We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back atmosphere with great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Patisserie Kouign Amann

Patisserie Kouign Amann
322 Mont-Royal Est, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
514-845-8813
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 99 Bakeries in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Laid back atmosphere with great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great lattes, croissants, and make sure you get a slice of kouign-amann! Get there early for some of the very limited seating, or take it to go!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    19
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic & delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We tried just about everything this bakery had to offer on a Saturday morning - it was hard to choose! As simple as it is, the cheese croissant was my favorite. Melt in your mouth delicious! The fruit juice they had was amazing as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Open and waiting for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

I was in Montreal on Aug. 7th and the bakery was closed but re-opened on the 8th.

The croissants truly are the best I've ever had (and I've eaten my share!). Extremely light and buttery. The namesake pastry is essentially layers (ten?) of buttery, sugary goodness and to my knowledge, it is the only place in Montreal that makes this delicacy -staff are very friendly and will provide service in English or work with you if you want to try ordering en Francais.

Prices of all items are very reasonable and when combined with such high quality, the value here is difficult to beat. If you are looking for a classy sit down patisserie, this is not your place. If you are looking for the highest quality products and the ambiance of something you would find in a small french village in Brittany, you found it.

Only problem: your eyes will tell you to order more than you can eat - don't do it - just come back again and again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Closed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This morning when we went for breakfast we were disappointed to see it closed. Appeared to be either under renovation or space was being vacated. If anybody has more info please update. Thanks.
Bivin

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Love the almond croissant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I will rave on about these truly delightful, buttery creations. Melt in your mouth goodness. Well done! However, I was not impressed with their chocolatines. I have eaten these all over France and never had a bad one. Except for that, quite nice bakery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Patisserie Kouign Amann also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Patisserie Kouign Amann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Patisserie Kouign Amann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.