We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #3 of 164 hotels in Montreal
San Juan, Puerto Rico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best of the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Best location, Best Service, Best Intercontinental Breakfast, Best Housekeeping, and this hotel has nothing Petit about it. It is Grandeur. Located at the Old Montreal and near the new City. Terrific.

Room Tip: It also had free Internet service and great accessibility to anywhere. [port, downtown]
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    104
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
357
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yarmouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

What a wonderful experience in this special boutique Old Montreal hotel. From the Lattes to help with navigating Old Montreal the staff is friendly and so helpful. The rooms were quiet, clean and well decorated, The bed...so comfortable! We would recommend to anyone looking for a hotel in Old Montreal!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pacific palisades, CA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had four people in the large room on the 3rd floor overlooking rue st paul. One on the sofa bed and another on a rollaway - lots of room and very comfortable. Great bathroom. Good wifi. Not too hard to find, even coming in at night and they have a valet to park the car. Close to everything and great walking along the river. breakfast was continental, but lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

A charming boutique hotel on Rue St Paul Old Montreal. From the moment staff welcomed us at the door, to divine breakfast in the quaint breakfast room, beautiful coffee, comfortable bed, beautiful furnishings, exposed brick and fabulous location, you must stay here! So pleased I found this hotel on Trip Advisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Really cozy - nestled into a cobblestone street right in the heart of Old town, which turned out to be our favorite part of the city.

Boutique hotel with only about 30 rooms - 4 stories.

Breakfast - huge pain au chocolate and plain croissants, fruit, yogurt and other items. Coffee or tea and OJ made to order and was the best coffee and hotel of the 3 hotels we stayed in on this trip.

Small Lobby - comfortable - view of street and passing horse carriages although white chairs could be more comfortable when you lean back on them. Café in lobby for tea, coffee and not sure if they served wine but would be a good addition if not.

Room - we had small room for 3 nights. That worked fine for us and certainly was not the smallest room we have ever had. Nice bed and well laid out bathroom, with room below sink for your toiletries. Luggage rack, closet and long desk were good for other items. Shower was small/standup 1 person and had 6 shower heads which was nice but appreciated the shower cap in the room when just getting refreshed for dinner due to spray. Plenty of hot water.

Nice flat screen TV mounted on wall.

Our room 2nd floor faced a side street and we didn't hear any noise.

Bed was comfortable, room neat and clean.

Issues - they don't use fitted sheet which means pull up and frame on bed sticks out over mattress so be cautious or get bruises. Spotty Wifi.

Overall - service was wonderful. Great recommendations on restaurants, how to navigate to metro or to buses, taxis...anything we needed. Looked forward to returning to room each day and not just because we were tired - always a good sign.

Good value for location and quality. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: 1st floor does have a door between lobby and rooms but may be noisier due to lobby, phones, café and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We did a two week road trip for our honeymoon and Montreal was our second stop we stayed two nights and I wish we stayed one more night! Le Petit hôtel was amazing!! We could not stop raving about the staff. Xavier was the first person we encountered and he was so nice he helped unload our car and brought everything right to our room and then took our car to there parking garage. Alexandra checked us in and she was so sweet and helpful. On our second day we came back from lunch out and found a sweet honeymoon card and two delicious cupcakes from the staff wishing us a happy wedding. We were headed out for more adventures that day when Alexandra stopped us and asked us if we wanted to upgrade our room to there best room for free. Oh my gosh our first room was great it was off the lobby so a little loud but very cute and thought it was great but oh man the next nights room was mind blowing!! So amazing and let me say the showers are to die for!! Also Carlos was such a huge help to us telling us where to go eat everyday and the food was amazing at every place can't go wrong with there recommended places! We would gladly stay here again! Thank you guys for making our honeymoon memorable.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I spent our 20 year anniversary here (we stayed for a full week). We had a large room overlooking Rue St Paul on the 3rd floor. At first I was concerned about street noise, but the windows block sound well. The beds are some of the most comfortable I've ever experienced in a hotel (and I travel a lot) and the rain shower is fantastic. The location is wonderful. It's in Vieux Montreal and an easy walk to all areas of interest, but it's not in the highest tourist area so the number of people wasn't insane. Staff was very helpful and the breakfast was nice. No eggs, but lots of yummy pastries, yogurt and fruit. My only complaint is the lack of coffee maker in the rooms. I need coffee first thing so I had to throw clothes on and run down to the breakfast area sans makeup and bring cups back up to our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip chic boutique hotel with 28 rooms and a reception area that doubles as a lobby-cafe. Housed in two 19th-century buildings, Le Petit Hotel is a jewel of contemporary design appealing to the curious, modern traveler who seeks to embrace in local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.