We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best hotel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Le Petit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“By far the best hotel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This cute little hotel sits on the oldest street in Montreal. It is very quaint and yet elegant. The hotel staff was extremely friendly and were always happy to help and answer any of our questions about Montreal. The room was gorgeous and quite spacious. I loved everything about it. They served complementary breakfast every morning, as well as fresh coffee and watermelon or cucumber infused water throughout the entire day. Sitting and relaxing with a glass of cold water was the perfect way to return from a long day of sightseeing. The breakfast itself was beyond excellent. They had fresh fruit salad, different yogurt options, several kinds of delicious pastries and breads (croissants, pain au chocolat, muffins, scones, raisin bread, etc.), cereals, and muesli as well. They had honey and wonderful jam for the bread, which you could toast in the toaster. The raisin bread was the best bread I've ever had, as well as the jam that I had along with it. The pain au chocolat was also impossible to resist. The location of the hotel could not have been better, as there was much to do that was within walking distance. Everything about my stay at this hotel was perfect and well worth the cost.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    94
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
61
326
22
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The hotel is located on a beautiful street that begs to be photographed. The room was a nice mix of modern and old world charm. You can easily walk to sights, restaurants and Metro stations. Front desk staff were amazing! They'll take care of everything you need. The hotel offers a free continental breakfast with fresh croissants, fruit, muffins... if you can drag yourself out of the comfortable bed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We just returned and I am so missing our cool, hip, clean room at Le Petit Hotel. The breakfast, which is included, had the best and largest croissants as well as the best coffees ever! The location, right in the middle of the old port is perfect for walking to restaurants, shops, sights, the water, and Chinatown. The metro and buses are close by, also. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful. We felt like we had a mini condo in the middle of the old port and we will definitely be back. The coolest stay in a hotel ever!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

the hotel did everything right ... the staff helped us in every way; the room was exactly as described; our room was perfectly clean and in order; the front desk helped us with restaurants/where to go; etc. the breakfast, however, was not very good - although the croissants were tasty. definitely a small hotel, it is not a typical "grand" hotel ... so don't expect that. also, it was a bit expensive (in my opinion).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Le Petit hotel was a lovely place to stay in Old Montreal. The hotel and surroundings had a lot of charm. Hotel staff was welcoming and helpful, and breakfast was included. The place lives up to its name, but if you are looking for a personal experience in Montreal, this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at Le Petit Hotel for three nights in July, 2013. Saturday morning, we disembarked the M.S. Maasdam. The walk from the cruise terminal to to the hotel was easy, just three blocks. We arrived at 10 am, and of course our room was not yet available but the staff was quite happy to store our bags until check in, allowing us to spend the day exploring Old Montreal, The hotel itself was as advertised, small, hip, and modern. Our medium sized room was well-appointed and quite comfortable. My one small quibble is that the king bed's mattress was a little softer than I like. The hotel's location was perfect, not just because of the close proximity to the cruise terminal and the rest of the waterfront, but also because it is surrounded by Old Montreal's wonderful art galleries and restaurants, and just a short walk from subway and bus lines to take you anywhere else in Montreal. Prior to our stay we were deciding between Le Petit and another highly-rated place two blocks down the street, Hotel Nelligan. We chose Le Petit because of the added value of included continental breakfast, This proved to be a particularly helpful feature on our last morning, as we had a quick and delicious breakfast right in the lobby prior to leaving for the airport. The front desk made the arrangements the night before, and a taxi was waiting for us 5 minutes before our requested scheduled departure. I would recommend Le Petit Hotel to anyone planning a stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here both due to its proximity to the Bell Centre as well as its location in the heart of Old Montreal. The rooms are stylish and quite comfortable with an amply sized restroom as well as comfortable beds with fresh linens. The hotel is a small (true to its name) boutique hotel so do not expect an attached 5 star restaurant with room service, however, there is a small cafe in the lobby as well as a continental breakfast in the morning. The service was excellent and the location impossible to beat (a short 2 block walk to the Notre Dame Basilica) as well as numerous restaurants and cafes.

Overall a great experience in a hotel loaded with character that we would be happy to return to in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip chic boutique hotel with 28 rooms and a reception area that doubles as a lobby-cafe. Housed in two 19th-century buildings, Le Petit Hotel is a jewel of contemporary design appealing to the curious, modern traveler who seeks to embrace in local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.