We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Westin Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Westin Montreal to your Saves list
Le Westin Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #26 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Cambridge, Ontario
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Check in was quick and the front desk staff where polite. Room was in great condition and décor had a fresh modern look. Bathroom was fully updated and the water pressure was great. In general the hotel is in good condition and staffed with professionals.

It would be nice if they marked the lobby floor in the elevator, RC in French mean ground floor, go figure. The French language law at its best I guess.

Great location close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Bonjour John W! Thank you kindly for sharing your comments with us and with fellow travelers. As you found out, the law is quite strict with regards of the use of French language in advertising, signage, etc. It might take a little while to get accustomed to it, but it is also what makes Montreal so different from the other great North American destinations. I hope you enjoyed your visit and will do us the pleasure of visiting again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    406
    104
    32
    29
See reviews for
254
299
52
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed for a week at this hotel in October 2012. The hotel is nice, in a good part of town and while expensive, it is overall pretty good. The one thing which bugged me about the hotel is that despite spending 4 nights there and being part of a company conference, they would only allow me an hour extra to check out. Given the money that my company and I spent and the fact that the hotel was 'no full' (their words) it seemed petty to me and left a bad taste in my mouth. Extending my check out to 4pm from Noon seemed like an easy thing to do. In addition, there was construction behind the hotel so I was awoke every morning at 6am.

Room Tip: High Floor facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear rich o, thank you for sharing some feedback about your recent visit. We do the best we can to accommodate all of our guests’ requests, including late check out and early check in. The nature of our business requires us to have all rooms ready for the next guest by 4PM, and I suppose (as I do not have more details about your stay) this is what happened when you were here. Nevertheless, I will follow up with Front Office to ensure we do accommodate as many requests as possible. Thank you again for your online review and please think of us when your travels bring you back into Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel in the middle of the financial district is close to many areas of interest. A few blocks from Old Port, Chinatown, Notre Dame and a short cab ride to the clubbing areas of rue Saint Laurent (about $8 fare one way). Tonnes of fabulous restaurants within walking distance to the hotel. Decent pool with glass bottom that is directly overhead the valet area at reception. Be prepared to pay $26 per day plus tax for valet parking; in-out privileges included. There is parking across the street from the hotel for a few bucks cheaper, but in-out not available.

We were on the executive level which is on the 22nd floor with fabulous views of Old Port. This level gives you private access to a VIP lounge stocked with juices, candy bars and seating with great views. Current newspapers and a internet access computer is set up in the lounge as well. We received 2 drinks per person at Gazette (onsite restaurant/bar) and complimentary buffet breakfast for 2 for each night of our stay.

Overall, the hotel was a great location for our first weekend in Montreal. Would recommend staying here and would return if ever in Montreal again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you kindly for your feedback, Kids2k. I am happy you’ve enjoyed your first weekend in Montreal and hope you will be back to Le Westin soon – this winter, perhaps? Be well,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I really loved staying at the Westin Montreal. I was there at a business conference for three nights with most of my day was spent in the hotel. The service was great and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The food and snacks during the conference was good and the facilities were very comfortable and inviting. The Gazette restaurant inside the hotel was delicious. The Room was very clean, modern, with a very comfortable bed. The location is great - walking distance to the Notre Dame church, old Montreal and the water front. There is a metro station across the street from the hotel.
I highly recommend staying at Le Westin when you are visiting Montreal!

Room Tip: I was in the cheapest room level which was very nice but did not have a nice view. If you want a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Le Westin is well located near Vieux Montreal. There are many small, boutique hotels in the heart of the old port so this is an excellent hotel choice if you want the comforts and predictability of a large chain...and sometimes you just want that from the place you are calling "home base" for a few days, especially if you are experiencing another culture and language every time you step outside. The room was large, the bathrooms were large and modern, the gym was nice and it was a mere 5 minute walk from one of the large hub metro stations. Also, while things are buzzing during the daytime, nightlife is found elsewhere in the city. This trip gave me a good feel for the city so next time we will opt to stay in one of the neighborhoods rather than the Old Port, since it is pretty much where all the vacationing family units congregate. Loved our trip to Montreal - and this hotel was part of the reason.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
If we were able to convince you to return to Montreal, our goal was reached. Thank you kindly for sharing such positive comments further to your stay, your opinion is worth a lot. Au revoir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Started my stay out in the Sheraton Airport, but had to check out after a series of issues, worst amongst them was the heating/cooling issue that they could not resolve. Bad food didn't help their cause, but this is about the Westin not thier sister property.

This is a very new hotel located on prime real estate, close to so much it is impossible to list.

The sheltered driveway is a very nice touch in the heart of the city. The staff I met were all curteous and professional. The guest services phone contact seems out of step with many Starwood properties where one call gets you what you need. Instead, any time I used the special button, really all I got was the hotel operator. In other hotels, I can order food, order my car, ask for a bellman all through one person. For reasons known only to management, the operator simply transferred my call. It would have been quicker to just call the relevant extension. The system makes no sense ESP when the operator is not around leaving you no option but toleave a message. The operator returns your call only to transfer you to the service you need who, more often than not left you no option but to leave a second message. Silly system and a complete waste of everyone's time.

The breakfast buffet is adequate. Very little choice. The price was included in my room so I can't speak to value. Quality was average to marginal. This needs improvement.

Rooms meet westin standards. Very clean, very comfortable and well appointed. Wifi is excellent and the business center, plugs and USB ports, are a far ti uncommon standard in many hotel rooms. I'm glad this Westin is thinking ahead.

Pool and workout rooms are well above average to very good.

This is not an exceptional Westin, but it's every bit to their standard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear ChillyAlbertans, thank you very much for sharing your impressions about Le Westin. What you mention about Service Express comes as a surprise to me, and I will investigate this further immediately. As for breakfast, we have had to offer a limited buffet in the past few weeks while carrying important maintenance work in the restaurant. This is a temporary situation that will be resolved in a few weeks from now, yet I will see with the Food and Beverage team how the overall experience could be improved in the meantime. Again, thank you for your comments and please come back to visit us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal QC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Westin in December 2011 and July 2012 and both stays were perfect. The staff is very professional yet friendly and welcoming. This hotel is located next to the Palais des Congrès in Old Montreal and you are just a 5 minutes’ walk from the old Port and St-Paul Street.
The rooms are quiet and the King size beds are as comfortable as you can get! I find this hotel to be well priced compared to other 4 stars hotels in Montreal which in my opinion, don’t offer as much for the money…
We will be returning to this hotel in late October as we are convinced once again our stay will be perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Karlos2334, thank you very much for your kind words. I am looking forward to welcoming you again at the end of this month. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Westin Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Westin Montreal

Address: 270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#16 Business Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Westin Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Old Montreal and downtown, Le Westin Montreal features 454 spacious bedrooms and suites, all offering the unparalelled comfort of Westin's Heavenly bed, complementary WiFi, in-room safe, iHome with mp3 clock and small fridge. Le Westin Montreal is connected by underground walkway to Montreal Palais des Congres (main Convention Centre) and to Montreal Subway (Metro). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Westin Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Westin Montreal Hotel Montreal
Westin Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Westin Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.