We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a great boutique hotel in historic Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Le Petit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3rd night at 50%
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This place is a great boutique hotel in historic Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Everything was great. Huge room. Nice bathroom. Super, all around. My only small complaint is that breakfast was sort of slapdash - pick from a croissant or two and some yogurt. But - I would easily and happily stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    121
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
75
409
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A small hotel, perfectly located in the old town, nice decor, good-sized room, comfortable bed and pillows. Oh, and a great shower. I apparently. Need to enter 200 characters in this box, but I think that what I just said summarized the experience perfectly. There. Is that 200?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Loved this hotel. We had previously stayed and loved its sister property Place d'Armes. Le Petit Hotel is more intimate, just wonderful in mixing hip modern style and Vieux Montreal charm. Great rooms, wonderful fresh coffee and breakfast, lovely staff. Just superb!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This review is a little late, but I can't stress how much we enjoyed staying here. The rooms are great and the beds are comfortable. The staff are friendly and made us a list of all the restaurants he though we should check out. It's really close to our favourite little lunch spot Olive & Gourmando, and Dolcetto & C.o, which is a major plus. If you want to stay in Old Montreal, this is your spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have just spent three nights at Le Petit Hotel and found that the staff, especially those on the Reception desk and breakfast service to be the friendliest and most helpful of hotel staff we have come across in the US and Canada. The location of the hotel in Old Montreal is great with a plethora of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Whilst the hotel is small and some rooms (303 for example) are very small it is well appointed and very comfortable. The only issue we experienced was a problem with the air conditioning being just a little too noisy and difficult to adjust - some written instructions would be beneficial.

The breakfast provided was more than adequate with fresh fruit salad, breads, pastries, juice and coffee - the bread was fantastic. Breakfast can be taken back to your room if so desired.

Again, I have to comment on the staff who went out of their way to assist in every way possible with a great attitude - they were great. There was no comparison to the "could not care less" attitude of the staff from a hotel just up the street where we had after dinner drinks.

Would I recommend the Le Petit Hotel - yes, yes even if the air conditioning is a little noisy.

Room Tip: Our room (303) faced the side street and we did not hear anything noise from the street below - even...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in May 2013 on our way to Quebec City (Breaking up the drive from NJ). The staff was fantastic, great little breakfast set up, coffee and tea available downstairs, great room, love the exposed brick with a pop of orange color. Would definitely stay here again, only next time for longer than one night!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a relaxing 3 night stay in this cozy and friendly small boutique hotel in old Montreal. All the staff are friendly, helpful and very approachable. Our room was a front facing room which gave us the benefit of windows that opened onto a charming street scape below. No worries about traffic at night: the bed is very comfortable, the windows have good sound insulation and the walls are solid stone so we didn't really hear much outside. The furniture and lighting is of very good contemporary design and the armoire had plenty of room for our clothes.
If you love coffee and treats this place is a dream as there's an espresso machine and a counter for muffins and croissants right at the front desk! (Tea is also available in proper tea pots.) There's also a cozy seating area and free current newspapers in the lobby.

Room Tip: If you don't like looking out at walls or alley ways then get a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.