We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massage from Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal

Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal
71, rue de la Commune Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2C6, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
514-288-2009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 50 Spas & Wellness in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Unwind with the scandinavian baths and massages experience and the thermotherapy : sauna, hydrojets bath, and cold bath, steam bath, relaxation areas - Juice bar - Share your experience by offering gift cards
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Massage from Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I had a great time here. I had the best Swedish massage EVER from Naomi and we had a lot of fun using the baths (including the cold one).

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review !! À bientôt au Scandinave Les Bains Old Montreal !

Émilie M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    35
    12
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent spa in old montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Excellent spa. Very serene because it seems like a cave in old montreal. Service was nice and definitely relaxing. Highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi Yearnny T,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We're proud to have been on your intinerary while visiting Montreal and hoping to welcome you on your next visit in Montreal.

Relaxing Regards,

Émilie M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Small relaxing spa / Great massage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We needed a break from the kids and our stressful/fast life. We tried most of the spas around Montreal/Quebec so we are starting to get a feel of what is nice and what is not. Its small but offers just the right amount of relaxing treatments: 3 hot zones / 2 cold zones + massages. There's a small snacks place with smoothies besides the relaxing zone. Can be a bit noisy but the water fountain in the hot tub creates a background noise reducing the impact. The massage was great. Overall a great experience however a bit pricy (premium: 20-30$ more on massages / $20 on baths) and there's no outside areas to relax. The bota bota spa, 2 minutes away located on the water, might have not helped their case. I still recommend the try. They have a great/bigger place up north in Tremblant.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Hi MathieuAnnie,

Thank you for your kind review ! Our aim is to offer a urban indoor spa to relax to get away from the stress of the city. We'll hopefully welcome you again for your next Baths and massage Experience !

Relaxing regards,

Émilie M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is located in old Montreal. I got this for my husbands birthday. We both enjoyed this so much. The staff was very nice and easy to get along with. We would return.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your kind review! We'll hopefully welcome you again for your next Baths and massage Experience!

Émilie M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Relaxation and revitilization”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We booked treatments for my husband's 49th birthday to the this spa's close proximity to our hotel as well as the amenities it provided. For a smaller space this spa really give a quality experience. We both booked an 85 minute hot stone massage which was worth every penny!

When we checked in the layout of the facility was given as well as sandals, robes, towels, and our magnetic locker bracelets which were also water proof. We got in our robes and headed to the waiting area which was where the juice bar was and some nice areas to lounge in. We relaxed and filled out the health questionnaire which ended up being our masseus's guide to the focal points during our massages. There were only a few other couples while we were there-one was a young pair a girls who started to get "loud and sqawky" but the staff quickly enforced the silence rule and the ambiance returned.

The massages were wonderful and both of us felt our masseuses were talented witht he hot balsam stones. We left feeling totally relaxed and ready to use the facility. We started with the steam room and then did the fresh rain shower to cool down. We then did the hot pool and attached cold plunge smaller pool. lastly we did the hot finnish sauna and finished with the cold shower once more. Both the sauna and steam room had eucalyptus vapors and were large and coed which was nice to finally be able to sit with my husband and relax at a spa together. We wanted to take a nap after all that relaxing so we headed to the "total quiet and relaxation zone" and grabbed an oversized bean bag and snuggled up. Before I knew it I could hear the gentle snores of my husband as he slipped into a nap and knew I made the right choice for his birthday :-)

We finished our morning by utilizing the facilities to get ready for the rest of the day. Blow dryers, hair product, cotton swabs, deodorant, and great lotion were available for use. We talked about how great the experience was for the rest of our trip!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spa-scandinave, Guest Relations Manager at Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Hi AndiS77,

Thank you so much for your review ! We are proud that your husband and you enjoyed a lot your spa experience at Scandinave Les Bains. You made the perfect choice for your massage, as it is the perfect season to receive a hot stone massage !

We hope to welcome you on your husband's 50th anniversary :-)

Relaxing Regards,

Émilie M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal also viewed

 

Been to Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandinave Spa Vieux-Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.