We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, everything worked well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Westin Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Westin Montreal to your Saves list
Le Westin Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada (Quartier International)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #25 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Short Hills, New Jersey
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Good location, everything worked well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived at the hotel early, and only had to wait for a few minutes for our room to be ready. Our room was located on the 17th floor (room 1720) and allowed us to view Canada Day fireworks from our window. The room had a kingsize bed and a roll out sofa bed in the sitting room, with adequate separation between the living and sleeping areas. Each had its own flatscreen TV. The bathroom had a shower but no bathtub (may bother some, did not bother us). Free wifi and starbucks coffee and newspaper in the room. The pools though small were clean and adequate, kids got a kick out of the glass bottomed pool. The fitness center has precor and other higher end equipment, and not the slightly cheaper equipment that hotels mostly have. They also had free headphones. The hotel is convenient to the old city, Chinatown, and the jazz festival. It may not be as easy of a walk to crescent street. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
I am sincerely thankful for your review and good words, sb1099. I hope you will due us the pleasure of being back in a very near future. Au revoir,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    446
    107
    33
    29
See reviews for
274
327
53
287
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Pros: The hotel is in a great location. The rooms are a decent size, clean, good beds, and modern. The gym is nice and the pool is decent. (3 different pools but they are all small).

Cons: The service was sub-par. Room service did not come to clean our room or pick up our dinner trays (sitting outside our room) until 5pm the next day. The food is average but not worth the price you pay for it (especially breakfast). The service at breakfast is slow (one family next to our table had to wait 45 mins to receive one of their kid's meals). The bellboys / doormans do not always open the door for you (not even when you are carrying luggage and strolling your baby out). Additionally, upon check out, they charged my credit card prior to providing me a detail hotel folio for me to review and grant her permission to charge my card.

Overall: I would not go back to this hotel unless their service improves.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear ksc116, thank you very much for having taken some time to share your experience with me. I am disappointed to read we failed to deliver the service level Westin guests are accustomed to upon your recent visit. Be ensured that a proper follow up will be made with each of the concerned teams during our next weekly Experience meeting. Together, we will make every effort to ensure that your next visit is well above your expectations. Sincere regards,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Top notch hotel. excellent valet service and attractive lobby. Cannot beat the Heavenly beds. Unbeatable location. Lots of familes taking advanatge of indoor pool. treat Starwood preferred guests very well. lots of attentive service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Power outage with no backup generator. Not a safe place to stay on the twelfth floor with a dark stairwell. Glow in the dark toys given out for lighting??
A fungating tray from room service was present on arrival in the hallway and present three days later . It was removed after prompting staff twice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Liz M, I appreciate your concern about the power failure the city encountered two weeks ago. As we have since then obtained more answers, please allow me to clarify the situation. As the wildfires in northern Quebec got very close to the main power lines, Hydro-Québec shut down the electricity as a security measure which affected a large area of Quebec province, including Montreal’s Subway system. As the power tilted, Le Westin’s backup generator failed to switch on, even though it is checked and tested on a weekly basis. The entire system was checked in the hours that followed the power failure and remedy was done to the found situation, I am extremely sorry for the inconveniences that may have been caused during the 3 hours the power was out, and I hope you will trust that we took the situation very seriously in order to ensure such unfortunate events would not repeat themselves. Best regards,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Never know what's the fuzz about the Westin chain....stayed at many during business trips...nothing really impressive but would make you feel very thankful that your company doesn't put you somewhere.

This one is no exception. Very clean, the beds are par excellent, not much of a view from higher floor, free Wi-Fi (pain in the neck to connect sometimes), good size in-room fridge.

Anyway, this Westin is merely 2 short blocks away from Notre Dame and 4 blocks away from Chinatown. Superb alternative to staying in Old Montreal (which is 3 short blocks away anyway). Quite a walk to the core of the Underground City (Eaton Center area) but hey it's just mall shops in interconnected basements. :-)

The house-keeping isn't as steady as I'd expect but the issues were taken care of promptly. The in-room dining is outstanding. We found the room service is considerably better at a slightly lesser price than at many open-air restaurants in Old Montreal. (surprise!)

I booked my room thru Hotwire's special deal, so nothing to complaint about at such a great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Quick tip: Parking is $30/day, but you can self park in the garage directly behind the Westin for 16/day. The parking garage in front of the Westin is 22/ day.

The pool and gym are fantastic, and the pool offers noodles and other floatations devices. The location is superb, but the hotel has two towers that are distinct from each other - ask to stay in the tower with the gym and pool. The view isn't great but the convenience makes us for it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
I am happy to read you enjoyed your recent visit, egm80. Thank you for providing fellow travelers with useful tips about parking, I am sure this will be very helpful! Le Westin only offers valet service for security reasons, but there are indeed several options around that may be convenient for those who do not require in and out privileges. Hoping to get the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I spent a night last week at the Westin for a corporate event. I booked a suite and invited my team for a relaxing 5 @ 7. I was disappointed; first, at check-in the staff at the desk seemed to be disorganized - the person who initially took care of my reservation suddenly took care of an other customer and I was left standing until someone else filled in for the 'missing in action' personnel. The suite was below our expectations - no views on Old Montreal or on the city, only buildings and roofs. We still had a good time, but for our next corporate event, will certainly book at a different location, either the W a few blocks away on Square Victoria or the Sheraton on René-Lévesque.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, Drarig. I am disappointed to read we failed to impress you upon your recent visit, and I will make sure to follow up with the front desk team. I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your team again for a well deserved 5 @ 7. Regards,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Westin Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Westin Montreal

Address: 270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Montreal
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Business Hotel in Montreal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Westin Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Old Montreal and downtown, Le Westin Montreal features 454 spacious bedrooms and suites, all offering the unparalelled comfort of Westin's Heavenly bed, complementary WiFi, in-room safe, iHome with mp3 clock and small fridge. Le Westin Montreal is connected by underground walkway to Montreal Palais des Congres (main Convention Centre) and to Montreal Subway (Metro). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Le Westin Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Westin Montreal Hotel Montreal
Westin Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Westin Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.