We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely fusion of unusual flavours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Point G

Point G
1266 ave Mont-Royal est, Montreal, Quebec H2J 1Y4, Canada (Le Plateau-Mont-Royal)
514-750-7515
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #139 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Ice Cream, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Le Plateau-Mont-Royal
toronto
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A lovely fusion of unusual flavours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We picked up some macarons from Pizza Mia at Atwater Market ... they were Point G ones. A great mix of flavours like balsamic vinegar, lavendar and my favourite.. poppy flower! They are tasty and quite fresh! Would definitely buy them again!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    10
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“We come from 200kms away to hit the Point G”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We love the macarons from Point G so much we come from Ottawa to pick them up. We even own our own Point G insulated bag to bring some home. Parking around the store (and in Montreal in general) is brutal so be sure to have someone else do the driving so you can enjoy your macarons.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Forget "La Duree"...Point G sells the best macarons in the WORLD.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our favourite dessert in Montreal, by far. The Point G offers a very large variety of innovative flavours and simply offers the best macarons in the WORLD.

You want to argue? My neighbours from Parid did, supporting that Paris made macarons from la Duree were the top. They brought us some back from Paris. Hum...after a bit of travel, not that fresh, no, were not as good. Then, we were at Charles-De-Gaulle airport where La duree has a stand, so we tried them there too...still not as good. To finally close the debate, we went to the original La Duree restaurant on les Champs Elysees...and Sorry, le Point G is the big winner!

So why bother to cross the ocean when you have the best in the world? For the girlies, try the "coquelicot" and for the guys, anything with chocolate or maple syrup is just a pure miracle.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“a Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Macarons - best in Montreal, and frankly, some flavours are much better than the now overhyped La Durée in Paris, while the rest are on par.

Ice cream : divine! Pineapple-basil is a surprisingly good mix, offering the perfect mix of sweet & refreshing taste. Berry sorbets are delicious as well.

All in all, this is a dessert-lover's paradise.

It is not the cheapest place, but well worth it considering Ben & Jerry's charges similar prices for a product of much lesser creativity.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

Purchased 6 macaroons. Best ones for me were the salted caramel and pistachio. They were soft and creamy. They are pricey 1.50CAD + tax if you purchase just a few. The bundles are tax free according to the girl who took care of us. Their gelato was ok not as creamy as I am used to but good.
We took the metro and it was a long walk on a hot day so it was not really worth the walk and special trip to this shop.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Point G also viewed

 

Been to Point G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Point G, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.