We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool contemporary bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zero8 - CLOSED

Zero8
1735 St-denis, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3K4, Canada (Ville-Marie)
(514)658-5552
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $23 - $92
Cuisines: Hamburgers, International, Bistro, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“cool contemporary bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

great little bar and restaurant on Rue St Denis, great vibe, excellent wine

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Haven for People with Food Allergies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We specifically visited this restaurant based on a recommendation of a food allergy website. It did not disappoint!
It is located in the Latin Quartier of Montreal. The closest subway stop is Berrie-UQAM, exit onto Rue St. Denis, it's a short walk. Located in more of a 'locals' neighborhood, not so touristy, and mostly French is spoken here.
We dined at around 5:30 pm on a Thursday. The waiter asked about food allergies in our party right off the bat. They eliminate the top 8 food allergens from the restaurant. The owner, who was there, is food allergic himself, so they are very careful.They even had gluten free soap in the restrooms.
The waiters had a pretty good knowledge of English, and tried their best to communicate the menu to us. There is a children's menu as well. Our food allergic daughter was so excited to be able to order anything she wanted off the menu, especially dessert, usually off limits for her anytime we eat out.
The portions were not too large, just right in fact. We especially enjoyed the braised beef and the duck salad. We tried 3 desserts-lava cake, apple cake and a blueberry muffin type cake. They were all good, couldn't tell they were gluten and dairy free. The food was very fresh and came piping hot.
It was a bit pricey, for 4 adults and one child, a few cocktails and desserts, it was around $160 with tip. Montreal is generally very expensive, and this was the most we spent on a meal on our trip.
It was fun to see a family with a food allergic child next to our table so excited to be able to order bread and pasta at a restaurant, he was so happy.
I do wish they could franchise restaurants of this type in the U.S.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

This was a great treat on my vacation. I have a few of the "major 8" allergies but also some that go beyond that. It was such a relief to be able to order food from a kitchen the knew everything that was going in to their food!

We had multiple appetizers and a main each. Everything tasted excellent. I only had two issues, the quality of the steak I had wasn't great which I was surprised about considering the rest of our courses.. And I wasn't able to eat any of the desserts due to my allergies. Kind of annoying as I would have expected a restaurant like this to have desserts that could be customized for the customers it draws in!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“we weren't expecting much and were thrilled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We went to this restaurant as our guest of honour is celiac and the entire menu is gluten free, as well as being free of the 8 major allergens people react to (including dairy, nuts, seafood/fish and others). We expected the food to be so so but it was actually very tasty and very nicely presented. They had lovely blender drinks and overall everyone enjoyed the meal very much and we would go back again. Make sure to reserve, this is a popular spot and not a huge room.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Service Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't wait for them to open up a chain in Ontario. I really hope they do. This its the place to eat at if you're allergic to any of the following :1. Fish and seafood
2. Peanuts
3. Nuts
4. Sesame seeds
5. Milk
6. Soya
7. Eggs
8. Wheat or any grain containing gluten (barley, oat, rye and triticale)
9. Sulfites (food supplement)

I chose this place because I'm celiac and can't tolerate even trace amounts. Not only did I get excellent service, the food was delicious and had plenty of options. My friends who accompanied me, and are not celiac, also enjoyed the food a lot. Their dessert menu is unique and very tasty.

Their staff is friendly and knowledgable and working with the sole agenda to help you have a good time. I wasn't sure what I could pack for my trip back to London the next day, so I asked their staff. They were sure to consult with the chef to make sure the food I packed wouldn't go bad.
They also sell packaged food that's prepared in their cafe- so you're absolutely sure there's no cross contamination.

I know whenever I return to Montreal, that's the place I'm eating at. No doubt about it.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zero8 also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zero8, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.