We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice in Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Westin Montreal

Save Saved
You added Le Westin Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Westin Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #29 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A good choice in Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel is very modern, rooms are a good size, and beds are comfortable. It's pretty close to the downtown area and the Bell Centre, although still a little bit of a walk so if you're choosing on distance whether this is the place for you or not may depend on the weather and/or if you'll be taking taxis. It is right across from the convention center through, if that's your destination. There are some food and coffee choices are real close. Overall, I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    378
    95
    31
    28
See reviews for
236
273
50
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My room had two nice windows overlooking the harbor. The hotel is located fairly close to the tourist district, but it's only a short walk from a ton of great restaurants and entertainment options. I definitely recommend Montreal Improv and a Portuguese restaurant called Piri Piri.

Everything was clean when I arrived, and I definitely took advantage of the "green choice" option. You opt out of cleaning service to get a $5 voucher every night. By the end of my stay, it added up to a free breakfast from The Gazette.

The staff was exceedingly helpful, but it did take a day to figure out the layout of the hotel. The pool is nothing to get excited about, but the gym was great.

Room Tip: The St. Jacques Tower is conveniently located near a back door on Fortifications Alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you kindly for your lovely comments, Mathnetic. I am happy you enjoyed the numerous restaurant options around the hotel and I hope you have taken a moment to rate them online too in order to assist fellow travelers when making a choice. Looking forward to welcoming you back,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Great place to stay. Location is fantastic, right by Old Montreal and near Metro stations so you can easily access wherever you need to get. The service was great too, it was raining when we got there and at check in they automatically told me that I should get umbrellas from the valet to use if we were walking around.

Most importantly, I can't say enough good things about the bed. It was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, I could have stayed there all day! Beautiful bathroom as well, the rooms were nice and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Merci for your feedback, Felix W. You may get a Heavenly Bed delivered to your door through westinathome. Alternatively, you can visit us back in Montreal where we will welcome the opportunity to take good care of you. Be well,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Large and comfortable room on the Starwood Preferred Guest floor, a restaurant that served tasty food (especially the french onion soup I ordered late yesterday night) and had a well stocked bar, friendly hostesses in bright red dresses adding a touch of color to a gray winter morning.

The location is a short walk from Chinatown, the St.Lawrence river piers, the Montreal Cathedral and the Old quarter. So plenty of lovely choices to walk around the city.

Some minor nitpicks -

1. The hotel elevators require you to insert a room key before they take you to your floor. However, the elevators allow you to tailgate. That is, if there's four or five people in the elevator, only one person has to insert his key in the slot for all the others to select their floor buttons .. they don't need to swipe their keys at all, if they select their floor in the next 15..20 seconds after the first person inserts his room key.

2. Watch out for the shower. A very nice one, adequate pressure (though it'd have been far better if there was a single large shower head rather than two) - but a minor quirk that pointed itself out to me the first time I used it on a freezing morning. The shower's single tap handle has to be twisted clockwise to start the water flow AND increase the water temperature, both. So if you're standing facing the shower on a cold winter morning, instead of slightly to one side and away from the first water flow .. you'll get a faceful of freezing cold water before you twist the handle enough to start the hot water flowing. Which is good fun when the temperature is 40 F outside and where you came from was 80 F in the shade.

3. The room was set to a rather dry heat - so possibly for that reason I've kept waking up at 3 AM in the morning, with a raging thirst and a stuffy nose. Couldn't quite get the thermostat adjusted to my liking - but that's hard to do at 3 AM ..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear hserus, thank you very much for your positive comments and for pointing out a few improvements we can work on. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and I wish you a safe journey back home. Au revoir,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Very nice hotel in good location, within walking distance to shopping, sites, restaurants, etc. Moved to the hotel after a one night stay at a rental apt (not in the downtown area) that wasn't quite up to par. Love the pillows (plan to buy!) and the bed/bedding; very comfortable. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Concierge was very helpful. Did not eat at gazette... menu wasn't appealing to us. Did order room service that was delivered in good time, food was hot enough and quite edible! We were in the St. Jacques Tower and it wasn't very easy to get to the main level with luggage because the elevator didn't go all the way to the main lower level (perhaps we just couldn't figure it out??) Great security in the hotel (you have to use your room card to access the back side of the hotel, as well as the elevator to get to the rooming floors. Would stay here again and recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you kindly for your good words, JanSan2013. The hotel is built in 2 different towers: St. Jacques and St. Antoine. While St. Jacques Tower benefits from a direct access to Old Montreal, it might be slightly more difficult to access through the escalators and elevators. Our team will gladly assist you with your luggage the next time you visit, so you can spend more time enjoying your vacation. Take care,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Le Westin Montreal is a 5 star property located in a very convenient location in downtown Montreal. It is very close to the Palais de Congres conference centre and also to Old Montreal. The staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast buffet and tapas and beverage happy hour was very enjoyable. Access to the Westin Club Room also added greatly to our 5 nights at this great Westin property. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Pros:
-Bed was, as touted, "heavenly." Could have stayed in it all day. Pillow-topped mattress and duvet with great pillows. We will be buying the duvet and pillows. (Only mentioning the shower here because it was also described as "heavenly." The actual shower area was definitely nice and large, but we didn't find anything about the shower heads particularly luxurious even though there were two; to me heavenly would be a large rain shower shower head. Pressure was perfectly acceptable too but not heavenly) Shower gel, soaps, lotions etc. smelled amazing.
-Service was great, staff clearly well-trained at all levels. Any encounters with staff in hallways or elevators were always pleasant and they always greeted us. Concierge was helpful with advice on our trip to wineries. We forgot a toothbrush, called down and had it delivered to the room within 3 minutes; five minutes later they called to confirm we got it. Also forgot a shaving kit that we picked up at the front desk another day. Great.
-Valet parking may be expensive to some - $25 but we liked it, staff were great, very convenient, can get the car whenever you need it.
-gaZzette hotel restaurant /bar was perfect. Had breakfast there daily (included w/our room) and happy hour drinks and apps (2 per night were also included with room). Breakfast buffet offered scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, different potatoes each day, cereals, fruit, yogurt, smoothies in little shot glasses, bagels, rolls, muffins, croissants, etc. Coffee was great too, strong and always refilled. (One male server in particular was great-couldnt ever see his name on his name tag to mention here; I know management checks the reviews - only helpful description is that he was older than the other male servers.) The bar was very well stocked, bartender was very good, tons of scotch, great wines by the glass, large TVs, comfortable seats - can sit at the bar or at bar tables, and appetizers we had were very good.
-location is perfect - walking distance to Old Montreal -maybe 5 minutes max - with it's great restaurants and nightlife. Walk to downtown, McGill area, about 15.
-i'm going to mention the service again because it was that good and in a competitive hotel market with many "nice" hotels, it certainly makes a difference.

Cons:
- VERY minor but although we weren't in the room often, a few more TV channels (English) would be nice.
-also VERY minor but the very nice valet guy who greeted us upon our arrival did not speak any English. I used to live in Montreal and putting aside the politics about the English language in Quebec, we can probably agree that one should speak English to work at a hotel in Canada, even Quebec. He appeared to be the only one who didn't, everyone else spoke English.

Random comment: A strange thing to mention perhaps but we were quite taken with the dresses the very nice hostesses in the restaurant were, I'm assuming, required to wear. They were bright red stretchy dresses, very tight all over, somewhat short depending on who wore it. Very few women could pull that kind of a dress off in that color - it pulled and stretched in every possible area. Seemed like an odd choice. Also a little much for breakfast.

In conclusion, we really loved the hotel, signed up for the SPG rewards program and will definitely return there and stay loyal to the brand. It ran about $300 night with taxes (a lot of taxes) but with the free breakfast and happy hour additions and everything else it was well worth it. The hotel looks great, very modern and inviting. It was also great to have the restaurant there with a satisfying breakfast with convenient hours btw - didn't end 10:30 a.m. and until 11:30 a.m. on Sundays - as well as a convenient lounge-like spot at night for a pre and post dinner drink. Although we had dinner in Old Montreal every night next time we'll save a night for the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Stay on the executive club floor (21 or 22).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Gallego1117, thank you very, very much for providing us with such a detailed review. I will do my homework and try to find out exactly who took care of you over breakfast. For your information, selected breakfast items our now offered until 2PM on Saturday and Sunday, as part of the new Westin Weekend program. This should allow plenty of time to enjoy your Heavenly bed the next time you visit. Au revoir,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Westin Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Westin Montreal

Address: 270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#21 Business Hotel in Montreal
#22 Family Hotel in Montreal
#31 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Westin Montreal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Old Montreal and downtown, Le Westin Montreal features 454 spacious bedrooms and suites, all offering the unparalelled comfort of Westin's Heavenly bed, complementary WiFi, in-room safe, iHome with mp3 clock and small fridge. Le Westin Montreal is connected by underground walkway to Montreal Palais des Congres (main Convention Centre) and to Montreal Subway (Metro). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Westin Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Westin Montreal Hotel Montreal
Westin Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Westin Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.