We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studio Living ... I'll be back for sure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Studio Living B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Studio Living B&B to your Saves list
Studio Living B&B
1831, Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3H6, Canada (The Village (Gay Village))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 146 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Studio Living ... I'll be back for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Great host (Michel), with the perfect studio for us. The unit is well designed and clean. It was quiet for a perfect sleep. The location is very central, you can walk easily to major city attractions (downtown). This is the kind of place you would recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
67
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

All that I can say is PERFECT !

Great location, Spotlessly clean, Free on street parking, Close to everything yet far enough away so you are not subjected to the noise of St. Catherines. Fridge was stocked with yogart, mik, juice and fruit too. Micheal was easy to deal with and helpful if needed not overbearing. I plan on staying there again and would recomend it to anyone visiting Montreal.

One suggestion would be that they take credit cards, cash only was the only flaw in a great weekend getaway to a wonderful cosmpolitian city.

Cheers !

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This place is small and charming, it has a very cosmopolitan feel right in the heart of Montreal. The proprietor, Michel was not only gracious of his time but eager to help when you needed it. A good inn keeper knows when to come around and when to dissappear. Whenever I needed some information i could easily find him, otherwise i felt i was in my own "home away from home".
Studio Living is just the right distance away from the hustle & bustle of St Catherine St. Two short blocks from great food and nightlife/shopping, I walked to and from the B&B and never felt unsafe. It's a great neighborhood with lots to do and see.
The inside of the suites are two very large rooms- one is the bedroom the other the kitchen with adjoining bathroom. off the kitchen is a sliding glass door that either takes you into a small walled in garden or to a balcony that overlooks it. The weather was nice while i was there, so I left this door open most of the time. The B&B was incredibly clean and decorated with very simple but tasteful decor... it reminded me of something i would see in South beach, very white, very modern. I can't say enough about the owner and his ability to run a great property and also how friendly he is. I will be back to Studio living on each of my trips to Montreal

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

There is actually not much to add to the previous testimonials - we had an absolutely great time in this B&B. Michel is the most gracious and kindest host you could imagine, the studio is located in the heart of the action of Montréal, so everything is within walking or cycling distance, the studio itself is just amazingly stylish and tastefully designed and it really felt like home whilst being on vacation (though at home we still miss the fridge and cereal jars that refill themselves over the day and the fresh croissants in the morning...)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

I can't really add to the review the previous person gave (Marcelinha) in terms of describing the apartment, food and service Michel provides. He was the perfect host, helping me settle in but then disappearing unless I needed him. The separate entrance was brilliant and so much easier for ordering taxis, takeout etc, the location is brilliant - about 5 minutes' walk from the metro and St Catherine's Street, and the free wifi was a massive bonus when I suddenly had to revise my travel plans while I was there. Can't speak more highly of this place, and amazing value in a city where decent accommodation isn't cheap. Thanks Michel!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curitiba, Brazil
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

I decided to stay in a B&B in Montreal only because we were going to be there on the F!race weekend, so every hotel in the city was already full. But I´m soooo glad I did, because I loved the experience, the place and the owner.
The B&B is a small studio, witha an individuall entrance, where you have a very confortable bedroom, a bathroom and a smal kitchen, with refrigerator, sink, coffee maker and even a table with stools. The bathroom has a hair dryer and a very good shower and the room has cable TV and a stereo.
The decor is very modern, with beautiful apliances and eveything is brand new. The personal touch from Michel, the owner, is in every corner, with art books, magazines,etc. The kithcen leads to a very agreable garden.
Every afternoon, the studio is cleaned and Michel leaves in the room fresh croissants and you can find in the fridge butter, two kinds of marmelade, lots of fruits, milk, two kinds of juices, lots of yogurts, etc, everything arranged with such care. This is great because you have your privacy to eat whenever you want, by yourself, without having to chit-chat with people you don´t know.
The studio has everything you might need, from a first-aid box to huge umbrellas to serve you and maps, magazines and restaurant card of the city.
The owner, Michel, is the kindest person ever. He waited for us to arrive in a friday evening and after showing us the studio, he picked up a map and explained us where we were, what was happening in the city that weekend, where should we go, where we sound not, recommended places to go, good restaurants, etc, leaving us really confortable in the city. He even offered himself to make us reservations for romantic dinners.
Every day, he would help us with anything we might need and he would explain us everything, being a perfect host.
I would not only recommend the place, bu I would also live there if I could!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

Comfortable modern studio close to everything.
Quiet neigborhood with on street parking.Close to the Metro and St. Catherine.
Comfortable bed, breakfast foods provided daily. Small kitchen with
microwave,coffee pot and fridge (no stove) which is all you need on vacation.
There is a lovely backyard/patio area that is perfect for morning coffee or wine and cheese in the evening.
The hosts are knowledgeable and helpful with info about the area and anything
you could possibly need. Can't wait to return for another visit.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Studio Living B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Living B&B

Address: 1831, Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3H6, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 146 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite design studios in the heart of the city with acces to a lovely garden. And you are minutes away from the subway and walking distance to most of the attractions Montréal has to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Studio Living B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Studio Living B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.