit hall... and just about everyone was either moving to the beat of the music or singing - Reagarless the age.

This museum was surprisingly very fun.
Recomend you put aside 2 to 3 hours to enjoy everything.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    232
    58
    21
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
108 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“One of the best ways to introduce or re introduce yourself to Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

As a regular to the Pointe-a-Calliere Archaeology and History Museum, I have adored it from the beginning but this May I rediscovered it , with a great new feature which I absolutely loved. Especially for children, a place where they can experience being an archaeologist.

Your experience and visit starts with a multi media presentation done by Moment Factory of Montreal who specialise with multi media. The presentation is about 18 minutes, they use the digs below to tell you the entire story of Montreal. With the headsets you can choose from a multitude of languages.
The second part is to actually go into the archaeological site. The exact spot where Montreal was founded in 1642. You will be met by a museum guide who will explain to you what the found when they began the digs.
The foundations of the buidlings are still there, the burial grounds, you even walk into Montreal's first sewer (don,t worry its not dirty, just fascinating).
The next section shows you how the very spot your are standing on changes through time, with more digs
The a separate entrance you will also find the section where the children can experience an actual dig.
If you take a walking tour with a professional tourist guide before or after the visit to the museum then you will really get a sense of how fantastic the museum and old Montreal really are.
In late May the museum has a weekend of Culture with many of Montreal's cultural groups giving dance performance, arts displays and food tastings.

In late August there we turn the entire area back to its orginal 18th Century market. The very spot where Montreal's first market was. There you will have producers that still make cheeses, ciders, first nations bread and much much more which you can try and everyone is dressed in period costumes

The top part of the museum as a spectacular view of Montreal and feels like you are standing on a ship coming into port.

There is also a restaurant at the top called L'arrivage which is a great place for brunch or lunch before or after your visit and a great place to relax. Food is excellent.

Those who arrive into the port of Montreal on cruise ship will be docked right in front of the Museum, less then a few meters away you are at the museum.

Well worth it a great experience. I never get tired of this museum with new things to discover each time I go.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

After walking past the construction site...we realized this was the place we were looking for.
What a great museum and such a well thought out space....wasnt sure why there was a beatles exhibit on.. not my cup of tea so we went thru the museum which is well laid out....the film prior to the walking tour was nicely done as well..
I would reccomend this attraction to everyone interested in some history of montreal... the second floor had a great little exhibition on montreal couples and romance that was nicely done as well

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
51 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Interesting museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

From the old foundations and early history of Montreal, which are well laid out, there was an exhibition about the Beatles and their visit to Montreal in September 1964. The history and architecture were excellent and well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“cute little museum, but over priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We enjoyed the museum, especially the lower floor where the foundations of early Montreal buildings are visible, but there's not a lot of there there--in the building across the street from the main entrance they had a 2-floor exhibit commemorating the Beatles' one & only visit to Montreal--2 floors! I love the Beatles, but even I was a little bored by the time we finished. Overall good museum to get a sense of Montreal history, but it's not cheap and there ain't much to see!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pointe-a-Calliere Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pointe-a-Calliere Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pointe-a-Calliere Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.