We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay in the heart of town!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bon Accueil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bon Accueil to your Saves list
Hotel Bon Accueil
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1601 rue St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada (The Village (Gay Village))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay in the heart of town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a first-rate economically priced hotel, worthy of checking out. I had three peaceful and hospitable nights stay this week and could not have asked for anything nicer. The staff were very welcoming and spoke good English. They made my stay comfortable with generous sized rooms with a full bathroom, fridge and basic TV set. The breakfasts were simple and tasty, self serve continental style. The location was very central as it is only one block away from the main bus station and one block away from the Berri-UQAM Metro station. You're steps away from trendy Saint Denis as well as Sainte Catherine streets. For the money you save by staying here, you will not be disappointed! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get a top-floor room, as it's quiet on that floor. Be aware there is no elevator, only s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    8
    8
    12
See reviews for
5
24
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

They did not have any record of our reservation. We made it online the weekend and they claimed they never received notification from the booking website. They did have a room available we were able to take, however, we overheard another set of patrons having the same problem as us (were told the same thing), and we do not know if the hotel was able to accommodate them.

Room Tip: Rooms do not have a fan or air conditioning so avoid if that's a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Simple, simple, but ok for the area if you just want a bed for the night. Same as many hotels on Sainte-Hubert. Got it for $70 on booking.com Had a mini-fridge, had to program universal remote myself. Guy at front desk was polite and friendly. Only issue I had was limited outlets for charging. I used the one in the hall. Free wifi worked. Parking $9 across street, secure underground. One block from Metro station.

Room Tip: the staircase is steep, and a heck of a climb for anyone with an issue, or after many drinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great location. Great price. Great service.
We went to Montreal to explore the city. This centrally located hotel allowed us to explore the city and kept our accommodation costs low so we could spend our money brunching and dining in Montreal's fabulous restaurant scene. Blocks away from the village was a plus too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stay in this hotel on our way to Miami, Florida coming from Ottawa, Canada. The hotel is very closed to the metro and bus station, very central and also close to a big shopping mall. Its a small hotel, just bed and breakfast. The rooms are small but with big beds, TV and everything was very clean. The breakfast is basic, just tea, toast, cereals and fruits but nice. The Staff was very helpfull and kind.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having read some of the other reviews about this property I can understand why some people were disappointed however, I am a true believer that you usually get what you pay for and this Hotel is the perfect example. The room is quite small (I would say maybe 20sqm) but it has all the amenities you need. The most modern thing in the room is a nice 32" LCD TV. This is an older building which I find nice but it comes with its need for a bit of TLC. I noticed there was no A/C in my room although their Website states they do have A/C and while this was not an issue because it was quite cool when I was here, it's probably a bit uncomfortable in the heat and humidity Montreal experiences in the summer. Perhaps this is something to check before you book.The staff was very nice and helpful and check-in was a breeze. Free Wi-Fi with a strong signal which was nice. The location is good if you want to be close to the Metro but the area is also home to a few less "friendly" individuals especially when the sun goes down. Having said that, I had no issue but just mentioning it as a heads up. If you get a good price, are not too fussed and don't intend to stay a week then I say go for it. If you have always stayed in the "big chains" of Hotel and are not open to experiencing something different then I recommend you go somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the Hotel not facing the main road. This is what I had and it was quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel was very run down, shabby, dirty and reeked of cigarette smoke and weed. The double bed was much smaller than any Ive encountered, and I checked it very closely for bedbugs given the state of the room. I was afraid to walk barefoot on the carpet. The dishes at breakfast were not clean (rinsed under a tap at best). The room was not cleaned throughout our whole 3 night stay. I requested the bin to be emptied and toilet paper restocked one day, was assured it would be during the day, but it was not. The cleaner and other staff members would hang out, smoking, in a small basement room off the foyer - totally unprofessional. Every word and movement of the neighbors could be heard, and you could smell clearly and strongly every time they lit up a smoke. There were smoke detectors in the room, but they must not be working otherwise it would have gone off many times a day - what a dangerous fire hazard!! The type of guests this hotel attracts like to stay up til 1,2,3 in the morning making a racket that the staff are unable to control. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bon Accueil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bon Accueil

Address: 1601 rue St-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Z1, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Bon Accueil 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Montreal, the Latin quarter, Hotel Bon Accueil offers good quality rooms at a great price. Because of its central location, Hotel Bon Accueil is the best place to stay while in Montreal. Hotel Bon Accueil will meet your expectations whether you come to Montreal for business or for pleasure. Hotel Bon Accueil brings you close to our beautiful city's best attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bon Accueil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bon Accueil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.