We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barroco

Barroco
312 ST-PAUL O., Montreal, Quebec H2Y2A3, Canada (Ville-Marie)
(514) 544-5800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 4,549 Restaurants in Montreal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Made a reservation at this restaurant months before coming into the city for a visit as we were really looking forward to it. All I really have to say about our experience is that the service and servers looked like we were putting them out of their way to serve us and it made us very uncomfortable, it took them two hours to serve our entree and three hours before we got the bill. The food was excellent but it did not make up for the horrible service and experience we had. It will be a long time before we go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    63
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Intimate and charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This restaurant oozes charm, and the food is equally pleasing. My husband and I stopped in without reservations on Monday night, hoping to grab a table. (Restos in Montreal tend to close early on Monday, if they're open at all), and were lucky to find a seat.

While the paella isn't authentic (it's more of a risotto mixed with seafood before being served), it was a delicious dish. My husband's mushroom pasta (the "pasta d'moment) was equally tasty. Both dishes were presented beautifully, and reflected the chef's care and talent.

The beautiful lighting and interior of this charming establishment are romantic and delightful. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very Nice, Romantic and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

In the old city along Saint Paul Rue there are a number of shops and quaint places to eat. On Valentine’s weekend we took a horse carriage ride (in the ice cool evening w/ a bottle of bubbly to ward off frost bite) from our hotel through the old city to our restaurant of the evening Barroco. It was a small and comfortable place. It was warm and welcoming, the staff was engaging and not hovering. The menu was short but full of fresh exciting items. We enjoyed a long dinner and have a wonderful time. If you need to take someone special for a special meal you can't miss here at least we did hit a home run.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We tried out Barocco on the recommendation from a local; he said they had great drinks here. It was a little hard to find, and ended up walking into the restaurant next door instead. We found the restaurant to be small but cozy; very nice decor as it was an older building, with the stone walls and the wooden beams. It was quite busy; thank goodness we had reservations. My girlfriend needed help finding a washroom, so the waiter hurridly opened the door for her, only to find someone inside using it.
My friends decided to order a few dishes and share it, kind of like our own self-made tapas (this Spanish restaurant isn't tapas though). We got the angus beef tartare, ribsteak, duck, paella, and I want to say one more dish that had sausage in it. The dish that stood out the most was the duck; it was extremely tender, juicy, definitely the best duck we've ever had. Otherwise, the rest of the stuff was pretty ordinary; the angus tartare was tasteless, ribsteak was chewy, paella was kind of ordinary, and the sausage was very flavourful but salty.
My friends had some cocktails; their drinks were pretty unique and tasty.
Overall, I think the restaurant has great ambiance, service, and drinks. The food was hit or miss though. I think it's definitely worth a try.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Cosy, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is not a large restaurant so as a group of six we were lucky that they had a table, really a booth, to accommodate us. A reservation would be a good idea. They serve cheese both as a first course and as a dessert. The cheese which should have been runny was not quite ripe which DH tried to explain patiently to the French speaking waiter in English. Two of us had duck as a main course and it was absolutely excellent. Nice wine list. The service was a bit patchy as there did not seem to be a waiter assigned specifically to our table. We settled in for a leisurely dinner and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I would return to this restaurant because there were a number of interesting items on the menu that I would like to try sometime.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barroco also viewed

 

Been to Barroco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barroco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.