We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, Clever and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Petit Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #3 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, Clever and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had a wonderful 4-night stay in a medium room (bless their hearts for using actual sizes in the room names!). Our room was spotlessly clean and cleverly designed -- a ton of closet and storage space, hardwood floors and lots of character. Excellent location in Old Montreal, tucked behind Notre Dame and a short walk to the Metro and the Rue St. Laurent bus. The included breakfast was mainly croissants and breads, but given the food prices in Montreal anything gratis is more than welcome. The staff was really the best part of the stay, from the time we checked in until the time we left. Every evening we chatted with the desk staff on our way out to dinner, and they gave us loads of opinions on and recommendations for restaurants -- and then wanted to hear all about our meals when we got back. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Malamys,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are really happy that you had a wonderful 4-night stay at Le Petit Hotel. It is always a pleasure to take the time to chat and interact with our guests. We look forward to welcoming again on your next visit to Montreal.

Cheers !

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    104
    19
    8
    4
See reviews for
67
357
26
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed at le petit hotel for four nights, went to Quebec city, and returned to this hotel for one night before catching a flight home. We were able to leave our luggage with them while we were in Quebec. The location was perfect and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else. Breakfast was served every morning which included chocolate croissants and coffee, hot chocolate, juice, or water. The staff was extremely helpful, especially Alexander. Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear sam0790,

Thank you for sharing the love and recommending the hotel! The whole team was delighted to read your kind words. It is always a pleasure to welcome guest twice in the span of one week. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

The hotel decor is fun and modern within the heart of Old Montreal. If you're looking for elegance - that's the St. James - but the location isn't as good and it costs twice as much. A lovely continental breakfast comes with the room (toast the raisin bread with honey - it's better than the croissants!), and you can have your favorite coffee (or tea) drink all day and all night long. The bathrooms are small - but fine. They have a wii in the room - but we were too busy outside to use it or even watch TV.
The staff here is great. They left gourmet cupcakes for us in honor of our anniversary, helped us find bike rentals, restaurant recommendations, places to visit, whether to use public transit or cabs and on & on...

Room Tip: We were in 407 - top floor with stairs up into a loft-like area. We could hear the hyrdaulic elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Le Petit Hotel is definitely the best choice we made when staying in Montreal. Is very well located in beautiful Old Montreal and close to almost everything, 4 blocks from Notre-Dame and a short walk to the metro station.

The hotel is beautiful, well-designed, extremely clean and the beds are amazing! It is definitely one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

And extremely important added value is the service, it is superb! They are always polite and welcoming, very helpful... they do your restaurant reservations, book taxis, give you directions, amazing! The complimentary breakfast is delicious... very hefty croissants and pastries, fruits, yogurt coffee and tea... I am still missing the croissants.

I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear laaldeana,

Thank you for sharing this amazing review with the TripAdvisor community. We are very flattered to be your best choice about Montreal and one of the best hotel you have stayed in and are delighted to our service bonified your stat. We look forward to seeing you again the hotel someday.

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

was in Montreal this past week for business and happened across this hotel while looking online. It is a quaint, romantic, comfy hotel in the heart of Old Montreal, on a street filled with restaurants and art galleries. I loved it and will definitely seek it out next time I'm in Montreal for work or fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked and stayed at this Hotel October 27+28. We had originally booked at the full rate for one of their largest rooms. We received a discount for our 2 night stay for some sort of package deal they established after we booked. This amounted to about 1/3 off the cost. Thank You!
I had a few concerns after reading about street noise and thin walls, but the hotel was quite full and although it wasn't a holiday weekend or anything, the city seemed very lively and active. I can say we heard no noise and were not disturbed in the least. The room was nicely appointed, but a tad sparce. Very modern, clean. The complimentary continental breakfast was just perfect to start the day. We valet parked and thought it was a good deal. We used our car, only once during our stay and it was promptly available.

Room Tip: we were on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear djrenna,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are genuinely happy that enjoyed Le Petit Hotel and that you could benefit from the Fall Sweet Deal promotion. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Thank you !

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights in mid-October. The location is ideal - close to all the good restaurants and shopping in Old Montreal, not the tacky touristy stuff farther east. The hotel is small (hence the name), and feels a little cramped at times. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The only complaint is that the washroom was too small - two people could not fit. The breakfast was simple, but pretty tasty, and included a good espresso drink. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear mal8,

Thank for sharing your experience at the hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed the hotel, as well as some good shopping and good food in our beloved neighborhood. We look forward to welcome you again should you return to our beautiful city.

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hip chic boutique hotel with 28 rooms and a reception area that doubles as a lobby-cafe. Housed in two 19th-century buildings, Le Petit Hotel is a jewel of contemporary design appealing to the curious, modern traveler who seeks to embrace in local culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Petit Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.