We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zero 1

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zero 1 to your Saves list
Hotel Zero 1
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ocala, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Hello everyone, we took our trip to Montreal & booked EVERYTHING through trip advisor. The room was GREAT, the view was nice looking out at China town! The service was very good...rooms cleaned daily with all amenities!

Room Tip: corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    273
    96
    21
    15
See reviews for
33
276
44
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I had some very mixed feelings about this hotel. I would give it 3 stars at best but say it has a lot of potential. The main area is very nice....trendy look and very interesting. I was however, not a fan of my room. It was on the 12th floor with a nice view of the city...but small.... and with the black walls and ceiling it was very, very dark and gloomy. The ceiling and walls are full of missing plaster chunks which have been painted over in black. The ceiling was very dusty dirty...I was facing it counting cobwebs instead of sheep as I feel asleep lol. It reminded me of visiting a nightclub in the day time....

The room furniture Jetson style trendy but was smurf height. The bed sits on a carpeted box on the floor so it is very low as are the night tables. The shower stall had a chic design but was very small with a hand held shower only and very low water pressure. Parking is a nightmare; there is valet parking but they take your vehicle to another location.

Some pluses would be the bedding was high quality, plush and clean....and there was free wifi throughout the hotel. There is a fridge and microwave. The price was low as well at $134 per night - I don't stay in many hotels at that rate; this room was booked for me by a conference so perhaps my expectations are high for the rate.

Overall it was an interesting experience and ok for a night - I did very much feel like I was in Dracula's hotel and he was going to come knocking on my door at any minute lol but perhaps I'm just not that cool anymore. :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent three nights here and found it suited our needs very well, Very mod type place which was a bit different, nice. Staff were very helpfull about the local area and friendly. It is well situated , right across the intersection from the entrance to China Town and plenty of restaurants and supermarkets nearby. As we had a kitchenette it was very handy to eat in the room if you didn't want to go out, especially for breakfast, the muffins and fruit in the foyer were a nice touch as was the cold water machine after coming back from a long day of walking around the city. The rooms were compact but adequate and were well serviced each day. There was a great outdoor lounge type area on one of the floors which was well used and in the same area there was a small room with a complimentary computer and internet which was great. It is good value and would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear roy v,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Your warm comments regarding our property are greatly appreciated. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Marie-Ève Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great location: on the $9.00 airport shuttlebus route; right on the edge of Chinatown; walking distance to Old Montreal, the port area, entertainment district, the subway (Metro), a huge shopping mall, major grocery store, lots of restaurants, etc. The hotel room itself was small but met my needs, and the kitchenette was great to have. The front desk staff was very friendly, knowledgeable & helpful. However everything is so dark -- the main lobby, the rooms, even the very narrow corridors are painted black; the only thing that brightens the place up is the very occasional splash of silver or neon green. I, along with about 50 others, were staying at the hotel for a 2-day conference held in the very dark basement meeting room, and then I stayed 3 more nights to visit family & sightsee. Maybe this sort of 'colour' scheme seems 'hip' & 'trendy' to the hotel's 20-something target audiience, but many of the people I was with (30-70 years old) felt depressed due to the black walls, narrow corridors & lack of natural light. Coffee breaks held in the main floor atrium helped a bit, but it was a huge relief to finally get outside at the end of each day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place was priced a bit less than others we were looking at for our three night stay in Montreal and after reading some reviews we had a guess as to why. Where they save money- no breakfast (they do have coffee, tea, and muffins in the morning), no pool, furnishing quality, was where I was happy to sacrifice. Our stay confirmed our guess, and we were very pleased with our choice. The location is perfect, the rooms are clean, and the staff was helpful. Yes it sports a lot of Ikea-esque furnishings,but the shower, sink, bed, and sheets were all good quality. We stayed in the queen loft which I would say is the way to go- our many windows allowed us to enjoy the city while hanging out in the room. It was perfect balance of budget and splurge for us.

Room Tip: Park in the Guy-Favreau underground just a block away for $18 a day, otherwise their valet for $25 i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel is very easy to get to by bus. Check in was easy, front desk is bilingual. Room is quiet looks pretty much like the pictures they post on their site. Very clean and comfortable. Housekeeping was awesome, washed all our dishes and replaced amenities daily. The little kitchenette is very useful; there is an IGA grocery store a block away so we stored snacks in the little fridge and heated things up in the microwave. They provided bowls, plates utensils etc. Great view from our room as well.

The only thing I didn't like was that the rooms were really dark. There wasn't a lot of lighting and the walls are all black, so when I put stuff in the drawers it was hard to see into them.

Other than that, great hotel. They offer coffee and muffins in the morning. Hotel is close to chinatown where there are a lot of great restaurant. Also just steps away to St. Catherines street. One of the streets adjacent to the hotel is sort of shady... strip bars and bums around, but we never had any issues walking through. Plus you can always go around using another street.

To get to the hotel by transit, you take the 747 bus from the airport. It is 9 dollars, but that's cheaper than taking a taxi. You buy a ticket in the airport before you get on the bus. the hotel is the 8th stop. Make sure you have 9 dollars exact change for the return trip to the airport!! The bus does not except bills and does not give change! Front desk of the hotel will not have change. you might be lucky if the connecting corner store (couche-tard) has change for you.

Overall, I would return to this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 1 night in this hotel and we loved it. The location is perfect to visit the city. Close to Metro Station and right in front of the Airport Shuttle Bus 747 stop
The room was big, the view was great with a big window.
Our room was fully equipped with everything to cook a small dinner or breakfast. It had a very good WIFI
Hotel staff is really friendly and always willing to help. We came around 10.00 and we were immediately given our room
Last but not least, the hotel offers excellent free services, computer and printer, gym, tea and muffin
If we were to return to Montreal; without hesitation; I would book this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie230401, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Zero 1, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear lmartinoni,

Thank you for your kind comments! We will definetly spread the word to our team.
Hope to welcome you back!

Warmly,
Marie-Eve Gosselin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zero 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zero 1

Address: 1 Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Z5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#45 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Zero 1 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of Montréal’s QuartierAt the heart of Montréal’s Quartier des spectacles district, in an inspiring, modern, urban environment, ZERO 1 reinvents with casual chic the concept of the downtown hotel reflected in the design and comfort of its 164 rooms and suites. Cutting edge, relaxing, and close to everything: Zero 1 makes life easier for savvy business travellers and nomadic tourists alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Zero 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le 1 Rene Levesque Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zero 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.