We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Papillon

Restaurant Papillon
85 Rue Saint Paul Est, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Ville-Marie)
(514) 866-0440
Improve this listing
Ranked #906 of 4,550 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Ville-Marie
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Awesome food, great location and pretty good service. Pizza and pasta dish was amazing. Wine prices were reasonable. Would definately recommend and will go back next time we are in montreal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    46
    21
    22
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, wonderful presentation, and best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

All good things I have to share about this gem! Superb location right on Saint-Paul Rue E. Great outdoor seating. One of the nicest servers we had on our two week vacation! Fresh delicious food with a true presentation flourish. Every dish looked like a post card! I had the Salmon salad which was one of the best meals I ate anywhere in Canada. My mom had the haddock and chips. Both meals were great and plenty of food for hungry travelers.
The price was really good for the location at around $10-26/entree.
If I had stayed longer, I would have returned and for me that is the highest compliment!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“food great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

soup of the day was excellent, sat us nicely with a view. they could up their game on the horrid no-thought-put-to-it tea; supply a good brand people !

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good Food & Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice little restaurant in a great part of the city. The service was good and the prices were normal for the area. We chose to sit outside which got a bit warm as there were no umbrellas despite the sun shining directly on the tables. The bees were out and about, and seemed to be bothering each of the tables (one nose-dived directly into my wife's iced tea). We enjoyed salad and French Onion Soup for apps, and shared a medium pepperoni pizza for lunch. Add in the fresh baked bread, and it was too much food for lunch.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eckington, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best pizza outside of Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I'm glad we didn't read the reviews before we found this place in the old city otherwise we would have missed the excellent pizza we had for dinner. If you love thin crusty puzza with loads of topping made from fresh ingredients then this is your place. We had the Scicillian (spicy sausage, cheese tomato, peppers) and the Toscane (fresh tomato, mushrooms ham cheese basil). The 10" was ample. Our waiter was a lovely young man who was very attentive. The food that we saw being delivered to other tables looked very good too. We were eating around 8:30 in the evening. Its in a great area in the old city - when we came out it felt very continental with lots of people just strolling up and down.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Papillon also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Papillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.