We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good room for a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Quartier des Spectacles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rimouski, Quebec, Canada
1 review
“A good room for a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I stayed at the Zero 1 Hotel while on a business trip from Montreal. Rooms are well equipped (with microwave, fridge, small sink, dishware) and the bed is very comfortable. Take note that most rooms only have showers.
it is ideally located in Downtown Montreal near metros, shopping centres and the Quartier des Spectacles.
I would book there again for sure.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from rooms near elevators. They are noisy. If you tend to sleep light, ask for a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    300
    103
    21
    19
See reviews for
35
305
47
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

I booked this hotel online on October 21st 2013 and cancelled it on Nov 6th. According to my booking terms, I had incurred a cancellation fee of $0. When I made the reservation, the hotel took a deposit equivalent to $440 Singapore dollars.
I have yet to receive my refund even though the hotel has fed me numerous lines about the refund having been made. The director of the hotel, Karine Houde, has ignored my emails since my case was handed over to her on the 30th of December. I have now lodged a letter of dispute with my credit card company claiming fraud and hope that I will soon see the return of my money.
Fair warning to others ...

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, Director of Sales at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Zoezee_15,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor regarding the refund procedures. We wish to apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered following your cancellation request at the Hotel. After verification, we did proceed with your refund on Nov 6, 2013 and it was confirmed on our side, in the Hotel's Property management system. Unfortunately, because of a system error at our credit card merchant service provider's, they did not get the request so they did not refund the amount into your account at that time. We did receive a letter of excuses from them this week that we send over to you by email. They confirmed that the refund will be done within the next 5 to 7 working days.

We are again very sorry for the situation as we pride ourselves by giving the best possible level of service to our clients by tending to every detail with care.

We will hopefully have the pleasure of having you stay with us on your next visit to Montreal.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here a couple of years ago in the summer and it looks totally different. It has a very stylish and modern look. I like the design of everything a lot.

The location is a good distance from everything but is in a very sketchy neighbourhood. Expect to pass creepy homeless men hanging outside the numerous strip clubs/porn booths lined outside the hotel. Probably not a very family friendly location at all, but a good spot for a bachelor party entourage I suppose.

It is a 10-15 minute walk from beautiful old Montreal and maybe a 25 minute walk to St Denis and some great food places on Saint Laurent. Only problem is if you booked in the winter like I did you'll find that even just 10 minutes outside will make you lose feeling in your feet :') Also, right downstairs is Chinatown.

We were told there was a gym but its really just a room with an elliptical, a treadmill and some other machine with weights.

We booked the Loft, one of the biggest rooms in the hotel. Only half the room was lit with pretty dim lighting. The other half is completely dark except for the light of the TV when it was on.

When we booked it, the description said there was a sofa but instead there were two chairs that had loose screws. Not really big issue but I'm a little disappointed the room wasn't as described.

All in all the hotel is very clean and stylish and a walkable distance from some cool places. Overall I would say this place has good value and would recommend it to a more mature crowd.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Zero 1 roughly three years ago and had an issue with the parking which was in a public lot 2 blocks away where I had to pay then walk my luggage back to the hotel. Since then, their parking situation hasn't gotten any better.

My father stayed here just after Christmas 2013 while visiting and they have valet parking which I believe is still in the public lot for $23/night. My father used the service, and the next morning his car was returned to him with everything stolen from it (GPS, money, ski coats, winter boots, electronic cables, and other odds and ends, then from the trunk, homemade tourtières for our Christmas dinner). There was no sign of a break in which suggests the car wasn't locked after it was parked. When he informed them of the theft, they told him there was nothing they could do since security cameras were only at the entrance of the lot and they refused to accommodate him in any way, not even by comping his two night stay and parking.

Do NOT use the parking if you stay here as it clearly cannot be trusted and the hotel staff won't take any responsibility for the flawed system. Granted, I know you shouldn't leave anything valuable in your car, but everything was out of sight and you expect your car to be safe when using a mandatory valet service for 4-star hotel parking. That being said, it is extremely overpriced for the lack of quality and safety considering Le Westin has valet parking within the building with security for $25/night. They said this was the first time this has happened but I find that very hard to believe. I will definitely not be recommending this hotel to anyone I know again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele C, Director of Sales at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear TalPL,

We would like to thank you for your remark on Trip Advisor regarding your father's visit to Hotel ZERO1. We were mostly concerned to learn about his misadventure in the parking lot. We do believe that this was an isolated and unfortunate incident and we were very sorry about the inconvenient of the situation, specially at this time of year.

We pride ourselves on giving the best possible level of attention by tending to every detail with great care. Knowing that we were not successful in doing so was a disappointment for us. Please know that we have taken all the necessary steps to address this situation.

We sincerely hope that despite this incident, you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves when you next visit Montreal and we are convinced that we can provide you and your family with the type of service you are entitled to receive.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed here during February, so it was freezing. But I loved this little room with all the windows and the good views. Its right in the center of Montreal and easy accessible to old town Montreal, and downtown. Its right next to Chinatown. This hotel is moderately priced and was very quiet and had a gym. The rooms were lovely and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had a lovely experience here twice over the course of August and September. Rooms are quite spacious compared to hotels of a similar cost in other Canadian cities. Very modern decor, well equipped Kitchenette and very comfortable bed.

Well situated, very close to Metro and walking distance to many other areas of the city. Very easy access to 747 Bus which stops almost directly across the road so incredibly easy to get to the airport without needing to use a cab. Friendly, bilingual staff. Convenience store is part of the building on the ground level so easy access to basic needs. Best hotel I stayed at during my trip through Canada.

Room Tip: "Hip" room is much more roomier then a "Pop" room, considerably larger bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A totally chic hotel. Very trendy & cute. Beds are comfortable enough, bathroom is clean & staff is very accommodating. I was a little intimidated by the neighborhood. There is no restaurant in the hotel but lots of food places near by.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Montreal
#45 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.